We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel. Not too Expensive. Great Location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, East Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard, East Village to your Saves list
The Standard, East Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel) (East Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel. Not too Expensive. Great Location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

First of all, you must understand that there are TWO Standard Hotels in lower Manhattan. If you tell a cab drive, ANY cab drive that you want to go to the Standard hotel, they will take you to the one over near the High Line, near the Hudson river in the meat packing district. You will notice that the building here does not look like the building you saw when you went searching for hotels and found the Standard Hotel at COOPER SQUARE!!!! Or, tell them it's the old Cooper Square Hotel.

We got dropped off, and ended up taking another $15 over the east in Cooper Square!

The lobby is under construction, but this is no problem in any way.

The rooms were a comfortable size compared to many other boutique hotels in New York which go for much higher prices. The bar on the second floor was very nice and you could sit inside our out. There is also a small lounge outside in the garden near the front desk.

One of the most outstanding features of this hotel is the free breakfast in the "penthouse." You can eat outside on the deck or inside if it is cold, rainy, or foggy as it was our first morning. The view of the city east, south and west is outstanding. Don't miss this!

I was there with my daughter visiting some colleges in NYC. If you have a child attending NYU, I can't think of a better place to say. It is a 10-minute walk over to Washington Square the center of NYU's campus.

I've stayed at far-nicer hotels for twice the price. I liked this place and would return again. The staff was great. It must be nice as for the money, there were many Europeans there buying with cheap US dollars.

Room Tip: Higher the better. Although there wasn't that much activity in Cooper Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    133
    43
    23
    11
See reviews for
36
162
29
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for the second time in three months. Rooms are standard size for NYC. Views from the higher floors are excellent. Breakfast each morning at the penthouse is a wonderful way to see the city to start your day. Typically breakfast is fruit, bagels, muffins, yogurt, OJ and Coffee.

Bell Hops are very helpful getting taxis. Wireless is strong all over hotel.

Hotel is very modern, with windows floor to ceiling, and wall mounted TVs. Showers are large, bathroom is a little bit small. Rooms are great size for one person. Two people might be a tight as the only other place to sit is in an office chair.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Eventually, the lobby renovations will be done, but for now, room access is a bit awkward and even finding the hotel entrance the first time can be tricky, but because the Standard is a mostly isolated tower in the neighborhood, the views from even the most basic rooms are notable.

During my mid-September visit, they were offering all guests complimentary breakfast on their top floor interior meeting/event space and open roof deck with 360 views of the city.

The room was small, but light filled during the day with floor to ceiling windows along the long wall. In fact, because of the angled exterior wall design, the room felt like a corner room despite not actually being on the corner of the building. The windows and views continued to the bathroom space, but at less than full height. Even the view from the shower was outstanding.

I had a problem with a malfunctioning cable box on my TV which was fixed after just a passing mention of it to a staff member at the bell desk on my way out for a short time out of the hotel. I also had some trouble getting to my room because of a crowd waiting to get to an event on the top floor. Despite those minor annoyances, the stay was pleasant.

I've already booked my next stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to avoid the remodeling noise at the lobby level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed here for 8 nights while on business, so I didn't pay for the room. I think I preferred the room at the Mondrian although that was smaller. Good size bed and and bathroom is a good space with a very spacious walk in shower. No bed side tables, which is a bit odd. Good turn down service and they supplied free in room water. We stayed whilst the hotel was doing a reception area refurb so they included a free breakfast on the 21st floor, which has a fantastic view, they also did a pop up bar on the 21st floor once a week, again nice view but shame about the plastic glasses. The actual bar on the 2nd floor looked a bit bland and boring. Very polite and helpful staff and the garden area is nice to sit in for a coffee etc.. I heard normal book rate is $400 in which case this would be to expensive for my company.

Room Tip: Go high up as you can and west side so you can get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We've stayed at The Standard East Village twice during their renovation. While the location is excellent (we enjoyed walking to Washington Square Park, St. Mark's Place, and favorite restaurants on the Lower East Side), we found the service to be disappointing and inconsistent. Notably, after both stays, we noticed erroneous credit card charges although we had not used the minibar. Way too many back-and-forths were needed to resolve this. We've never heard of such discrepancies at the High Line or Los Angeles locations, so the fact that we had to dispute our bill on consecutive stays at the new East Village hotel was troubling. In contrast to the friendly doormen, the front desk employees we interacted with were cold and unresponsive. When we reported a loud party next door including a dozen non-hotel-guests, it took several calls before the situation was resolved. To make up for the lack of lobby and common spaces during the renovation, the hotel offered breakfast (complimentary) and happy hour (cash bar) in the penthouse. The 360-degree views from the wrap-around deck are stunning. While we hope to be able return to enjoy the views and prime location, the mediocre service prevents us from recommending The Standard East Village to colleagues traveling to New York.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I got in late and left early. The room, of course, was small - ie. boutique. Some parts were still under construction, but it gives guests an opportunity to have a continental breakfast in the penthouse. I was impressed by the bathroom, and the room in general. Hall was quiet, but as always the city hummed below, and sometimes crashed sometime between 2 and 4 in the am.
This is NYC and you will pay to play.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Seeking a fun spot away from the touristy midtown, we found the Standard. It seemed to have been recently purchased and was still undergoing the lobby/restaurant renovations. Had we not seen the construction, we wouldn't have known! Noise was never an issue and the staff compensated for the "inconvenience". They accommodated us for an early check-in with ease, allowing us to explore the fantastic neighborhood. Room was tiny, but comfortable. Enjoyed the city view shower, great toiletries, and comfy bed and linens. Certainly not flashy, but very sleek! LOVED the bar - great vibe, bartenders and drinks. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our 9th floor, north facing, corner room. Not as many windows as others it seemed, but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#69 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#258 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,828 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#133 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Hyatt Union Square New York
Hyatt Union Square New York
#70 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#68 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 976 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Jade Hotel
The Jade Hotel
#123 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Address: 25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan , NoHo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#68 Business Hotel in New York City
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
#111 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooper Square Hotel has recently been acquired by hotelier Andre Balazs to become the 5th addition to The Standard group of hotels in New York, Los Angeles and Miami. Located on the corner of East 5th Street and Bowery, the 21 story building offers 145 spacious rooms and suites with sweeping views of Manhattan, thoughtful comforts and stellar service in one of New York’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Standard, East Village provides a more intimate, residential alternative to The Standard on the High Line, on the West Side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, East Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.