We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Hotel, Great rooftop bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036 (Hell's Kitchen)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Love to Drive
Ranked #69 of 449 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stylish Hotel, Great rooftop bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Nice large rooms with cool and funky decor. Great rooftop bar; however, beware of the "invite only party's" held on some nights where inhouse guests can't access the rooftop bar.

Location is good. Only a few blocks away from some really nice resturants and bars (check out Pony bar for a cheap craft beer and pub food).

The only other negatives are that the lifts are very slow and the hotel can be quite noisey with party's from the rooftop bar.

This hotel is probably more suited to someone in their late 20's or early 30's.

Room Tip: Check to make sure that you have access to the rooftop bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello Mike W,

Thanks you so much for your review! We are glad that you loved the rooftop bar and the room. Feedback such as yours is the reason we constantly looking for ways to improve our service every day.

Also, I am deeply sorry that the music from the rooftop bar had disturbed you during your stay.

We hope you visit us again soon!

Thank you and travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,140
    482
    126
    49
    32
See reviews for
199
769
111
385
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was very pleased with my stay at Ink 48.

To begin with, we were there for Canadian thanksgiving / Columbus day, which meant the hotel was very full. We got there quite late in the evening, and the category of room we had booked was sold out so we were upgraded to a suite. Upon arriving in the suite, there was a bottle of bubbly and a box of chocolates for the guest who had cancelled. When we called to advise them of the error, they told us we were welcome to have them at no charge. Quite a nice welcome!

The rooms are very nice and comfortable. Room service was good though a bit slow. The staff was very helpful and courteous.

We went for drinks at the lobby bar, but did not have supper. The ambiance was nice, not too crowded. Unfortunately, the rooftop bar was reserved for events every night. This was a bit of a disappointment.

An important point for me was that this hotel is very dog friendly. We traveled with our two small dogs, which they accepted at no extra charge. For any one who travels with their dogs, I highly recommend Ink 48. They provide food and water dishes and a doggy bed in the room. A large bowl of dog cookies is at the entrance to the lobby. All staff was very friendly to the dogs. This is an important distinction to make as some hotels accept dogs (or barely tolerate them) while others truly are dog friendly, as was the case with Ink 48.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello A_Gabor,

Thanks for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. It is fantastic that you had a wonderful experience at the hotel.

We are very proud for being a dog friendly hotel. We want to make sure all of our guests are comfortable and their dogs too!

We hope you visit us again soon.
Thank you and travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and myself planned a short, 3 nite stay in NYC for combination pleasure and one day conference I was attending. Compared a number of "5 star" properties with truly outrageous prices. We stayed in a Hudson river suite that was extremely spacious and comfortable and all the furnishings and finishes high end. Other reviews we read implied the location was way off the beaten path, and it is not. Within a few blocks were excellent restaurants, theater district very close, and the riverfront with the Intrepid and cruise terminal only one block. Staff were helpful and professional. The hotel is stylish and trendy without being loud or too informal. I would highly recommend and will likely stay there again.

Room Tip: If running a promotion then definitely pay the extra for the Hudson river suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello DF_Chicago,

Thank you so much for the review. We are truly glad that you and your wife had a wonderful experience while staying at the hotel. Feedback such as yours is the reason we make it our goal to deliver a “Wow” moment to all of our guests.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I've stayed here a few times for work trips, and like all Kimptons, you get a stylish hotel and great amenities. The staff are great. The view from the rooftop bar is awesome. The location is decent... you can walk to Times Square pretty easily, and Hells Kitchen is just a few blocks away. There isn't much in the direct vicinity apart from car washes. Overall I really like this hotel, however one annoying feature are the slamming doors. I am not a light sleeper, but had trouble sleeping at this hotel because the doors slam hard (even if you try to close them gently).

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello Frankviz81,

Thank you so much for the feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We make it our mission to constantly deliver high quality customer service and to provide our guests with all the necessary amenities to add to their overall hotel experience. We hope you visit us again soon.

We are deeply sorry that you experienced noise coming from the slamming of the doors during your stay.

Thank you and travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

When I booked this, I honestly didn't know if I did the right thing. Well, I did the right thing. The staff is friendly, the location is great. It is away from the tourist areas, but still withing walking distance of Times Square. Since my wife is a lite sleeper, we requested a high floor. We upgraded to a suite facing the Hudson and cruise terminal. The views are amazing. I thought I would want a city view , but this was amazing. The ships, boats, aircraft carrier views were great. The floor to ceiling windows are a real treat. My wife slept great because we hardly heard a sound from the streets.
I will come back and stay at this hotel next time I visit New York City.

Room Tip: I suggest higher floors and a suite which isn't a bad price for New York City with views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello Sevaer,

Thank you very much for sharing your review, it is greatly appreciated. We're so glad you had a peaceful, enjoyable visit. I'm so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and it's great that we were able to upgrade your room. Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to see you again soon.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, ma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ink48 on a Friday night; I travel for work a lot. We liked the general stylishness and feel of the hotel. Very friendly staff, efficient check-in, fairly large room, nicely furnished. When we returned from dinner around 10 p.m., however, we were greeted by a horrible sewer stench in our room. It was hard to figure out where it came from, but the closet next to the bathroom seemed (bizarrely) the culprit. We called the front desk and they sent someone up with a can of room deodorizer. But when the guy came further into the room, he said oh boy, this happened in another room too. Clearly room freshener was not going to help. By then it was too late and we were too beat to change rooms, and we were leaving very early the next a.m. We slept with a window open and then stench continued. When we checked out, and mentioned it, the desk clerk apologized very sincerely but said there was nothing he could do for us because we had booked through Expedia. Huh? We got nowhere with him. For $480 a night, this seems a pretty rude form of hospitality. We won't be staying there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have stayed in many other kimpton properties that we loved and this one did not stack up. For 500 a night. Small bathroom and poor lighting. No outlet near a mirror outside the bathroom. I travel all the time and this was such a disappointment. Sorry to give such a poor review from a frequent stay Kimpton member. Not good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ink48 - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.