We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really liked it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Love to Drive
Ranked #66 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Nadi, Fiji
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I really liked it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed there when visiting New York. I really liked this boutique hotel. Here are the reasons why:

- free bicycle rental
- very personal attitude towards their guests
- rooms are great and spacious for New York
- awesome bar on the top floor with great city views
- very close to shopping and all the main streets (walking distance)
- stuff is very helpful
- wine and mingling hour (I believe they should advertise it more as when I went there were no people), but still the lounge had a nice atmosphere

I recommend it to anyone for business, couples, solo stays.

Green Features: Free bike rental encourages guests to use bikes as their city transportation instead of using cabs or public transport. I thought that is awesome! I only stayed there one night so didn't notice anything more but I am sure they had 'towel reuse' policy.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Glad you had a great time at the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,155
    490
    126
    49
    32
See reviews for
201
774
111
393
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at ink48 for Super Bowl weekend , it was the perfect location. It's in walking distance to Hells kitchen and times square. , The rooms are very clean, spacious , the beds are very comfortable . It's a nice intimate boutique hotel. We were impressed we received a nice welcome note and gift from the manager . it was definitely a nice touch ! The staff was very friendly and accommodating , made you feel special. The bellman and doorman were extra helpful giving directions and making great recommendations of places to go, We will definitely go back and we highly recommend the hotel .

Room Tip: Great spacious rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hello Tishops,

Thanks so much for your kind words about the hotel! So glad you were able to experience so much of what we have to offer in addition to some of the great stuff in our neighborhood.

Also, we rely on people like you who take the time to write about their experiences and it helps us do our jobs better and/or reassure us that we are achieving our goals.

Thank you again and hope to see you at Ink48 sometime soon!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Cool modern and great city views. Ink48 has great city view, comfortable rooms and very good service. Stayed in the CityView Studio King Room... great for a single traveler or couple but it would be very complicated to stay here with a family. Very trendy vibe and great staff, the area is a close (15 minute) walk to the theater district/ time square while at the same time being far enough away that the noise and hub-bub is distant. Restaurants in the area are very good.

Negatives:
- House keeping: overall did a great job but oddly kept putting my toothbrush, hair brush, comb, and toothpaste into the water glass at the sink... I had used it once for rinsing my mouth after brushing (as intended) but was not going to if I had all that stuff constantly being put back into it.
- Transportation: 11th Ave & 48th st there is no subway access (closest is 8th ave & 49th) so taxi's it is if you need to get anywhere quickly.
- NYC hotel rooms are always small... this was large, but the studio layout does not leave any room for privacy should you be traveling with someone else, the bathroom sinks are near the bed and there is no separation between the bathroom, bedroom or entrance of the room... it is indeed a Studio

Room Tip: Go high up to avoid street level noise and try to get a city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great experience, great staff, nice to have a free cocktail reception. Only reason I gave it 4 starts instead of 5 is due to location. It's perfect if you're attending an event at the Javits Centre. It's however a bit of a walk/cab to time square, rock CRT, etc. restaurant on site is very good for both breakfast and dinner. There are also some nearby restaurants including the famous Hells Kitchen. Overall a great place to stay. Ask for a city view if possible. The concierge were also great in arranging an airport car during the storm.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with a city view. Spectacular at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I spend nearly every weekend in the winter in NYC seeing shows , friends and eating at variious restaurants . This was our second stay at this hotel. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and clean. What makes this hotel outstanding is its staff. Smiles, helpful and professional.Their manager this weekend , Didier, was put to the test and sailed thru with shining colors. Our lovely room on a high floor was also home to a bunch of loud girls who created issues most of the night. Security was called by us at 2am. Not good.....however the hotel reacted quickly, and did all the right things. The next day we were moved to a higher floor, a bottle of wine delivered and general concern that everything was under control and we were happy. Hard to control your guests, but more important to know how to handle an uncomfortable situation when it occurs. We will be back. Many thanks to Didier and his staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
I am happy to hear you had a great stay. There is no better way to fix a guest issue with a dose empathetic care, response time and genuine concern. It was a pleasure to assist you and will begin reading the novel shortly.

Thank you again and can’t wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I am a Kimpton Inner Circle member and stay in NYC frequently. Ink 48 is a very nice choice in NYC overall.

The location is good. Although it is far west on the island, it is very convenient to places like Hell's Kitchen, Carnegie Hall, etc. It also has some amazing views of the Hudson River and Midtown from the rooms.

The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The beds are great and the hotel is quiet.

The staff are quite good. I had a small service hiccup with my Inner Circle requests when I checked in, but this was quickly rectified by the attentive staff.

The only negative I can cite is that they have too few elevators for guest of the hotel. They reserve 1-2 for people going to the rooftop bar and staff, and this creates pressure on the remaining two elevators and the waits are sometimes too long.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank You for being a loyal Kimpton guest, your Inner Circle status definitely help gets you those great city or Riverview rooms. Happy to see you had a great stay


Thank you for your candid feedback. We will certainly monitor the elevator situation and assure the burden is not placed on the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed for a week over Christmas. We had a double double room for extra space. Requested a high floor. had a great view from 15th floor. Room was very clean and well maintained. cleaned every day. handy ice machine on nearby floor.
very comfortable beds. nice smelling toiletries. wacky bathrobes. you can request a coffee machine for your room. the coffee and tea in the lobby is available. during the day there is flavoured chilled water.
we're Kimpton members so wireless internet is free.

wine hour is an added bonus, with Prosecco on one night. also winter warmer of warm cider with optional added whisky shot.

Unobtrusive service with a smile. Very professional but approachable staff. Different to Eventi where we stayed last year, which seemed more relaxed and fun.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant (PRINT) and had a delicious meal on Christmas Day. Fresh and creative food, really great flavours and ingredients.

We had a cocktail in the Press Lounge bar which is located on 16th floor. Open to general public. Views are amazing. A must do.

We have stayed in different hotels in Ne York (mostly Kimptons) this is one of the best. The location is great. HMS Intrepid is round the corner as is the water taxi. great to get to Ground Zero and a trip around the Empire State. .A few blocks across and you can be in Times Square or in Central Park. Go across a couple of blocks and there are lots of places to eat that aren't too crowded. Great choice, American diners, Thai, Mexican, Indonesian. For a typical diner breakfast Market diner is down the road. On the opposite corner to the diner is a liquor store, really reasonable with a great choice. There's a ice bucket in your room & ice machines in the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor
See more room tips
Green Features: they have a good environment strategy. no unnecessary laundering or wastefulness. recycle bin in your room
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We hope to welcome you back before Christmas, If not; we will certainly work had to assure another great stay.

I will certainly pass your kind words to the team as “Unobtrusive service with a smile. Very professional but approachable staff” – maybe come our new motto at INK48 :-)

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.