We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great backroom birthday dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Select

Cafe Select
212 Lafayette St, Frnt A, New York City, NY 10012-4025 (SoHo)
212-925-9322
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Select is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,059 of 11,180 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: SoHo
Cross street: Kenmare
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great backroom birthday dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We went here hoping to get some fondue, but unfortunately the season had ended which was probably for the better considering it ended up being 80+ degrees that day! Luckily, we had a reservation in the back room (make sure to bring cash as its cash only) and the food was amazing. Some of the best oysters I've ever had and if you like German/Swiss food, this is a great place to find it. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    9
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A select choice by local taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We met friends here who live in the city. They recommended the cafe as they eat there quite often for special occasions. The wine and cocktails are very good. The food is also very good.

Having just been introduced to "raclette" we were excited to see it on the menu. It was very good, a bit saltier than we've had, but still tasty. We also had the mussels in white wine, which were truly succulent and plentiful for the price. Our friends had the "marrow" - I'm not into it and have no comment, but they raved about it.

There is a very small secret back bar area, which if not occupied, you can go visit for another drink or two. It is fun, and the old payphone on the wall is cleverly hooked up to a 900 number recording which is very entertaining.

We would recommend and would go back again when in the city. It is rather loud and full of energy and seems to be a place that is a great gathering spot for friends, more than a couple wanting a romantic evening out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Late lunch after shopping!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

After hours shopping found this place for lunch.Really busy but were seated fairly quickly.Waitress seemed to be working alone but soon came to our table.I had a Croque Monsieur which was pretty average but my Husband and friends went for the Lobster Club Sandwich which they said was the best they had ever had!Only disappointment was the beer,we asked for a pint or large beer and it came in a small glass never worth the $8 it cost.....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous Brunch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I am so glad that I found this European cafe near SoHo -- it's terrific! Although many items on the menu are enticing, I highly recommend the French Toast. I don't know how they prepare it, but it's by far the best french toast that I've ever eaten!! And that's not all -- my wife raves about the polenta! If you're in the area, and even if you aren't, stop by this place! It's excellent!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, slightly sullen wait staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a great breakfast place in near Soho and Chinatown. I highly recommend the granola. The coffee is delicious. I think the wait staff, as often happens in downtown NY restaurants, is a little tired from the evening of...whatever...and doesn't seem very happy to be serving you in the morning. But they are very efficient and the food they bring is great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Select also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe Select? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Select, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.