We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Haven In NYC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Love to Drive
Ranked #69 of 449 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Haven In NYC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for five nights and could not recommend it more highly. Whilst it's not in the thick of Times Square like so many hotels - it is very close - only a 10 minute walk to Times Square and the closest subway. It's not located in the most upmarket part of Manhattan - but we never felt unsafe when walking to and from the hotel morning or night. We never had any problems getting taxis which were always outside the hotel (taxis were very cheap - about $8 to areas such as Chelsea, Central Park, etc).

If you've never been to NYC you really have no appreciation of how chaotic and dirty Times Square is. It's fun to visit but it's VERY busy and noisy and it's such a relief to escape from it all at the end of the day to some place like Ink 48.

We had a king city-view room which offered views both of the city skyline and the river - which was lovely especially at night with all the lights. The room and bathroom were very big, spacious, clean and modern - with lovely high ceilings. The bed and pillows were heavenly - and they have VERY cool animal print robes! The hotel itself has a very cool - chic vibe - a true boutique hotel with friendly and helpful staff.

The not-to-miss feature is the cocktail bar on the 16th floor with truly amazing views of the Manhattan skyline. The drinks are a little expensive - but hey it's New York!

We found we spent most of our time walking around NYC - and this hotel was definitely within easy walking distance to a lot of the major attractions. It was our little haven in the craziness of NYC over the New Year celebrations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hello Bluemozzie,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy your room and our service. Thank you for making us part of this important occasion. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again the next time you are in New York City.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Thank you and travel safely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,824 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,136
    482
    125
    49
    32
See reviews for
199
768
109
384
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

From the moment I was warmly greeted by the man at the front door upon entering the stunning lobby and lounge area. To checking in with Andres who accommodated me by adjusting my reservation with ease and handing me a welcoming voucher to raid the mini bar and spa voucher. I knew this was the place for me and my wife and that we would be back for future stays, for sure! Everything was so clean and fresh with a modern style, friendly, kind staff who love their jobs set the tone for duration of my stay! Amazing NYC views, complimentary wine hour and a nice location on the west side just added to my already exceeded expectations! You have to check out the front counter, one piece oak wood crown jewel - it's all in the details! Special thanks to Agueda for the follow up email after my stay, looking forward to contacting you soon to arrange for our next stay!

Room Tip: I would request a room with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello C G,

Thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated. We are thrilled to hear you had a memorable stay with us and you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. Your comment is very helpful to our team as we constantly reviewing ways we can better assist our guest.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and 2 teenage daughters between Xmas and New Year. Having read other reports about the location of this hotel I was a little hesitent about booking it but the views and the mordern feel made me book it.... it was a great move on my part. The walk from the hotel to Times Square is no more than 10 minutes and we walked in the daytime and at night. I never felt unsafe and the walk is a great trade off for the views as well as a way to walk off dinner.

The Hotel itself was very welcoming with great staff, larger than average room size for a city (in my experience) but I could of sat and looked at the skyline all night long.

No quibble with room service, breakfast, housekeeping etc as it all ran like clockwork and I would stay again with no reservations.

Tip...always try to book above the 7th floor as this has the best views!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello Nickybitty,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We are honored to have been part of such an exiting occasion. We hope we will see you at Kimpton again the next time you are in New York City.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you and travel safely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had an amazing time here , could not fault one thing . It wad amazing , 10 minute walk into Times Square but worth it as you find many hidden coffee shops and restaurants on the walk .
Will be booking for next December !!

Room Tip: Room 904 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hello KalkanForever,

Thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated. We are so happy to hear you had an overall positive experience with us. We are glad you are going to give us the opportunity to welcoming you back again in December to celebrate the holidays with us. Thank you again and see you soon.

Thank you and travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

If you want a place a little different with great views and excellent service look no further. Stayed here between Christmas and New Year. Upgraded to higher floor rooms and had one with a view of the Hudson and USS Intrepid and the other looking towards Time Square but with a few blocks of low rise buildings between the hotel and the skyscrapers the view was fantastic. Little touches such as coffee and tea in reception in the mornings and wine tastings make this a very enjoyable place to stay. Lots of good food outlets nearby and a 10 to 15 minute walk to 5th Avenue.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hello NickAAAA,

Thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our location to be convenient. We hope we will see you at Kimpton again next time you are I NYC.

We hope you visit us again soon

Thank you and travel safely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malverne, NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a special pre Christmas night in NYC and loved it. Had room upgrade to top floor which was great! Staff attentive and gracious. Print restaurant is a must. While a bit off the beaten path it is not a long walk to Times Square. Would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hello Lorraine S,

Thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. We hope this will be one of the many celebrations you will experience with us.

We hope you visit us again soon

Thank you and travel safely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend mid- December. We had a beautiful view, comfortable bed, clean room/ bathroom. We loved the feel of the hotel, and the staff was extremely welcoming. We had a broken shade on a window, and they sent someone up immediately to fix it. Yes, there's a little bit of a walk from subway/ mid-town, but it's not a bad walk, and we never felt the least bit nervous, even walking late at night. We will be staying here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hello MrsS40,

Thank you very much for your review, it is greatly appreciated. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location to be convinient. We hope we will see you the next time you are in New York City.

We hope you visit us again soon

Thank you and travel safely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.