We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Love to Drive
Ranked #69 of 449 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Murrieta
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had a city view room and it was awesome. Very clean. The staff was attentive and caring. We went to the wine tasting both evenings and enjoyed ourselves. Do not miss PRINT. or the Press Lounge. Outstanding food, service, and views. The pictures here on TripAdvisor are accurate depictions of the property. Very well located and easy to get anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello Dvsdeedee,

Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled that you had a wonderful experience at our PRINT restaurant and Press lounge. We strive to create memorable moments for all of our guests.

We hope you visit us again soon!

Thank you and travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,136
    482
    125
    49
    32
See reviews for
199
768
109
384
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Ink48 is a boutique hotel on the West Side of Manhattan with spectacular views of the city to the east and the Hudson River and New Jersey on the west. The roof top bar is a great place to have a pre-dinner cocktail or late night drink as the view is 360 degrees and the lights of the city are always a thrilling sight. The restaurant has excellent food, a first class wine list, and wonderful ambiance. Be prepared to open your wallet wide for a room or for dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view on a high floor. If you're going to spend the money to stay there, might as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello David P,

Thank you very much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated! I am thrilled that you had a wonderful time at our hotel, especially our rooftop bar; it definitely provides memorable moments for all of our guests!

We hope you visit us again soon!

Thank you and travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and i have just returned from a 4night night stay at Ink 48(we were celebrating our wedding anniversary).
First impressions :- very good, we made some requests upon booking via e-mail and within ten minutes received call from the concierge (Ralhan) to complete this request.
Hotel location is good with a 10 minute walk to Time Square and lots of bars/restaurants on 9th and 10th ave's only a 2minute walk.
Upon arrival we were met by friendly door staff and very friendly reception staff, very happy to be given an upgrade to a deluxe king room and have continental breakfast included for the duration of the stay.
Also very happy that room was available for immediate chack-in (as we had arrived early and didnt expect to have room until approx 3pm)
Room was very impressive, very spacious and well appointed, although at first the open plan aspect was a little weird!
We were on 9th floor with a city view - very impressive.
Room was very clean, plenty of storage space, fridge, large safe, etc. Only down side was no tea/coffee making facility. Also mini bar appeared to be very sensitive as put items on bill without using them-worth a close check!
We ate in the restaurant one night and were very impressed. Especially as staff knew it was our wedding anniversary and nice touch at end of meal.
Continental breakfast was good and more than adequate for our needs , choice of juice, tea/coffee then bowl of fruit, plus choice of toast/muffin/scone all served with jam (raspberry - wonderful)
We didnt use the gym but did take a look, and although fairly small it did seem adequate, didnt use the spa.
Only complaints are :-
1. we didnt get to use the roof terrace bar. On the night we intended to go it was out of use for a private function, it would heve been nice if had known at start of stay so could have gone another night.
2. Didnt do the wine tasting as again when did go it didnt appear to be on again due to the private function.
Only a couple of minor complaints in an otherwise very enjoyable stay.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello 99flyer,

Thank you for your feedback! It is fantastic that you had a wonderful experience during your stay. I am deeply sorry you didn’t get the chance to enjoy the Press lounge and the wine hour. If your travels bring you back to New York City, you should definitely visit the Press lounge; it provides unforgettable views of the Skyline and the Hudson River and our wine hour is a great way for our guests to interact with each other.

We hope you visit us again soon!

Thank you and travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic 'destination' hotel. I paid a little extra for a room that guaranteed a view - but what a view! (see pic).

It's a great location, with 20 minute walk to either central park, or empire state etc.

The roof top bar is a great resource. The drinks aren't the cheapest, but the cocktails are well made and the views are spectacular.

The staff are polite and courteous - just all round high level of service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello Eighteight88,

Thank you very much for your feedback! It is fantastic that you had a memorable experience at our hotel and you were satisfied with our high level of customer service we was able to provide. It is our goal to make sure our guests feels welcome and important when they are staying with us.

We hope you visit us again soon!

Thank you and travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotia, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at Ink48 twice during the month of February, once on business and the second time with my wife and two teenage kids. In both cases it was a great choice.

Let me start off by saying that I am a fan of the Kimpton group of hotels. I love that each property brings a unique experience, but are tied together with some great perks like the evening wine hour and the 'Raid the Minibar' coupon if you're a Kimpton InTouch member. And service is always terrific, obviously they place a high priority on hiring the right people for their jobs. (Full disclosure, I am also a Marriott Gold member, so I do have some perspective on hotel service.)

Now, about the hotel: being that the property was formerly a printing factory, the first impression of the building is that it fits in with the industrial feel of the neighborhood. But inside the high ceilings and large windows make for large, bright rooms; unique in a city hotel. The rooms are modern, clean and simply furnished, with comfortable beds, plenty of lighting and a great bathroom. The shower is huge. The only critique would be that the sinks are small, but that's just quibbling. The beds are set low to the floor, which can take a little getting used to, but it adds to the sense of height in the room.

A couple of reviews have commented about the location and views. You have to understand, Hell's Kitchen is not Park Avenue (if you want that stay at Kimpton's 70 Park Ave Hotel, another great property...), it is a mostly commercial area, but it's close to midtown and very walkable to Times Square, Rockefeller Center and the Theater District. Restaurant Row on 46th St, is only 5 blocks away (2 down and 3 over, love the NYC grid...) and Times Square is just a couple of blocks from there. We walked back to the hotel around 11pm after a Broadway show with our kids and felt very safe. As for the views, rooms along 11th Ave will have great views of midtown, but if you're in a room on the side of the building you're likely looking at warehouses and the river.

We booked the room for our family visit directly through Kimpton's website and got a rate of $145 for a deluxe double room on a Thursday night. I dare anyone to find a better room in the city for that rate...

Overall, I think Ink48 is a great value in a terrific location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hello David O,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and found our location convenient. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciated your positive comment, and look forward to providing you many more happy returns.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Kimpton gets it right, Ink48 is at the perfect intersection of funky and upscale. The staff was amazing and rooms were clean.

Make sure you check out the rooftop bar, amazing view of the city!

The only downside is that the valet appeared to be slow.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello mkarolian,

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We are thrilled you had a great experience during your stay! We are constantly striving to provide high quality customer service to all of our guests.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

The rooms, even the Hudson Riverview Suite we had leave a lot to be desired. However, the staff, especially the manager on duty was absolutely horrible. I complained about it taking almost 5 hours for our luggage to make it to our room (it never made it) & was told by the manager on duty (who said he was the GM) that he doesn't have to deal "with people like us" & he would rather if we stayed somewhere else. I asked what he meant by: "people like us" & he replied with a gay slur that start with a [--]. I almost fainted. I was never rude or out of line. People in the lobby gasped when he heard him call my partner & I (a gay slur). I will never stay @ a Kimpton Hotel ever again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Jetsetter and Priceline so you can book your Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.