We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burger, great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Napkin Burger

Five Napkin Burger
630 9th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036-4751 (Midtown)
212-757-2277
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Five Napkin Burger is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #223 of 12,022 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Southeast Corner of West 45th Street
Transit: A, C & E subway lines to 42nd Street/8th Avenue.
Description: 5 Napkin Burger is an upscale restaurant devoted to the art of the hamburger. The signature is 10 oz of fresh ground chuck topped with rosemary aioli, caramelized onions and melted gruyere on a soft white roll. The full burger lineup includes the all-American Bacon Cheddar, Italian Turkey, Avocado Ranch, Mushroom Bleu, Veggie, Lamb, Tuna, Inside Out, even a Burger Salad. While the burgers may be the headliners, the diverse menu of expertly prepared American classics entice foodies to come back nightly. 5 Napkin is the rare burger restaurant where vegetarians and carnivores are equally at home. Additional temptations include expertly prepared sushi maki rolls, Matzo Ball Soup, Steak Frites and Fish & Chips. The 5 Napkin beverage programs showcases a global selection of 60 wines and 80 beers, 10 signature cocktails, 40 bourbons and a host of decadent milk shakes and floats – all a perfect complement to the cuisine.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great burger, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Quick service, good food an not expensive. Our first night in NY and we had a good time. 20 minute wait at the bar but with nice music and a even nicer beer

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    707
    561
    141
    29
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Good but not Great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Good hamburger, but at $15 plus for your basic hamburger you'd expect something outstanding. Service was sweet but not professional. We ordered appetizers and then sat for 30 minutes without anyone knowing where our burgers were. They kept insisting that they were on the way, but people around us who came in after us had already eaten their burgers and left. My wife lost her appetite and I asked if it was OK to cancel one of the burgers since she wasn't hungry anymore. The waitress said "sure, no problem", but when we got the bill there was a charge for $8 added. Why, we asked? Because we didn't eat the third burger. The manager jumped into the fray by telling us we were lucky we weren't charged for the whole burger. We had to find the waitress to confirm our cancellation and their saying it wasn't a problem. Silly nickle & dime way to run a place with those prices. Won't go again because NYC has plenty of great hamburger places, just not as pretentious.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great family meal and glutin free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

All had great burgers in a place that was friendly and buzzing, just a moderate walk from Time Sq… but worth the stroll. The “icing on the cake “was to be able to order a gluten free burger for my wife and for it to come out looking like the rest of the families and taste good. Definitely a place/chain to be revisited on the next trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyork
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What price noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Can't say enough good things about the food. It was just what you'd expect from a burger joint. However, the noise level was so high my companion had to turn off the hearing aids.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Local Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed around the corner from here, and arrived to NYC late on Friday night. We were all in need of food and the burgers were great. Quick service and reasonable prices.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Napkin Burger also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Five Napkin Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Napkin Burger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.