We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heartless hotel management cheated me out of my money after my being assaulted in NYC and not spending one night at this hotel.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Wall Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Eurostars Wall Street to your Saves list
Eurostars Wall Street
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 Front St, New York City, NY 10005 (Financial District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #358 of 468 Hotels in New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heartless hotel management cheated me out of my money after my being assaulted in NYC and not spending one night at this hotel.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel has heartless staff and management. After being assaulted and having my credit cards plus money stolen and having to stay in the hospital the entire Labor Day Weekend, this hotel decided to steal more of my money from a two night reservation in which I never actually got to stay in the hotel. I would not have thought such a four star hotel would be so desperate for money that they would have to keep mine. They never once considered the circumstances. Staff abd management claimed they could not refund my money because I wasn't at the hotel to check out.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    61
    42
    19
    16
See reviews for
25
56
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

While Eurostars Wall Street is by no means a "bad" hotel, it is difficult to grasp just how it managed to earn its 3½ star distinction on TripAdvisor. Hotels of superior quality in the Financial District have similar ratings, while having earned those ratings with their wide variety of appealing and functional amenities. Unfortunately, our high hopes for Eurostars Wall Street - which we based primarily on the photographs made readily available online - went largely unmet.

Last week, a friend and I decided to travel from California to the Big Apple to take in a concert. Having never been to New York, I was pretty oblivious when it came to choosing the right hotel accommodations in my price range. After doing exhaustive research on my own - which yielded mixed results - I gave up and let Hotwire do the picking for me, which matched me up with EuroStars Wall Street. Despite reading some reviews that made me more than apprehensive, I tried to stay upbeat concerning its potential and promise.

Upon arrival, the jovial front desk staff greeted us warmly and supplied us with our room keys, which expedited the overall check-in process. While in the lobby, it becomes immediately clear that photographs online obscure certain details of the facilities, most notably the size of the hotel itself. While this does not reflect on the integrity of the place, we were certainly taken back by it. Perhaps our own inclination to believe everything in New York is big, with its larger-than-life buildings and sky-high monuments, played a role in our ignorant befuddlement..? Your guess is as good as mine.

Maybe it was their off-season, or it's possible we came and went at odd times, but the hotel itself seemed to be a virtual ghost town. During our three night stay, we only ever saw three to four guests congregated in the lobby, or waiting to check in/out. While in our room, we only ever heard one other guest coming and going on our floor. The bar and restaurant - touted by some TripAdvisor reviewers as being of exemplary quality - was positively deserted. Again, who knows why this was the case but, whatever it was, we found it strange.

Once in the elevators, the presence of a biting cigarette odor quickly became apparent, and the source became even clearer once we stepped out of the elevator and into the narrow hallways. It would seem that smoking and non-smoking rooms share floors, and that residual smell from the smoking rooms bleeds out into the halls. I'm not really picky, nor would I bother to complain to the front desk about something so seemingly inconsequential, but it's worth noting in this review for the sake of travelers boasting sensitive noses, pesky allergies, or a militant disdain towards the stench of cigarette smoke.

In hindsight, I've had a difficult time figuring out just what about our room fell short. Despite some sort of chemical or ever-present water stains to the bathroom counter top, my room was quite clean. However, I have to throw my weight behind some of the previous reviews that make note of the low quality carpeting. It was a peculiar choice for a hotel that postures itself as somewhat high-end, no doubt in an effort to keep in step with competition in a predominantly upscale business district.

Stylistically, the rooms come together nicely. A minimalist theme takes shape, with emphasis placed on solid black-and-whites in furniture, curtains, and bathroom fixtures. A comfortable futon-style bed, as well as a very modern bathroom sink immediately catch the eye. However, upon closer inspection, wear-and-tear and shoddy workmanship from previous remodels becomes visible; including, but not limited to, inexplicable dead spots under the carpeting. Holes in the floor seem to have been carpeted over and left entirely unfilled. I would imagine this sort of thing could pose a bit of an injury concern for older guest which, in turn, should raise liability concerns for the hotel owners.

Issues like the aforementioned are unfortunate, since the overarching theme of the hotel - at least in theory - is spectacular. It simply has a ways to go before it can be placed in the same stratum as its high priced pseudo-contemporaries.

