We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to take the bed home with me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, East Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard, East Village to your Saves list
The Standard, East Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay “4” Longer
Ranked #170 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wanted to take the bed home with me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Worth it just for the bed, amazingly comfortable. Small rooms with great views. Kind of no frills room but who needs it when you have NYC on your doorstep.
Great restaurant, service was friendly and location was superb. Great vibe in the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    185
    58
    37
    25
See reviews for
63
235
60
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed there for a local conference. Rooms are cute but small. About 8-10 rooms per floor. Different rooms are slightly different sizes, so you might want to try and get a larger room if possible. Showers have liquid soap and shampoo instead of individual bars/bottles. The view from the higher floors is fantastic. Bed was very comfortable and the room was clean (and I am very particular about that). Flat screen TV hanging on the wall. Full mini bar in the cabinet. They even had umbrellas hanging in the room that one can use, but you would have to pay for it if you kept it. Front desk and rest of staff was very helpful and helped when asked for something. There is a bar/café off the lobby that was very quaint. There is also an outdoor garden that one can sit in on a nice day. Overall a nice stay. Would recommend to someone who wants to be in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Service is awful. I tried to have a package shipped to me as a guest to this hotel three times and the hotel staff lost it. The front desk staff were not outright rude, but they were indifferent and didn't seem to care when I asked for help. Also, they were not able to get us a dinner reservation at the in-house restaurant. What's the point of having an in house restaurant if hotel guests get no priority?

Rooms are okay, location is okay, but honestly I'd rather stay at the Ace Hotel for similar value and much better service/atmosphere/amenities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Standard East Village is a relatively new and fairly small hotel. But it has a yuothful style and charm about it. The restaurant and bar has great service and a 24 hour buzz about it. Yet at no time did that disturb my sleep.
From check-in to check-out the staff was accomodating beyond what can be blamed on the perpetual quest for Tips. The stay was great and I will recommend the hotel to anyone.
And for "eye-candy", the hotel is at the absolute top.

Room Tip: Upgrade yourself slightly, it gives you the better view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Such a wonderful hotel, stylish rooms, lovely views, great staff (very friendly and professional), fantastic value for money, lively atmosphere, close to all the best NY places and all in all an unforgettable stay!
I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I could not have picked a bettter hotel during the visit of my gf. Everything was just absolutely perfect. The staff was helpful for everything especially Jacob and Kash ~ I was there for 3 days and i always catch them with a smile every single time. I also had jacob and kash recommend places to eat for lunch , dinner and dessert spots. All walking distance. I stayed at the deluxe corner king and the view was beautiful. Worth every penny ! I would definitely go back without a doubt !

Room Tip: top floor ! corner deluxe king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed 3 nights with my teenage daughter in a Standard Double. Room and view was fabulous. Comfortable beds, plenty of clean towels and nice boutique hotel feel. Had room service a couple of times and was brought up with minimal wait. Had drinks downstairs and staff organised a table for us without a booking - priority given to hotel guests which was nice. Also had breakfast at outdoor terrace which was delicious. Staff were very helpful - overall great experience which I can't fault and I will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Address: 25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoHo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#133 Family Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooper Square Hotel has recently been acquired by hotelier Andre Balazs to become the 5th addition to The Standard group of hotels in New York, Los Angeles and Miami. Located on the corner of East 5th Street and Bowery, the 21 story building offers 145 spacious rooms and suites with sweeping views of Manhattan, thoughtful comforts and stellar service in one of New York’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Standard, East Village provides a more intimate, residential alternative to The Standard on the High Line, on the West Side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, East Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.