We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was wonderful, hotel ok, awesome location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South to your Saves list
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   341 West 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly Hotel 36) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #240 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Staff was wonderful, hotel ok, awesome location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is not the typical very nice Doubletree BUT the cookies were fabulous and the staff was even better!
$40 self parking or $55 valet parking per day which is steep but it is New York.
This is a very small hotel having only 6 rooms per floor! Thus it was very quiet. It was nice how quiet it was.
The room was a nonsmoking room. King bed in a very small room! Very small! The bathroom seemed to be newly updated with a nice tiled shower. I just can't really complain about the little bitty room due to the awesome location and the room only being $119.00 per night.
The air conditioner worked well but it never seemed to shut off even though it was set to 67 degrees and was on auto.
Would definitely stay again and would suggest that others stay here also.

Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    339
    139
    56
    24
See reviews for
218
198
49
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I stayed at this hotel with some friends for a NYC long weekend. The hotel was clean. Rooms were comfortable but kind of small. (I guess this is to be expected in NYC, but it was a little tight) Sal and Josie who work for the hotel were excellent with their recommendations and service. Hotel is convenient to Time Square, the Subway, and pretty accessible to anywhere you would want to go in Manhattan. They have a decent Happy Hour at the restaurant bar, but we did not eat here so I can't comment on the food. I would say that the complimentary coffee could be improved. But, overall a good hotel for the money in the heart of NYC.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Donegal, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in The Doubletree over the Easter holidays. The staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and a good size for NY. Breakfast was good. Hotel was close to Timesquare and Macys. Great central location for seeing NY. I would highly recommend The Doubletree. Loved the cookie on arrival nice touch.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms to the front of the hotel and the flag poles were just outside our windows. When...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Conveniently situated right at Times Square, this hotel gives you access to many of the best attractions that New York is known for. We managed to cover a lot of different areas in the city despite the very short stay, thanks to the proximity of the hotel to the different subway lines. Shopping is also not a problem as most of the shops at times square close at 2am. Make sure you choose a room in the middle floors to get a better view of the times square billboards :)

The carpets and some of the furnishings inside the rooms are a bit dated and needs some upgrading. But overall, this Hilton hotel delivered especially in terms of service and location and is this worth recommending. Enjoy!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Pros: (1) location within walking distance of major attractions eg, Times Square, Macy's, the Hudson piers, Empire State Building, central station, Chrysler building. Yet on a side street so quiet. Also in between port authority bus station and penn station (making it easy and cheap journey to and from JFK by train). Within walking distance of hells kitchen so a good choice of reasonably priced restaurants;
(2) beds - the most comfortable twin double beds my son and I have ever slept in, wonderful after all the walking you do in NYC;
(3) the staff. Friendly and efficient despite being clearly under resourced they resolved any issues (and we had quite a few!) with a smile, humour and a genuine willingness to please I never expected to see in such a large city. Handyman Rick, reception and door staff were all superb!
(4) one of the few hotels to offer inclusive breakfast and wifi. I found the breakfast varied, hot, fresh and filling and the breakfast dining area was very pleasant.

Cons: (1) hotel itself looked like it needed refreshing. Net curtain was yellowing, shower door wouldn't close properly, jaded downstairs decor. Small bedrooms although this is apparently usual for NYC. On arrival we had a non functioning safe, TV and dodgy air conditioning although these were fixed very quickly once mentioned.
(2) housekeeping - Rooms were cleaned ok in the main, however we were conscious of running low on loo roll and never received further supplies during our 4 night stay (fortunately only ran out completely on our last morning!). Frugal with milk, sugar and tea supplies too - although very efficient coffee machine.
(3) as others have said, lifts get very busy at peak hours so there can be a lot of hanging around as just the two lifts but 26 floors.

On balance I would rate this as a good place to stay for all the pros stated above but especially for the outstanding staff and the beds!
Nb. Their free daily cookies were also extremely good!

Room Tip: Not sure it was worth paying extra money for a higher floor view as better views elsewhere. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traer, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great hotel,I actually broke my foot on the first night in NYC. Every one was amazing in helping me find a urgent care,cabs,pushing me around in the borrowed wheelchair.Beautiful property,perfect location. Would like to have had more dining options instead of having to leave every time we wanted even a coffee.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room smelled of cigarette smoke, the room was in poor quality. I asked to change rooms and they said all they could do is bring up a spray to mask the smell. I checked out 4 days early to go to a different hotel.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua D, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Jacqueline,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am very sorry to hear about the cigarette odor that you reported encountering while staying with us, as well as any inconvenience that this may have caused you. DoubleTree Hotels went 100% Non-Smoking well over a year ago, in an effort to avoid disturbances of this exact sort. I am so sorry that your stay with us was impaired by this experience. Please, contact me in the event of your next anticipated stay with us and I will happily and personally see to all of your accommodations with us. My contact information is available for you below and I am always happy to be of service to you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South

Address: 341 West 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly Hotel 36)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#144 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#175 Family Hotel in New York City
#198 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#204 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New York City
Wyndham Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.