We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South to your Saves list
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   341 West 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly Hotel 36) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #230 of 463 Hotels in New York City
1 review
“Great staff!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I came to the DoubleTree to spend one night. When I entered the hotel, I realized I had left my phone in the cab I had just gotten out of. A solid 3 minutes had passed. The employee who I was talking to, Richard, immediately sprinted out the door, down the street, and around the corner. I have never seen anyone run that fast, especially in a vest and tie!! He came back a few minutes later with my phone in his hand. I was absolutely speechless. This hotel is clean and nice, but it is absolutely worth staying in because of the amazing staff! Thank you so much, Richard, for your outstanding service. You really went above and beyond your job description.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    321
    132
    52
    24
See reviews for
208
190
46
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here for business in April. The hotel was cheaper than the rest but being a Doubletree I went for it. The staff were very good and courteous and this could not be faulted. The location is also very close to Penn Station and there are good local amenities.

I was given free WiFi, which is always much appreciated. It was average speed.

However, the actual property feels like one that Hilton have forgotten a bit. It's located west of 8th Avenue quite a long way (6 blocks+) from Times Square. Dirty flags hang from the front and the lobby is dingy and small and in need of updating. The whole property in fact needs updating.

The 'breakfast room' is effectively the back of the lobby and the property despite having 26 floors only has two lifts. This was a major problem when one of them broke down.

The rooms are, as per New York, small. My own room (910) was next to the housekeeping closet and I was regular disturbed by the maids going to and fro from this with their loud radios.

The local area is not the best, although there was nothing which suggested it wasn't safe.
.
If you are happy with a cheaper property this is OK but it is not at the standard of most other Doubletrees I've stayed at

Room Tip: Avoid one with a 10 at the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Have been coming to the property for many years and only stay here when we come to NYC. Service and rooms were always top notch BUT....only one bright light sadly remains after all these years....Daniel at the front desk. Funny and cheerful we have come to know him well after our many stays. Hilton has at least done one thing right by keeping him. The rooms are starting to look too worn and tired. The staff are all as helpful and kind, but the rooms have really gone downhill. We may take a break from here until the rooms have all been given a facelift but will gladly return once it's back up to snuff. Thanks to Daniel for turning a disappointing stay into a much more pleasant one.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are a bit more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a new property a very few blocks away from Pennsylvania Railroad Station and the Port Authority bus terminal and very near Macy's and the 34 th street stores and the Empire State Building. It is in the old garment district and the immediate buildings are all high rises. We had the 24 th floor but the view was unremarkable. A few roof top gardens. Other rooms looking in other directions than North might have been better. The room was alright but not big. But who spends much time in their room in NYC. The staff were remarkably friendly - full of helpful suggestions and almost falling over themselves to be nice. The manager was sitting in the lobby talking to and meeting customers. More like a Disney establishment than NYC.

Highly recommended when the price is right.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is my second time staying at this hotel and I loved it. The room is a little small but serves it purpose. It was clean, bed comfortable and very close to Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, Times Square and The Macys on 34th st. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The only con was that there was only one elevator and you waited a long time.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

No issues at all. Excellent service from front desk personnel. Hotel is walking distance to MSG, theater district. Great room. Great breakfast. Room was small but that was fine - we were only in the hotel to sleep!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macae, RJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The rooms are comfortable but typical NY size - i.e. small
The place could do with another elevator, and the system for breakfast service needs to be changed to deal with busy holidays.
But the staff on the front desk, the Conceirge and the Bell boys are so freindly and helpful that they made it a pleasure to stay there.
Good location. Fairly quiet and only a short walk from all the major shows and tourist attractions

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua D, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Tony C,

Thank you for your amazing comments towards our amazing staff! I can't wait to share your feedback with the Team here at DoubleTree Times Square South! Please, come back to us soon and let me know what I can do to make your next anticipated stay with us every bit as enjoyable as you would like it to be! I am so glad that you have chosen to stay with us and I hope that you have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South

Address: 341 West 36th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly Hotel 36)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#141 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#158 Family Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Groupon, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New York City
Wyndham Garden Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.