We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Noodle House

Main Noodle House
1011 6th Avenue, New York City, NY 10018 (Garment District)
212-869-0888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,542 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Garment District
Devon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were unsure about where to eat one night during our stay, and the reception staff at our hotel recommended this place. It's small and crowded, but the food they serve is really excellent and the service is fast and friendly. Every dish we ordered was delicious, and brilliant value and it made us realise just how bad most Chinese restaurants in the UK .
I could have eaten here every night - it's a real gem.
Eat here and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    29
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great takeout!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is my usual Chinese takeout restaurant. The food is cheap, huge portions, tasty and delivery is fast!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Value - Large Portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Love this place! Great selection - excellent service. Tight dining room but worth every cent!! We eat here every time we visit NYC.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Chinese food in Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My daughter and I wanted something close to our hotel as it was a little chilly outside. This was recommended by other travelers and I have to agree that the food was tasty. I had the egg drop soup and the Gen. tso chicken, while my daughter had the pork dumplings and ginger scallion chicken. The portions are hearty and best suitable or sharing (we both had leftovers).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Terrific Chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Terrific Chinese food, fairly priced, in a crowded, noisy space. Been eating lunch here for years, going back to when it was called Big Bowl. The food has always been good so we've always put up with the wait for a table, the jostling, the rushed service, etc. Totally worth it. If you're looking for ambiance, get take out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Noodle House also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Main Noodle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Noodle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.