We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ink 48 is a very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Love to Drive
Ranked #66 of 451 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Ithaca, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Ink 48 is a very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I am a Kimpton Inner Circle member and stay in NYC frequently. Ink 48 is a very nice choice in NYC overall.

The location is good. Although it is far west on the island, it is very convenient to places like Hell's Kitchen, Carnegie Hall, etc. It also has some amazing views of the Hudson River and Midtown from the rooms.

The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The beds are great and the hotel is quiet.

The staff are quite good. I had a small service hiccup with my Inner Circle requests when I checked in, but this was quickly rectified by the attentive staff.

The only negative I can cite is that they have too few elevators for guest of the hotel. They reserve 1-2 for people going to the rooftop bar and staff, and this creates pressure on the remaining two elevators and the waits are sometimes too long.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank You for being a loyal Kimpton guest, your Inner Circle status definitely help gets you those great city or Riverview rooms. Happy to see you had a great stay


Thank you for your candid feedback. We will certainly monitor the elevator situation and assure the burden is not placed on the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,155
    489
    126
    49
    32
See reviews for
201
774
111
393
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed for a week over Christmas. We had a double double room for extra space. Requested a high floor. had a great view from 15th floor. Room was very clean and well maintained. cleaned every day. handy ice machine on nearby floor.
very comfortable beds. nice smelling toiletries. wacky bathrobes. you can request a coffee machine for your room. the coffee and tea in the lobby is available. during the day there is flavoured chilled water.
we're Kimpton members so wireless internet is free.

wine hour is an added bonus, with Prosecco on one night. also winter warmer of warm cider with optional added whisky shot.

Unobtrusive service with a smile. Very professional but approachable staff. Different to Eventi where we stayed last year, which seemed more relaxed and fun.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant (PRINT) and had a delicious meal on Christmas Day. Fresh and creative food, really great flavours and ingredients.

We had a cocktail in the Press Lounge bar which is located on 16th floor. Open to general public. Views are amazing. A must do.

We have stayed in different hotels in Ne York (mostly Kimptons) this is one of the best. The location is great. HMS Intrepid is round the corner as is the water taxi. great to get to Ground Zero and a trip around the Empire State. .A few blocks across and you can be in Times Square or in Central Park. Go across a couple of blocks and there are lots of places to eat that aren't too crowded. Great choice, American diners, Thai, Mexican, Indonesian. For a typical diner breakfast Market diner is down the road. On the opposite corner to the diner is a liquor store, really reasonable with a great choice. There's a ice bucket in your room & ice machines in the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor
See more room tips
Green Features: they have a good environment strategy. no unnecessary laundering or wastefulness. recycle bin in your room
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We hope to welcome you back before Christmas, If not; we will certainly work had to assure another great stay.

I will certainly pass your kind words to the team as “Unobtrusive service with a smile. Very professional but approachable staff” – maybe come our new motto at INK48 :-)

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Ink48 was a very nice experience. I had a corner room which seemed spacious for all of the windows. The room was actually on the typical smallish new York size. The staff--so very friendly--impressive. I didn't get to take advantage of the evening wine nor the morning coffee; however, nice ideas. I do wish the room had a coffee maker.
So the exception: if you are a solo woman who is not city-wise, this hotel is not in a good location. I am comfortable walking in the city by myself at night: if you are not, you will need to use taxis for transportation, as this hotel is not near any subway stops. I can even imagine some women not being comfortable in daytime.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Looks like you were delighted by one of our corner rooms that offer sweeping views of the NYC skyline. Being located in the vibrant Hell’s Kitchen area truly offers an authentic NYC experience while being so close to Time Square and the Theatre district. The train station is 3-avenues away, a 10-12 minute walk, however for bus lovers the bus stop is a 2-minute walk. I have notated your preferences as wanting a coffee maker in the room, so the next time you stay with us it will be waiting in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Hotel staff were very helpful and were fantastic with my pre-visit request. On check in the reception staff were extremely helpful with local knowledge and places to visit. The hotel is located approx 10-15 minutes walk from key landmarks including Times Square so close enough to walk but slightly quieter at night, in the city that never sleeps! The room was spacious, cleaned to a very high standard and tastefully decorated. Would recommend if looking for a hotel just outside the main areas.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hello,

I am glad to read you had a great time with us and we surpassed all your expectations. I truly hope to welcome you back to INK48 in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Martins, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Excellent, starting from door staff and finishing with housekeeping. Special thanks to receptionist Stephen and housekeeper Miu. Our room was on 15th floor nr 1502- very large room, breathtaking view to city, and very clean.Unfortunately didn't had a time to visit upstairs bar or restaurant, just lack of time.... Thank you Ink48 for making my and my wife's holidays so special!!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hi there,


Thank You kindly for your kind words, I will certainly share the feedback with the team!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Didier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We got an ok room with a limited view. Upgrades were pricey and as frequent kimpton stayer was not comped an upgrade. Not the best Kimpton in the city.Not in the nicest location and was not that cheap for a weekend either. The happy hour had ok wines, a rather busy spot right by the elevators so not a real cosy place to sit. The bar up top however was fantastic with great views- its not owned by hotel, so you cannot charge to your room.

Room Tip: i guess the suites are the way to go--
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Tgio,
Sorry we missed the mark on your recent stay with us. We are a little bit away from the hustle and bustle but not too far away. Glad you were able to enjoy the fantastic view of Press Lounge. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I've stayed here twice and have nothing bad to say about it... we arrived to complimentary wine. im allergic to feathers and they upgraded us to a hypoallergenic room. the staff was very helpful. the location isnt so close to everything which is kind of nice. the linens were clean which is important to me. and bathrooms were immaculate (i took a bath) all in all wonderufl experience AGAIN

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear alfur810,

Thank you for being a loyal guest. it does feel great to arrive somewhere to a glass of wine.I'll make sure to pass on tyour comments about the clealiness of the rooms and helpful staff. We love having a little distance(not too much) from busyness of the city.

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.