We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel; Even Better Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early And Save
Ranked #74 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel; Even Better Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here a couple weeks ago. 15th room had a wonderful view of the river, comfortable bed, just far away enough from the bar up top to not notice any noise. Management even sent up a complimentary bottle of wine for our celebration, with a nice personalized card. Room service was prompt and good food in a pinch (of course there's better food in the city... also grocery stores open late a couple blocks away). The true star of the place is the rooftop bar, especially at night. You can cut the line as a guest, and the view is spectacular. Good, if a bit pricey, drinks and an eclectic talkative crowd. Could spend hours looking at the NYC skyline up there. Check out Icon/Central parking about two blocks away... way better deal than the valet if you're up for a brief walk.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank f50gtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at Ink48 for 3 nights. The stay was the usual Kimpton great quality. Efficient, courteous staff providing excellent customer service in a clean, upscale environment. We stayed in a Hudson Suite which has floor to ceiling windows which provided a spectacular view of the Intrepid and the Hudson River. The restaurant had a great breakfast menu which we tapped into each morning. The view from the rooftop lounge is just amazing! I like it better than the other rooftop lounges I have been to in NYC because it has the killer Hudson River view and a beautiful view of the NYC eastern skyline (as opposed to being buried among the skyscrapers and not being able to see much else).

Coincidentally, we had to attend a late-night event in midtown on Friday night so we asked the front desk agent to make us a reservation at Nios (the restaurant at The Muse - another Kimpton hotel). It was no surprise to us that Nios was great too. I'm a Kimpton fan!!

Room Tip: The Hudson Suites are spacious and have amazing views. We were on the 14th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJM2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The friendliest staff that we have ever experienced in the US! Starting from the bellman to the front desk and cleanning staff.
Location is okay, rooms are large and the hotel built according to very modern standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is my second stay at Ink and my husband's first. You just cannot beat the view of Midtown or the service at this Kimpton property. Stephen at the front desk was incredibly helpful, even helping us switch from a Hudson Suite to a room with a midtown view when we decided we'd like to switch. He also gave us great restaurant recommendations. Everyone at Ink was so helpful, friendly, and pleasant. Our room was lovely and clean. Very comfy beds. We're going back in December and can't wait!

Room Tip: Although the Hudson views are spectacular, the city views are a great NYC experience.
See more room tips
Green Features: The fact that Kimptons are all environmentally friendly definitely plays a role in our decision to stay at their hotels.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizaDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Second trip to NY and Ink48. Hudson River suites are wonderful - great views, lots of room, very clean. Stephen made our stay special - thank you! I highly recommend staying at this hotel. Rooftop bar also has a great view, though drinks are expensive.

Room Tip: Hudson River suites are very much worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 423DarM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Wonderful experience. Everyone is friendly and helpful and the room is modern, with perfect functionality (make sure you can adjust the IHome 5 am alert from the previous visitor!!) The rooftop bar restaurant recently featured in The Black List is without doubt one of the best in New York. Breathtaking views of the city and the perfect place for a nightcap. Just off the main buzz but only a five minute walk to Restaurant Row and other cool places including a small but friendly local cafe BiscoLatte on 667 Tenth Avenue that has dozens of biscotti choices and a mean coffee machine.

Great place for a treat or a business trip.

Green Features: Very socially aware, and actively encourage dogs to stay. Doesn't detract from the ambience if you are not "Doggy" friendly. It actually enhances the environment and all owners and dogs that I have seen are very aware of their responsibilities.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, FL United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great staff, accommodations...perfect location! Totally love Ink 48...wouldn't stay anywhere else in Ny. The wedding reception on the rooftop was amazing...incredible views, great food, exceptional service. Our room was fabulous...great views of the city lights...an easy walk to 9th. For great restaurants and close to c. Park and times Sq.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
Eventi - a Kimpton Hotel
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,756 reviews
Midtown
The Muse Hotel New York
The Muse Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,634 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 4,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,287 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,245 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#9 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing