We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views but poor service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, East Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard, East Village to your Saves list
The Standard, East Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel) (East Village)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 464 Hotels in New York City
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Stunning views but poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We've stayed at The Standard East Village twice during their renovation. While the location is excellent (we enjoyed walking to Washington Square Park, St. Mark's Place, and favorite restaurants on the Lower East Side), we found the service to be disappointing and inconsistent. Notably, after both stays, we noticed erroneous credit card charges although we had not used the minibar. Way too many back-and-forths were needed to resolve this. We've never heard of such discrepancies at the High Line or Los Angeles locations, so the fact that we had to dispute our bill on consecutive stays at the new East Village hotel was troubling. In contrast to the friendly doormen, the front desk employees we interacted with were cold and unresponsive. When we reported a loud party next door including a dozen non-hotel-guests, it took several calls before the situation was resolved. To make up for the lack of lobby and common spaces during the renovation, the hotel offered breakfast (complimentary) and happy hour (cash bar) in the penthouse. The 360-degree views from the wrap-around deck are stunning. While we hope to be able return to enjoy the views and prime location, the mediocre service prevents us from recommending The Standard East Village to colleagues traveling to New York.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    127
    42
    23
    10
See reviews for
34
152
28
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I got in late and left early. The room, of course, was small - ie. boutique. Some parts were still under construction, but it gives guests an opportunity to have a continental breakfast in the penthouse. I was impressed by the bathroom, and the room in general. Hall was quiet, but as always the city hummed below, and sometimes crashed sometime between 2 and 4 in the am.
This is NYC and you will pay to play.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Seeking a fun spot away from the touristy midtown, we found the Standard. It seemed to have been recently purchased and was still undergoing the lobby/restaurant renovations. Had we not seen the construction, we wouldn't have known! Noise was never an issue and the staff compensated for the "inconvenience". They accommodated us for an early check-in with ease, allowing us to explore the fantastic neighborhood. Room was tiny, but comfortable. Enjoyed the city view shower, great toiletries, and comfy bed and linens. Certainly not flashy, but very sleek! LOVED the bar - great vibe, bartenders and drinks. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our 9th floor, north facing, corner room. Not as many windows as others it seemed, but y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

New York isnt a cheap place to stay - and we ended up spending a bit more to stay 2 nights at The Standard. Its a very trendy hotel, with stylish staff and fittings , if a little on the 'safe' side.
Our room was only on the 4th floor so I was a little dissapointed for the money we were spending we didn't get a great view over the tops of the buildings. The windows let plenty of light in , and i was slightly worried at first people could see into our room from street level.
The room was larger then originally expected, with a very comfy soft bed.
Highlight was the bathtub , amazing to enjoy after a long day :) The huge monk robes were pretty funny !
Because of construction work currently happening the hotel is offering complimentary breakfast in the penthouse - this is a massive bonus as gives you fantastic views over the whole city. Gorgeous room, nice bagels! make use of this, if it wasnt included i would think the hotel was a little over priced for what you get.
Location of the hotel is pretty good :)

Room Tip: Be brash and ask for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed in a Corner King. The room was a bit small for the price and there was little room for luggage. We only stayed one night so it was fine. I wish the AC stayed on consistently instead of kicking on and off all night. View was nice from the 11th floor. The breakfast on the 21st floor was very nice and the view was spectacular! The staff was very nice. We were visiting our son who lives in the East Village so the location was perfect. That is what mattered most to us - finding a clean nice hotel close to his apt., so this hotel was very good for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel as it is very expensive for what it is. Rooms are totally soulless and the furniture is quite ugly, couldn't actually believe anyone would find it pleasant, even the colors were not enticing, kind of dark and dull. Plus the worst thing is we had a room on the floor just below the top one (where the bar is), and when we went to bed around midnight, the noise was very strong, so we called the reception to ask if they could do anything about it or if it was always like that, and they said they would call the bar to ask them to close some windows or doors, but of course there was no effect...so really, we couldn't fall asleep until 2am or so. The only positive was the incredible view from that floor high up when we woke up in the morning, but really, not worth the cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew T, Manager at The Standard, East Village, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear CharlieS80

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Standard, East Village. Naturally, I was most concerned to learn that you did not enjoy our room product and that you were kept awake until 2am. Whilst we continue to remodel the hotel we are working on solutions to minimize any disruption. I apologize that you were disturbed from the activity taking place in our Penthouse and I would very much value the opportunity to speak to you in person to restore your faith back in the hotel.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Matthew Thomas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This probably one of the worst hotels I've stayed at.... and I've been around. I'm not going to list everything, but give you a few highlights.
1. a promise made at reservation, not honored
2. an odd smell that still makes me shudder when I think of it
3. a broken phone in the room, never fixed
4. no answer when I asked to change rooms (said they'd get back to me, but never did)
5. no turn down service .... not even once in the whole week

Oh, and one morning at breakfast a woman at the table next to me was talking about "people" booking the hotel expecting "service"... and this wasn't what the hotel was about, it's about "the space". I didn't realize she worked there until I saw her later.

Pros -
1. my room had a lot of light during the day
2. I liked the 2nd floor bar
3. The bed was comfortable (but the smell up around the headboard... ewe)



OK ... that's enough! You get it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew T, Manager at The Standard, East Village, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear CrissCross

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Naturally, I was most concerned to learn of the shortcomings that you experienced, for which I am very sorry. I have addressed the points that you bring to our attention with the entire team and I am have personally taken the necessary steps to ensure the is no reoccurrence. I would value the opportunity to speak in person in the hope that I may be able to restore your faith in our product. Please let me know if this would be possible.

Kind regards,

Matthew Thomas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Address: 25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan , NoHo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#98 Business Hotel in New York City
#118 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#122 Family Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooper Square Hotel has recently been acquired by hotelier Andre Balazs to become the 5th addition to The Standard group of hotels in New York, Los Angeles and Miami. Located on the corner of East 5th Street and Bowery, the 21 story building offers 145 spacious rooms and suites with sweeping views of Manhattan, thoughtful comforts and stellar service in one of New York’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Standard, East Village provides a more intimate, residential alternative to The Standard on the High Line, on the West Side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, East Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.