We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Park Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   258 West 97th Street, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #373 of 458 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

It's a decent hostel. I was there for a week in November 2011 with 2 friends - we had a great room with 2 doubles and upgraded to ensuite when we arrived. For the price, it was good. Don't expect 5 star treatment because this is a hotel for people on a budget. It was clean, staff were friendly, and had free WiFi. Would definitely stay there again if I was on a similar budget.
Lift was a bit rickety however, so no 5 stars. Also location is quite far out from Midtown, but if the walk down Broadway is beautiful in Autumn/Fall, and the Subway is 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend upgrading to an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Despinal258, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Client,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay! And we'll be looking forward to your next trip to New York City! Call ahead of time next time you're coming to the city, and I'll ensure you receive our special rates.

Thank you for choosing us!

Regards,

Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    81
    102
    38
    65
See reviews for
61
101
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed in their best room (Superior Double Queen Ensuite) which is off the noisy main corridor / reception and waiting area. Like others highlighted, room standards are below what you gather from images, and costs are not ‘value for money’. Our room was supposed to have a TV / cable channels. We did not manage to switch the TV on, neither did the Hotel staff (a receptionist and a technician tried). I was assured by the receptionist to be given a refund – which was subsequently denied by the hotel’s management (with the explanation that the TV was in fact functional in my room – even though their staff failed to operate it)… Dodgy. Best avoided.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel - rooms are not as pictured, and management does not stick to promises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

we stayed for 3 short nights, it was very basic, we stayed on d 4th floor next to d shared bathroom. it was kept very clean, we had hot water too! cable didnt wk, but dudnt care much for it cause we were hardly in our room, we left early a.m and were back really late p.m so really didnt matter to us. its a place to sleep, and thats it, clean and semi decent. We liv d area were ths hotel is at, very quiet, and easy going, away from tourist, it felt as if we could pass for locals. U just got think, its only a place to sleep, if ur high maintenance i sugg u not to stay here, but if ur easy and adaptable to any wnviroment then stay! i would stay here again, for d price Yes!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Despinal258, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Client,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay! And we'll be looking forward to your next trip to New York City! Call ahead of time next time you're coming to the city, and I'll ensure you receive our special rates.

Thank you for choosing us!

Regards,

Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Not as pictured. A lot of money compared with other local small hotels. Tv, heat didn't work, had to use space heater. No working smoke detector in the room and no linens left. Had to ask for all of the above. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Despinal258, Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Client,

We appreciate that you took your time out to address this matter. Our team is working on looking into these rooms.Our apologies if we couldn't provide you with the highest customer service during your stay but in the future let us invite you to look into our rooms that are furnished with Queen mattresses, flat screen television, and walk in showers. Give me a call anytime to setup a detailed tour of our property when you're in the city next.

Kind regards,

Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights in October, rooms look nothing like website. Helpful front desk. Bathrooms were basic but worked. Ultimately it is a quiet place and works as a base if you plab on being out all day and night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Despinal258, Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Client,

We appreciate that you took your time out to write a review of our establishment. Our apologies if we couldn't provide you with the highest customer service during your stay. Next time you're in our area ask to see our Deluxe Room; which might be more of what you were looking for when you arrived. We had little resource of presenting you with another room during your stay, as we were at full capacity, so try to book in advanced to secure the room. If you have a chance give me a call personally at 212-665-7434.

Sincerely,

Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I booked a private room in this hotel and I got a newly refurbished one, which was lovely. Great bathroom and very comfy bed, even though it was a little bit on the small side (and bouncy!) for two people not in a relationship ;) the service was good, although there were little facilities (no lockers/safes or fridges, not hostel-like at all). there's a great place to get food around the corner, the Westside Market, do check their salad bar out, it's fantastic. Up the street is the subway station (96th, red line) which will get you to anywhere you need to go quickly.

Room Tip: Get a private room. It's not too expensive and it beats sharing a bunk bed with strangers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights with my boyfriend. If I'm honest I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews however I was pleasantly surprised the room was clean and spacious. The bathroom seemed like a brand new fit. It is on a block away from the subway on 96th very convenient. The staff were very friendly on arrival, answered any questions we had. The room was serviced everyday. I would say bring your own towels as we didn’t always receive bath towels. Overall we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Address: 258 West 97th Street, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.