We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RoyalParkHotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   258 West 97th Street, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #365 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“RoyalParkHotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My 18yr old daughter and I stayed in a private room with two double beds and shared bathroom on the 5th floor. The shared bathroom was a bit on the dingy side and the shower head was blocked, the water was only coming out of 12 holes so down to a trickle. The toilet was 6 inches away from the shower, so moisture was present nearly every toilet visit from other peoples showers. The TV reception in our room was fuzzy our entire stay, and there was only one double power point in the room so you couldn't recharge cell phone or lap top and have the TV on and A/C too. No coffee facilities or refrigerator in the room. The room itself was dark and smelt musty with the smell of cigarette smoke permeating our floor even though it's a non-smoking hotel. It's noisy with the streets sounds and sirens heard loud and clear. Make sure you bring ear plugs. On a plus side the bed was very comfortable and the bed linen was changed daily in our very small room. Yes, like other people say on the reviews here, the elevator was a pain in the backside. Very old and worse for wear. On our last day here the elevator stopped working so we had to drag our luggage down 5 floors. I was also surprised and disappointed with the nightly rates, and felt totally ripped at the final cost of staying in this old and smelly place. Our stay should of cost us $482 via their website, yet ended up costing nearly double at $843 for 4 nights! Fee's, taxes etc. We were booked in here for extra nights in between tours of NY but I cancelled and went to a cleaner, newer hotel and it ended up being cheaper to stay at "Holiday Inn". I would not bother staying here again and I will recommend to friends and family to stay at any other hotel but this one. Feeling ripped off ......

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs. Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Despinal258, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Client,

We appreciate that you took your time out to write a review of our establishment. Our apologies if we couldn't provide you with the highest customer service during your stay. Next time you're in our area ask to see our Deluxe Room; which might be more of what you were looking for when you arrived. We had little resource of presenting you with another room during your stay, as we were at full capacity, so try to book in advanced to secure the room. If you have a chance give me a call personally at 212-665-7434.

Sincerely,

Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    68
    94
    36
    57
See reviews for
53
93
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and i stayed in this hotel 14th of august . We got a room in the sevent floor . The elevator stopped between the floors and we asked for emergency release 15 minutes. We were released by the civil protection police men . The hotel is very dirty . No brakfast is provided . No other service than hard bed .
We do not recommend it .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Despinal258, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Client,

We appreciate that you took your time out to write a review of our establishment. Our apologies if we couldn't provide you with the highest customer service during your stay. Next time you're in our area ask to see our Deluxe Room; which might be more of what you were looking for when you arrived. We had little resource of presenting you with another room during your stay, as we were at full capacity, so try to book in advanced to secure the room. If you have a chance give me a call personally at 212-665-7434.

Sincerely,

Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Swansea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed here for 3 night between 09 July - 12 July 2013. It was a last minute trip so other hotels in the city were stupidly expensive (between £600-£800 for the 3 nights!!). I was paying for this traip for myself and my mum as a birthday present so couldn't really afford anything expensive, I found a double room with private bathroom on booking.com for £259! I was quite sceptical after reading the reveiws and after learning that it was classed as a hostel. I decided to go ahead and book despite the bad reviews and just hoped the good reviews were true!
It cost about $57 for a taxi from JFK which was fine. When we first arrived, check in was seamless. Before arriving I'd actually requested a renovated room after reading that only half of the building had been renovated. The gentleman at the desk advised that my request had been granted and that we were in roon 3E. The lift was a little rickerty and a bit nervy but it got us up no problem! The room was clean and tidy and I loved the open brick effect and the bed was comfy!
We headed straight to Times Square and the subway station was only 1 block away (96th street). Times Square was only 2 stops away on subway trains 2 & 3 so the location of the hotel was fab!
During the nights, the room was quiet (although the necessary AirCon was very loud).
The cleaner did a good job. One day we requested the room not be disturbed but when we returned, the bed was still unmade, although the bins had been emptied which was weird.
Overall, I'd definitely recommend this hotel. The loaction is brilliant and it is excellent value for money!!! I was worried before going that it would literally only be for backpackers but being that we had a private bathroom, we hardly saw anyone else. Please ignore the other negative reviews. Just book a private room and request a room in the renovated part of the building!

Room Tip: 3E was brilliant! Request a room in the renovated part of the building!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights on a quick trip to NYC at end of May! place was clean, convenient and basic and just right for the traveler looking for a place to sleep and freshen up! Good Price and perfect for short stays

Room Tip: Room at back was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I lived here for 1 week. It was dirty, i gound other peoples hair in our bed a number of times even though they "cleaned" everyday. I didnt want to go barefoot anywhere, it was dirty and filthy. 4 out of 7 day there where no toilet paper in the bathroom. One day i forgot my shampo in tje bathroom, the next day it was gone.

The tv was smal and old. U couldnt watch tv vuz the tv was on the table next to the bed (it was to close)

Also we had to change room 3 times cuz they gave us wrong room. The room was SO SMAL, we could harldly fit 2 normal size cases.

Some of the showers didnt work, the doors was hard to close and opend. And the elevator was SO SLOW AND OLD. 50% it came when i pushed the button and 50% it was stuck somewhere. And its 8 floors so u dont want to walk up.

When we asked if we could put pur bags on tr lobby when we checkrd out they wanted to charge 2$/bag just for 1h.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is 10 times worse than it looks in the pictures. Stay away from it! For about the same money you can find a much better place to stay. If you still have to choose this hotel, don't go for the non-refundable option, because for sure, when you see it you will want to cancel right away, as we did.

The hallways smell bad, the building is old and grim, the bedrooms are small, barely enough room for a bed, the bathrooms are shared and on some floors there is no bathroom!

There is no AC. The staff is totally unprofessional. We were greeted by a bare-foot receptionist who said he was about to take a shower because it was too hot!

Luckily we immediately found another hotel, a much nicer one. For the same price we got a clean, modern and comfortable room in mid-town. And we lost our non-refundable fare for this one.

Consider yourself warned!

Room Tip: Don't believe the nice pictures. Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Despinal258, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Client,

We appreciate that you took your time out to write a review of our establishment. Our apologies if we couldn't provide you with the highest customer service during your stay. Next time you're in our area ask to see our Deluxe Room; which might be more of what you were looking for when you arrived. We had little resource of presenting you with another room during your stay, as we were at full capacity, so try to book in advanced to secure the room. If you have a chance give me a call personally at 212-665-7434.

Sincerely,

Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hostel is in a great location as it is really close on the subway to Times Square. The guy at reception was really friendly and gave us tips on where to go and what to do. There is a bagel stall right outside and a great food mart just around the corner. Plenty of amenities without having to walk far. We had a room with two double beds and it was more like a basic hotel than a hostel. We were very pleasantly surprised. There was a TV with lots of channels and noise was never an issue. The only two problems we came across were the wifi and the bathrooms. The wifi only reached the fifth floor and we were at the top so had to come the reception to use the wifi ( unless you fancy sitting on the corridor of the fifth floor). The bathrooms were shared which is fine apart from the fact there were only two per floor. They were always busy and I found myself having to use the shower on the second floor one day after checking all the other bathrooms. However weighing it up its a very good price for NYC, has comfy beds and you won't actually be in the hostel for long because there's so much to do. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Address: 258 West 97th Street, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, HostelBookers, Budget Places, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.