We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location and property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, East Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard, East Village to your Saves list
The Standard, East Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel) (East Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay “4” Longer
Ranked #175 of 464 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location and property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

It doesn't get better than staying in the heart of the east village and the Bowery. The Standard East Village is the best hotel in new york for a genuine, downtown new york experience. The staff is fantastic, helpful (and just happen to be extremely good looking). Rooms feature a stunning view of lower manhattan, super comfortable bed and great bathroom. You dont even have to leave your hotel to dine at the hottest restaurant in nyc. Cafe Standard is awesome too - great drinks and cozy, chic ambiance. There is also an outdoor courtyard area - i visited in the winter and unfortunately didn't get to take advantage of that, but i imagine its delightful to sit and have a cup of tea or cocktail when the weather permits. Like the Standard Highline, The Standard East Village is well on its way to becoming a New York institution.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    203
    59
    41
    26
See reviews for
65
257
62
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Comptche, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My two night bill was approaching $700, way north of my norm. And sure enough, THE Standard proved well above MY standard. The defining feature of this hotel is glass. It's everywhere. Even the shower has a floor to ceiling window. There's a gauze curtain, but it's still public enough to possibly bother some. Not me, fortunately, and I was on the third floor. That's in the box to the left of the vertigo-inducing precariously balanced main tower. Despite being close to both the noisy ground floor restaurants and the street, my room was quiet, and I slept well. The bed worked for me, and no one could fault the well stocked minibar, which even has condoms. If only I had a use for them. What I did have use for was an iron and I couldn't find one. This confirmed that I was out of my league. I presume guests at hotels in this range don't iron their own clothes, unlike me. The bathroom was tasteful and well equipped, and even the towels seemed classier than average. Of course, this might just be my imagination getting active. The toilet's a European style dual flush, and the beckoning tub even has a safety shaving mirror. Nice touch! And so very nice TO touch the heated floor. Love that warm floor! The staff were very good. They were friendly and efficient, even occasionally bordering on obsequious. One odd feature of this hotel is the menacing looking plain clothes bell men that hang in lobby. While I welcome the innovation of liberating staff from typical demeaning hotel uniforms, this effort is a step too far for me. There must be some happier sartorial medium between Nutcracker Tsarist foot soldier and gang member. All things considered, this is an efficient, modern, and friendly hotel, but pricey. Sadly, it's dismal sustainability characteristics made me pretty uncomfortable.
The sustainability rating I'm afraid is bold F. You need look no further than that all glass facade to see this hotel exhibits the same hostility to Mother Earth that characterizes this entire city. I suspect the dual flush toilet was chosen for aesthetics rather than efficiency, the laundry policy is mediocre, and it's sharply downhill from there. Incandescent and halogen lamps burn everywhere. For a new hotel, this is unforgivable. What century is this? In my case the incandescent bedside lamps weren't a problem because I couldn't figure out how to turn them on. When a maid left one on, presumably for half a day, I had to unscrew the bulb to stop it. In the evening, radiant heaters outside the restaurant attempted to warm the Village, but didn't achieve a level able to entice a single diner outside that I saw. It was chilly rainy weather. Eventually, they'll be successful as flaring gas like this will eventually warm the area, and the rest of the planet along with it. Is this their intent?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This hotel has the best of many things...amazingly staff who were so friendly and helpful from booking the reservation down to walking out the door after check out. Had a bunch of things that I needed delivered for my stay that arrived days before I got there and the concierge took care of everything and even had it all set up in my room upon my arrival. Located in a great area that it's a short walk to any good restaurant or bar, beautiful views from our room and the bed was SOOOOO comfortable that we almost booked another night! Can't wait to come back especially since we didn't get to try the restaurant, heard really good things!

Room Tip: Pick west facing rooms, nicer views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Hotel was located a few blocks from the show we were in town to see (STOMP) and many good restaurants. Our room was small but had everything we needed - including a fully-stocked mini-fridge (stocked with many overpriced items - didn't touch it). Bar on the 1st floor just off the lobby was small and always crowded - great for after-dinner drinks and dessert. Staff was extremely helpful with directions and suggestions for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Spent 3 days here on a business trip in the cold, cold weather. Everything worked fine, the resturant is really solid, for breakfast nothing is too much trouble and at lunch-time the specials were excellent.
A great location with the High-Line walk just outside and easy access to some great culture. Will come again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel is a little on the small side but for business travel you can't complain... good eats all around, friendly staff, & decently priced with all the necessities you would require to get by for your trip

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I love that this hotel is not in a busy area. Great restaurants right around. Nice view (I was on 16th floor). Great shower products. Nice shower. Hotel restaurant had really good dinner and breakfast. Staff is very friendly & helpful!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Address: 25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan , NoHo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#100 Business Hotel in New York City
#117 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Family Hotel in New York City
#208 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooper Square Hotel has recently been acquired by hotelier Andre Balazs to become the 5th addition to The Standard group of hotels in New York, Los Angeles and Miami. Located on the corner of East 5th Street and Bowery, the 21 story building offers 145 spacious rooms and suites with sweeping views of Manhattan, thoughtful comforts and stellar service in one of New York’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Standard, East Village provides a more intimate, residential alternative to The Standard on the High Line, on the West Side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, East Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.