We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, East Village

Save Saved
You added The Standard, East Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Standard, East Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Narcissa
Ranked #161 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Columbus, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my second visit this summer and it was wonderful. The staff were very welcoming upon our arrival and they went out of their way to help us with anything we requested. The construction is still on-going in the lobby, but that was not a problem at all. With the construction comes free breakfast in the penthouse, which is awesome perk. The views from the penthouse are spectacular and the breakfast is good too. The rooms are small, but you just have to expect that going in. The views more than makeup for the small rooms. The location is also a huge perk. You are surrounded by great restaurants in the East Village and there are several nearby subway stops making the city very accesible. Overall a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    175
    55
    36
    24
See reviews for
62
227
58
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

In the last 3 months I spend about 20 nights at the Standard in East Village. Yes, the rooms are small, but there are many pluses with this hotel that makes up for it:

1. Despite their small size, they have wall to wall and some floor to floor windows. Stay in a room above the 15th floor, and the view from your room beats any other in NY.
2. Rooms are smartly done, with all the minimalist amenities of a boutique hotel in the Village.
3. The staff is pretty nice and very welcoming
4. The view from the breakfast terrace is an attraction in itself. The breakfast is a rarity in NY, with very good fresh fruits, croissant, etc. It gets crowded during peak times, but still, step outside and you are floating above Manhattan.
5. The location: East Village, is as good as it gets in terms of Manhattan. The number of restaurants, varying from ultra-hip joints to soup&burger dinners, the mixture of people (very thin models, very homeless guys, very "normal" people like you and me) - this is such a contrast from the other more touristy areas of the city, all still a simple subway ride away, if you really want something from Times Square.

At the moment, the Standard is my second home, and I cannot recommend it enough.

Tips:

If you run, get off the hotel, turn right on 6th Street and go all the way. 6th ends on the east river park, where you can run all the way to brooklyn if you wish.

If you prefer a gym, they have a partnership with a big fancy gym across the road

Pretty simple to take the subway from / to the airport, if you want to save some cash. Check the MTA website, but you can take the F train from the 2nd Avenue station, change at Jay street for the A train going to JFK. About 40 minutes, instead of the 2 to 4 hours by car.

Room Tip: Rooms above the 15th floor will have views that pretty much make up for their smaller size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

It is a good welcoming, but the room was quite small. But there was nothing to have your bag on, the bathroom and toilet were in different rooms. It was strange that there was somewhere to the towel in when showering / bathing? Then it was the batteries out of the safe, so that it did not work? I was 4 times and said to it, and they said it would be arranged, but not? Then there was the TV too low ... you could see it? So it was trendy but their interior designer was super bad!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed there with 3 other friends. Ask for the rooms on the upper floors since they have nice views either on the Empire state building / Brooklyn bridge or on the financial district with views over the One world trade Center tower.
As they were still working on the official launch the breakfast was complimentary. Having said that there are man breakfast and brunch options in the East Village if you avoid St Marks Place - i.e the start of the St Marks is so tourist cheap! - and I would highly recommend CAFE ORLIN for their savoury brunch!
The staff were fab and very accommodating since we asked to change room for one my friend who was on the 5th floor with no view to the 19th floor and they did not charge extra. It is also VERY QUIET on the high floors compared with other areas of Manhattan.
Price wise well it is NYC and you cannot get a decent room for less than $ 300.
One downside : rooms are small BUT Clean and with nice furniture. Try it as we stayed 4 days and were all happy.
they have an agreement with a gym across the road and guests use it for nothing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I like the hotel overall but I was assured that the penhouse would be open to all due to construction but it didn't happen. Dining area very small and limited accommodation. Staff was nice and very apologetic about the construction situation. I would wait until hotel is finish building the addition. I loved the room. Even though it was small. Very clean.I will be back in about a year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We loved staying at this hotel. The rooms are compact but everything you need is there. The views are incredible, from the rooms and the penthouse for breakfast. The Courtyard is delightful and the food served there delicious. The staff offered wonderful customer service, always willing to help, offer advice and information, and it was a comfortable place to be. We will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: higher the level better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

August 19th we moved our 24 year old daughter to a new apartment in the East Village. Before we drove down from Toronto I went online with TripAdvisor to find something nearby. From the reviews, price and location I settled on the Standard, East Village. After a long tiring day of driving and moving, the Standard was a wonderful oasis to recover in. My wife loved the soft beds and luxurious linens. We both admire contemporary décor, and our high floor corner unit was very nicely decorated. The toiletries were wonderful. The room was very quiet. Check in and check out were a breeze. It might be me, but it seemed that everyone who worked here was 22 - 35 years old. There is a complimentary breakfast on the 21st floor with panoramic views of the area. The coffee was wonderful and self-serve! Added bonus, the hotel has an arrangement with a fantastic fitness club right across the street so I got an unexpectedly great work-out. For the price, I can't think that I have ever stayed in a better hotel, and this is to compare to Fairmont's and Four Seasons. We will be back!

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Address: 25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoHo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#94 Business Hotel in New York City
#100 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#122 Family Hotel in New York City
#184 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooper Square Hotel has recently been acquired by hotelier Andre Balazs to become the 5th addition to The Standard group of hotels in New York, Los Angeles and Miami. Located on the corner of East 5th Street and Bowery, the 21 story building offers 145 spacious rooms and suites with sweeping views of Manhattan, thoughtful comforts and stellar service in one of New York’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Standard, East Village provides a more intimate, residential alternative to The Standard on the High Line, on the West Side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, East Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.