We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Real New York Tours

Real New York Tours
5 Doyer Street, New York City, NY 10013
+1 917-572-7017
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 809 Activities in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Lets face it, New York tours are only as good as their tour guides. Real New York Tours gives people the opportunity to see the city through the eyes of real New Yorkers. Real New York Tours explores the history, the cracks and crevices, the side streets, and culture of real New York neighborhoods. We’ll ride the New York subway, pound the pavement, and meet the people who have become the fabric of this great city. Together we will feel the electricity that drives everyday New Yorkers. This is real New York!
Holly Springs, North Carolina
1 review
“Great time in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

David was our guide and he was great! We wouldn't of seen everything he showed us without him. He had great information and made us feel comfortable and we had some laughs with him. Our kids liked him too. We would definitely suggest using their service if you want to see and learn about places in the city.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,708
    125
    15
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BOOK IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we booked the Big apple tour- which was a Amazing way to see the city and get your bearings! david was our guide and he was awesome- seemed to know everything about everything in new york!
it was great being shown round by a real new yorker, it made us feel like we were really part of the city. David made us feel totally relaxed and although the group had been a little worried about walking for 6 hours it was fine- no blisters/or too many ache and pains- he walked to our speed and was always checking we were ok and seeing enough ( we saw loads!) I would def book another tours with these guys when i return with out any worry.
David even took us on a personalised twinkie tour and made our days tour truly memorable! Thanks david and company x

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
1 review
“Best thing we did in NYC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I recently went on a girl's trip with friends to NYC for the 1st time. We were all Manhattan virgins! We took the Big Apple tour with Nathan and it was AWESOME! Such a great way to see the city strolling around with a local. It felt like we had met up with a new friend for the day. In addition to getting a locals perspective he was also a licensed city tour guide and so could share more history and factoids that if we met up with a friend in the city. He let us set the pace for the day and we got to see so many things we didn't even know we wanted to see. He also helped with recommendations for the rest of our trip and helped us map out some of our other days in the city. At the end of the day we wanted to call and book him again for the very next day. I can't speak highly enough about doing this type of tour. Wroth every penny and Real New York Tours was easy to work with with quick responses and timely messages to coordinate the whole thing. You will not regret it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
“Real Tour For Sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Highly recommend!! My wife and I took the Downtown Dozen Tour on Sunday October 14th 2012. We couldn't have been more pleased. This is the second time we have used RNYT having taking the Dozen Apples Tour about a year ago. Although some of the places we visited were the same our guide Greg gave his unique perspective of each and we learned a lot. No way to learn this on a bus tour. Walking thru NYC is the only way to go. We will be back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect way to see New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked our 6 hour walking tour based on the reviews on this website. We were not dissappointed. Our guide David was knowlegeable, funny and interesting. As we have found that by going "guided" you will learn and see SO much more than on your own. Even if we had seen some of the sites without a guide we would not have gotten the hidden details or background fun facts on much of it I'm sure. We went to a restaurant in China town that we would not have found let alone eaten at had we not been on the tour. He also told us places to go and how to get there for the rest of our stay. We had 3 college-aged adults and they just loved the tour as well. Not boring or overly tiring. All of us would enthusiatically reccomend taking this tour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Real New York Tours also viewed

 

Been to Real New York Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real New York Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.