We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, spotless, kind, good food, nice personnel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, East Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Standard, East Village to your Saves list
The Standard, East Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 456 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful, spotless, kind, good food, nice personnel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay of 10 days at The Standard East Village. We are a demanding family of five with a baby and no tolerance for dust and dirt.. The room was always spotless, they accommodated all our needs and breakfast was a pleasure, delicious pastries, great bagels and good quality, fresh fruit juice. Starting the day with the view at the top,in any weather, is wonderful. They could improve on coffee, providing espresso and cappuccinos, at the moment it is only filter. For just about everything else The Standard was perfect for us, down to taking our bag to the airport in no time after they had mistakenly forgotten to put it in our taxi.
We will certainly be back! Great hotel, thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    182
    58
    36
    25
See reviews for
63
234
60
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great location in the East Village. Great floor-to-ceiling windows in the bedrooms and an amazing view across the city. My room was small, but nice and light and had everything I could need. The penthouse (where they are serving breakfast while they renovate) has spectacular views and the second floor bar is also really lovely. Found the doormen friendly, but front desk were a bit brusque and not as welcoming as at the other Standard Hotel. Also, it's not clear if the rooms will be redone as part of the refurbishment, but it looks to me like they could do with a bit of attention. Mine had a wobbly chair, a fridge that I had to ask they to turn off because it buzzed so loudly, and the shower door made a horrible noise when it banged shut. None of which is a big deal, but it didn't feel 'luxury' the way the other Standard does. And when I tried to contact lost property after I had checked out, it was nearly impossible to get hold of them. Hopefully they will have polished off the rough edges when the hotel is fully renovated!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I would like to express my appreciation for the service I received from Keith during the reservation process at The Standard. He was helpful, friendly and efficient while providing clear information on room options available. Thank you, Keith!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

fairly priced for New York. Great location. 5 minutes from Soho shopping! Close to some new trendy restaurants (Circolo, Acme). Next door to the magnificent 41 Cooper Square. The staff is super nice and the free breakfast is a nice gesture.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

When Renovation is complete this hotel will be TOP NOTCH.
Should thinking about adding a pool and/ or spa.

My boyfriend and I stayed at "The Standard Hotel" for out four Year Anniversary.
We Booked The Deluxe King Corner Room.
One word AMAZING!
Was giving a comp bottle of wine. Greatly appreciated
The View BREATHTAKING.
Staff was very helpful and truly aim too please.
The King size bed was a dream cant wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask For the higher floored rooms.They have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

stayed in this modern establishment for 1n, had a nice view, was upgraded to a king room. the front desk staff were not exactly friendly or welcoming and the guys at the door were more interested in chatting with the front desk staff than opening the doors. breakfast was served in a glasshouse on the roof, which was uncomfortably hot on a sunny morning, and lacked proper tables (there was maybe three tables altogether), so people had to make do with whatever level surfaces there were to place their plates on. alltogether the breakfast experience was quite uncomfortable, with too many people crammed into what felt like a rooftop greenhouse. the room was OK, wifi worked well, hot water was hot, and there was a steam-generating apparatus in the shower cubicle, which was a nice touch. location was very nice, in the middle of east village diversions. all in all, ok, but as it was not exactly inexpensive, i would've liked the staff to be at least normal-nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice, once when it was the 'Cooper Square' and then recently when it was 'The Standard'. They were remodeling the restaurant and bar so I can't comment on those (I'm sure they'll be very nice when complete) but the hotel itself is very good. The location couldn't be any better. The rooms are very nice, bed was very comfortable, and because it's about the tallest building around the views are pretty amazing. The staff was very helpful with recommendations for restaurants and travel plans. They serve a continental breakfast on the top floor and the views from up there are even better. I have to agree with some other reviews that that coffee was pretty weak. Aside from that I would definitely recommend 'The Standard - East Village'.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Address: 25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoHo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in New York City
#104 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#128 Family Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooper Square Hotel has recently been acquired by hotelier Andre Balazs to become the 5th addition to The Standard group of hotels in New York, Los Angeles and Miami. Located on the corner of East 5th Street and Bowery, the 21 story building offers 145 spacious rooms and suites with sweeping views of Manhattan, thoughtful comforts and stellar service in one of New York’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Standard, East Village provides a more intimate, residential alternative to The Standard on the High Line, on the West Side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, East Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.