We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact but complete” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, East Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard, East Village to your Saves list
The Standard, East Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel) (East Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay “4” Longer
Ranked #180 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Compact but complete”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Hotel was located a few blocks from the show we were in town to see (STOMP) and many good restaurants. Our room was small but had everything we needed - including a fully-stocked mini-fridge (stocked with many overpriced items - didn't touch it). Bar on the 1st floor just off the lobby was small and always crowded - great for after-dinner drinks and dessert. Staff was extremely helpful with directions and suggestions for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    200
    59
    41
    26
See reviews for
65
253
61
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Spent 3 days here on a business trip in the cold, cold weather. Everything worked fine, the resturant is really solid, for breakfast nothing is too much trouble and at lunch-time the specials were excellent.
A great location with the High-Line walk just outside and easy access to some great culture. Will come again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel is a little on the small side but for business travel you can't complain... good eats all around, friendly staff, & decently priced with all the necessities you would require to get by for your trip

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I love that this hotel is not in a busy area. Great restaurants right around. Nice view (I was on 16th floor). Great shower products. Nice shower. Hotel restaurant had really good dinner and breakfast. Staff is very friendly & helpful!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is the first review I have ever written on ANY site. Julia Grothe( Dir Sales- can I steal her for my business???=secret weapon!) layed out the red carpet for my 12 year old daughter and I, in on our first visit. We were welcomed with open arms and lots of stylish classy touches, like aqua panna with clementines and awesome PB cookies in the room. The design is smart, in that the lobby has a tiny warm parisian boutique hotel feel, even though the property not tiny. Smiles abound, a welcome respite in my potentially jaded sometimes cold cranky hometown of nyc.
The cafe rocks, and everything well prepared and well served-from coffee, to an incredible frisee salad, and save room for the choc cake with the best butterscotch sauce my daughter I have ever had- in an of itself worth the trip. Crystal took great care of us, as did all the bartenders. The dining room is thought out as well, with an expanse of verticality, brought to human scale with huge hanging planters.

My second stay was even better- a romantic couples retreat where they again fired on all cylinders. Great room with 2 sides of glass, and stand alone tub with bubble bath, champagne and cushy robes
Lastly, the location is superior- close enough to walk everywhere downtown(below 14th), like prosperity dumpling, where for $6 you can buy 2 kinds of dumplings and a peking duck with sesame pancake prepared in the style of bhan mi. Take it out, sit on a park bench. Some of the best things in ny are free. The standard cooper square, while not free, is an amazing value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Love this place! I can't believe, as a long time, frequent NYC visitor (work here a lot) that this was my first experience with The Standard East Village. I can promise it will not be my last. The location is perfect, the staff accommodating and SUPER friendly, and the room and view I had, on the corner of the 20th floor, was spacious, comfy, and had incredible views! Steam shower, killer mini bar selection (i'm a repeat offender of mini bar raids), and many other small details that only a hotel snob can appreciate...this place nails it.

I look forward to my next stay, and will promise to stop at the bar, and try the breakfast...i hear both are great.

Thank you for making this a wonderful quick in and out NYC biz trip. Means so much when you are stressed and on the go...having a home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed in different Standard-Hotel the Standard, I was very much surprised. This is different to other Standard Hotels, I liked it much better.
Very personel, very good service and friendly people.The staff is with the guest and the guests interest. Great location, nice rooms.
I was impressed by bell-man Makkie. Best Service. The small things make the big difference.
Thanks for the nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Address: 25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan , NoHo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#109 Business Hotel in New York City
#112 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#120 Family Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooper Square Hotel has recently been acquired by hotelier Andre Balazs to become the 5th addition to The Standard group of hotels in New York, Los Angeles and Miami. Located on the corner of East 5th Street and Bowery, the 21 story building offers 145 spacious rooms and suites with sweeping views of Manhattan, thoughtful comforts and stellar service in one of New York’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Standard, East Village provides a more intimate, residential alternative to The Standard on the High Line, on the West Side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, East Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.