We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ at a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dallas BBQ Times Square

Dallas BBQ Times Square
241 West 42 Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Manhattan)
212-221-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,270 of 11,777 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good BBQ at a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

My son and I enjoyed an early dinner prior to a Yankees game. We split a combination dinner that included ribs, 1/2 a chicken, French Fries and bread. The sauce on both the ribs and chicken was sweet and tangy but not to excess. We had soft drinks served in huge glasses but refills were at an extra charge. The service was good not great and the atmosphere was typical Time Square, somewhat over done. For the area the price was a good value and we would certainly return again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    480
    196
    58
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Good food, cool place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great place to bring your family or for a date. Great wings and pulled pork ! Many options to choose from and also a fun place to have a few drinks.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Great hamburger size”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just arrived to New York from Europe on a late evening, we were quite hungry and decided to go eat an hamburger close by our hotel. Very good food, great portions and good service!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't go again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This restaurant was so busy it was ridiculous so I understand the staff being a little stressed out but the service was awful. First of all they got our drinks order wrong and only served one drink when there were two of us, we had to ask twice for another one. Then they got my starter wrong and that had to be changed. Then they bought our mains over before clearing our starter plates and rather than taking them away the guy just left them on the side of our table! It was like it wasn't his job to take plates away - only to serve the food. We finally got our waiters attention and he took my husbands plate away and left mine! To top it all off the steak wasn't cooked as we'd asked. I'd chosen this restaurant and I was left feeling really disappointed. The food was average but nothing special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Village, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very crowded but we liked the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The place is large and it is very popular and so it is crowded. We ordered ribs, steak and a hamburger. We all liked the food. The sauce on the ribs was sweet. I got a virgin pinacoloda which I enjoyed. The kids got sodas. The only thing we thought needed improvement is the service. One person for so many tables means a bit of waiting and patience. If you're not in a rush, it's a great place to eat.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dallas BBQ Times Square also viewed

 

Been to Dallas BBQ Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dallas BBQ Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.