Located within short walking distance of the subway, as well as right down the street from Seaport for myriad shopping and dining options, Eurostars Wall Street is tucked away in arguably one of the cleanest and safest parts of New York City. If you're bringing children along, this is a wonderful neighborhood (in New York City terms) that you don't have to be wrought with worry over. McDonald's, Subway, Starbucks and Duane Reade (a CVS or Walgreens-type drug store, for my fellow ignorant west coast folk) are only a few minutes walking distance away. Cab rides from JFK to Eurostars Wall Street are a flat rate of $45 (tip not included) if you request non-toll roads.

If you're looking for a no-frills, bare bones sort of hotel at a quality price, in what is traditionally considered an exorbitantly priced area, this hotel should certainly appeal to you. It has seen better days, and has its share of dinginess and stains on carpets and walls, but you will get a quiet nights sleep (save for the all-too-familiar New York City street noise). If you require the finer things in life, or expect access to things like a gym or pool, you should consider looking elsewhere.

Again, this hotel is not bad by any means. It's very ambitious but, if anything, it's simply a tad underwhelming for the price tag.

Room Tip: If they're available, ask for a room on a floor without any smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a decent NYC hotel. The lobby is quaint and the rooms were modern and clean. The lounge furniture (leather chairs) were a bit worn. The carpet would not be my choice. The hotel is in a good location downtown within walking distance of the Seaport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

If its your first time in New York, i will recommend you to stay in another part of Manhattan. The location is a bit boring since its in the financial district. A hotel closer to Times square or around 34th street would be more fun because everything is in walking distance. The hotel was fine though, clean, good service and the rooms were okay! Not 4 star okay though!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place advertises as a 4 star property. NEVER in a million years would this be 4 star quality. I have had better experiences at a Holiday Inn. First off, my company paid 2300 bucks for 8 nights. Right when you walk in the lobby, you can tell its cheap. They offer you a glass of wine and talk it all up but you can just look at the floor, walls, etc and tell its all cheap crap. Then the elevator buttons have smear marks all over the buttons... elevator is all dingy and wobbly and dirty.. food on the floor.. dirt, etc. Once you get to your room, you are immediately NOT impressed with the rooms amenities. Small tv, HARD beads, hand/window air units, the ironing board.. god I will never get over it. Totally stained, ripped and the iron itself was like a 10 dollar walmart iron. The mirrors and "fancy decor" all IKEA. Bathrooms? Horrible caulking, cheap flooring, damaged and dingy doors, chips out of the paint everywhere, etc. Bathrooms in the "lounge" ... no hand soap.. REALLY, no soap. I called down to ask if they had a better room because the bed was hard the guy was RUDE and said "uh no, and its all like that in every room". No real service, no real amenities, and a dirty dingy hotel. D O N O T waste 2-3 hundred a night on this dump. Lets just say their website is a photo shop dreamland...it all looks good but in person, YOU DONT LOOK LIKE YOUR PICS!

Room Tip: Ya, don't choose one here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, Arkansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I thought it was a great hotel! The rooms were huge and very comfortable. The staff at the front desk was wonderful. They were willing to help with anything. One even ran out to try to help us flag a cab. The maids were very friendly and helpful. I thought it was a great hotel in a nice area with very reasonable prices. I will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#295 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Financial District
Doubletree Hotel New York City-Financial District
Doubletree Hotel New York City-F...
#338 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,396 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan / Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#260 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters, Wall Street
Club Quarters, Wall Street
#231 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 918 reviews
Midtown
Eurostars Dylan Hotel
Eurostars Dylan Hotel
#348 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Financial District
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall - A Thompson Hotel
#36 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Wall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Wall Street

Address: 129 Front St, New York City, NY 10005
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Wall Street 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, luxury hotel offering highly specialized products and services in a particularly stylish manner. The Exchange Hotel defines 'boutique' in the strictest sense of the word, the result of which is truly one-of-a-kind. The spacious rooms are newly renovated and enhanced with unique, modern design and innovative technology. Boutique features matched with the Exchange Hotel's personalized service and competitive rates will enhance any New York City experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Eurostars Wall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Wall Street Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Wall Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.