We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Working hard to please” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, East Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard, East Village to your Saves list
The Standard, East Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay “4” Longer
Ranked #170 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Medford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Working hard to please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel has clean and new rooms, but even more important, for a reasonable NYC price. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful. As a hotel guest you have access to a wonderful courtyard and a work-out facility across the street. I highly recommend the hotel and its location in Cooper Square near NYU.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    185
    58
    37
    25
See reviews for
63
235
60
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I spent 4 nights at the Standard for my Birthday celebration, everything was perfect! from the cool young staff members, the breathtaking views overlooking Manhattan, the unique design of the property, spectacular drinks at the bar and of course the impeccable Dinner at Narcissa.

Room Tip: chose a high floor if rooms are available, the sunsets are breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed here for one night and left a suitcoat hanging in the closet. When I realized I called the hotel and they said they had it. I went back the following day to pick it up and my handmade Italian 1500$ coat was stuffed into a plastic bag that was no more than 6" in diameter. I was horrified that this would be the way a nice coat was treated.

In addition the hotel had an extra charge from the cafe on my check out that I did not charge to my room. They took it off the bill only to add it again after I left. Since I never charge things to my room I know it was not mine. The same thing happened when I stayed at the Standard West Village last year and had to call and get it removed.

I think I'll stay elsewhere because while it's beautiful there is common sense lacking.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena L, General Manager at The Standard, East Village, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Hanzlander66,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay. I was truly disappointed to learn of your experience. Rest assured that I have addressed the matter with our team and we are revisiting our practices to ensure that this does not happen again.

I would appreciate the opportunity to restore your faith in The Standard, East Village and will be reaching out to you directly to discuss.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Wonderful room, great view and even better service. Very modern room with a great shower. Comfortable bed with enough pillows. Within walking distance of some wonderful restaurants. Arranged transportation to the airport. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I had stayed here last year and was pleasantly surprised at the warm welcome I received . The young staff here are excellently trained and very pleasant and helpful. The Hotel itself is a gem with wonderful views of south Manhattan. July 4th fireworks were easily seen. The Restaurants are excellent too a definite NY vibe that less pretentious than Standard Highline. I gladly recommend this gem.

Room Tip: Higher rooms give you more commanding views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have spent a good deal of last year at the Standard. Yes it has small rooms, but the location, the view of the rooms, the roof terrace make up for it and more. Specially the location.

The only reason I am writing another review is to publicly say thanks to Julie Kim, from their reservations department.

I had my reservation done through the travel agent that handles my company's business. Due to an error in their system, they quoted me a price that was not what the hotel had on my reservations (it was about 70% less than the hotel rates). I contacted both the hotel and the travel agent. The agents recognised their error, and essentially told me "tough luck". Faced with the prospect of a trip costing 70% more, I asked her if she could discount the rate in someway. Her reply: "we will honour the original (wrong) rate as a gesture". Now, this is what I call a gesture.

The hotel did not have to do it, but somehow, I did not expect anything else. Top class.

Room Tip: Ask, beg if necessary, for a high room. It is worth for the wall to wall window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I stayed here in July 2014 for a conference at NYU. It was a great location, just a few blocks away from NYU, Washington Square park, and several good restaurants. The staff was amazing and went above and beyond to accommodate our early arrival and late departure -- storing our bags, providing a comfortable area after check-out and before airport transportation for us to change clothes, recharge iPhones, and rest (a cool spot on the 2nd floor surrounded by windows with a great view of the courtyard). Stephan, Makke, and D'Angelo were very attentive and provided service with a smile -- very friendly and helpful. The front desk staff gave a fabulous dinner recommendation and handled the reservation. The calamari in the hotel's café was delicious. Service was slow, but we weren't in a rush so it was fine. The place got very busy in the evening. The side courtyard was the perfect spot for a late night cocktail. The room was modern and comfortable. It was small, but the wall of floor-to-ceiling windows provided a great view and made the room feel much larger. The lip-shaped throw pillows made us smile!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Address: 25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoHo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
#106 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#134 Family Hotel in New York City
#203 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooper Square Hotel has recently been acquired by hotelier Andre Balazs to become the 5th addition to The Standard group of hotels in New York, Los Angeles and Miami. Located on the corner of East 5th Street and Bowery, the 21 story building offers 145 spacious rooms and suites with sweeping views of Manhattan, thoughtful comforts and stellar service in one of New York’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Standard, East Village provides a more intimate, residential alternative to The Standard on the High Line, on the West Side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Splendia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, East Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.