We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing White Glove Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Save Saved
You added The GEM Hotel Chelsea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 W 22nd St, 22nd Street & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Collection hotel ) (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #242 of 451 hotels in New York City
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing White Glove Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The GEM Hotel Chelsea has quickly become my favorite hotel in NYC. Our room (Penthouse) was clean, spacious, reasonably priced and opened to a private roof top with a beautiful view of The Empire State Building. The friendly staff delivered an amazing 'white-glove' experience in a refreshingly natural manner. Very satisfied!!

Room Tip: Penthouse does a great job at blocking the NYC noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Good Day NYC-CEO100, thank you for sharing your superb experience at our boutique hotel.
We are motivated to know that we have exceeded your expectations. Our team is excited to know that they provided you with the excellent service you deserve and come to expect from us at The GEM Hotel at Chelsea. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future to provide you with another amazing visit.

Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    253
    93
    27
    15
See reviews for
45
189
81
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel was a great find for me. Excellent value for money, in my opinion (given that it's downtown NYC, inexpensive rooms are pretty much unavailable). Have stayed 4 times since May 2011 and it's my first choice to see what rates are when I'm thinking about NYC trips.

Location can't be beat, rooms are very clean, staff is very friendly and helpful (and even though I'm not a regular still remember me). Yes, rooms are really small, but I'm not spending a lot of time in it. I'd much rather have a small and clean room than a larger dumpy one. I actually prefer being on the street side, makes me feel like I'm in NYC. Plus I get a little claustrophobic with inside rooms. Lots to see and do nearby. I think all the rooms have double or queen beds, so have to share if traveling with a friend.

tip: this is part of the Choice Hotels network. Become a Choice Privileges member (for free) and you can book the advance, non-refundable rate. It's not refundable, so if there's even the least bit uncertainty don't book it that way. I've made regular reservations, then when my trip became certain booked at the advance rate and cancelled the regular reservations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Greetings dcdenizen9, thank you sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel. We are so motivated that you are a loyal guest and that you remember us when you visit New York. The GEM Chelsea is an ideal location because there are many restaurants and nearby places to see. It is such a delight to know that you felt the kindness and warmness that characterizes the quality of service provided by our staff. Your kind words about the cleanliness of our guest rooms are greatly appreciated. We feel you have made our hotel your home away from home and we can’t wait to make another memorable stay.

Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The room was very tidy and clean.
It is not too expensive and it has all the amenities needed.
Also, it has a very good wireless internet connection.
Finally, the staff is very friendly and kind.
The location is good and calm. Its close the subway that can take you anywhere in the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Good Day Smsbs, thank you for your review about your stay. We are glad that you have found our hotel to your liking. Providing the right hotel amenities is a must for us because we want to make sure all of our guests, just like you, enjoy a memorable visit. Our team is so happy to hear your kind words about their hospitality. I agree with you the subway station is a great benefit for guests traveling up or down town. We all would be honored to have you stay with us again!


Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

The Gem Ascend Collection has an excellent location in Chelsea. We caught the subway at the next block to go both uptown and downtown. Lots of nice restaurants nearby. The room was very clean and well maintained. It's New York so expect a small room size.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Greetings KeyWestGuyinMD, thank you so much for sharing your review with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the neighborhood. Our location does have many exciting restaurants and evening entertainment to choose from. We are happy that you have liked your room and hope you will stay with us on your next visit to New York!

Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My room was small and a dump, stains on the walls and around the windows with a disgusting cheesy foot smell throughout the room, cigarette burns on the bed throw and a window that would not shut completely and thus let in all the sound of the city. On checkout the lift was out of use and had to lug my bags down the stairs... was glad to leave

Staff were friendly and provided a room freshener.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear TravellingF00die, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us and let me assure you that this is not a typical guest experience. We will take your review and use it to improve on the experience for our future guests and hopefully for you, if you can give us another chance to wow your stay. We are deep cleaning all of our guest rooms and public areas on a constant basis and if it is fine with you I would like to know what room number you were occupying so I can make sure we fix the items what you have said. I would also, like to thank you for your kind words about our staff. I hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service and please let me know if you would like to return so that I can make sure everything is perfect for your stay!

Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager
chelsea.fom@thegemhotel.com

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Gem hotel, very nice and conveniently situated next to a great Delicatessen/restaurant where we got our cappuccino every morning with on the go croissant. Great place! Gem Hotel had some lovely staff, helful and approachable. Our experience at this hotel was dampened by a flood taking place. We woke up to one of the neighbours vacating the room at some ludicrous hour as his sprinklers began to jet out water. The corridors and other rooms were being flooded. Hotel staff in this instance were USELESS and UNPROFESSIONAL. No measures were taken to ensure guests were vacated as we could smell gas. A guest called the fire brigade whilst my daughter asked all guests on that floor to vacate. Reception staff were confrontational, unhelpful and unapologetic. We had to move rooms but with no help getting rom 4th to 2nd floor by stairs. Rooms were tiny but functional for their needs. Would use again despite this. Also a nice touch are the gem stones given to guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Front Office Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear NottinghamJoanne, we sincerely appreciate your review and on the behalf of our team and myself, we are deeply sorry that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay. We typically get very good reviews on our staff and hotel and do our best to respond quickly when notified of any problems. Your comments and concerns enrich our spirits to service our guests at a higher level. I know how you have felt and agree consistency should be cared out in the same manner. We always strive to ensure the complete satisfaction of our guests and we would be honored if you choose to with us again so we can WOW your stay.


Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The GEM Hotel in New York's Chelsa neighbourhood is a wonderful boutique hotel. It's located in a safe and clean neighbourhood with beautiful homes and businesses, upon entry you are always greeted politely by Jeffery - a wonderful and informative guest services representative. Take the smooth riding elevator upstairs to a spotless, well designed guest room with superior furnishings, hardware, and electronicsI I stayed for three days and it was perfect spot to enjoy all that NY City has to offer. You can book this property via Choice Hotels International.
Fitness centre, business centre - with computers and printer - perfect for printing maps, tickets and discount promotions for site seeing adventures. You will not be dissapointed!

Room Tip: Spotless brand new rooms with state of the art furnishings and electronics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Front Office Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Greetings Robert H, thank you so much for your positive review. Chelsea is our favorite neighborhood and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our boutique hotel! I agree with you our location does have nice homes and business with many restaurants and unqiue shops nearby. Jeffrey is so motivated to hear that you have mentioned him by name and I will share your comments with the rest of our team. We would be honored to have you stay with us and look forward to your return to New York and our hotel!


Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
East Village
The GEM Hotel SoHo
The GEM Hotel SoHo
#264 of 451 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards/Midtown West
The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards/Midto...
#249 of 451 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Chelsea
Hotel Indigo New York City, Chelsea
Hotel Indigo New York City, Chel...
#184 of 451 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quiet, Independ...
Show More
Chelsea
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
#305 of 451 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Manhattan
Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West
Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, ...
#183 of 451 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Quiet, Charming...
Show More
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#84 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The GEM Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Address: 300 W 22nd St, 22nd Street & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10011 (Formerly GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Collection hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel Chelsea 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel Chelsea is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide an intimate, boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities. This New York City boutique hotel is conveniently located in the neighborhood of Chelsea. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Guests are within walking distance to Penn Station and world-famous Midtown Manhattan attractions such as Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macy's/Herald Square, the campus of New York University (NYU) and the Empire State Building.The hotel is one block from New York City's subway system. Surrounding neighborhoods include Greenwich Village, the Flatiron District, Union Square, Midtown and the Meat Packing District.The GEM Hotel Chelsea offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. For no additional charge, guests can enjoy wired & wireless Internet access, premium bottled water, nightly turndown service with our signature pillow mist, and shoeshine and concierge services.All guest rooms are smoke-free and boast LCD televisions with HD channels,iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Additionally, this New York City hotel features a 24-hour fitness center and business center to you meet your needs.While staying at The GEM Hotel Chelsea check out the GEMmine in the lobby to find what is happening in the neighborhood; sights, sounds, dining and attractions. You can also tour Manhattan with our GEMwalking tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The GEM Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The GEM Hotel Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.