We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reservation experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, East Village

Save Saved
You added The Standard, East Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Standard, East Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 446 hotels in New York City
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great reservation experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I would like to express my appreciation for the service I received from Keith during the reservation process at The Standard. He was helpful, friendly and efficient while providing clear information on room options available. Thank you, Keith!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    162
    54
    33
    24
See reviews for
54
215
53
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

fairly priced for New York. Great location. 5 minutes from Soho shopping! Close to some new trendy restaurants (Circolo, Acme). Next door to the magnificent 41 Cooper Square. The staff is super nice and the free breakfast is a nice gesture.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

When Renovation is complete this hotel will be TOP NOTCH.
Should thinking about adding a pool and/ or spa.

My boyfriend and I stayed at "The Standard Hotel" for out four Year Anniversary.
We Booked The Deluxe King Corner Room.
One word AMAZING!
Was giving a comp bottle of wine. Greatly appreciated
The View BREATHTAKING.
Staff was very helpful and truly aim too please.
The King size bed was a dream cant wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask For the higher floored rooms.They have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polanica Zdroj, Poland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

stayed in this modern establishment for 1n, had a nice view, was upgraded to a king room. the front desk staff were not exactly friendly or welcoming and the guys at the door were more interested in chatting with the front desk staff than opening the doors. breakfast was served in a glasshouse on the roof, which was uncomfortably hot on a sunny morning, and lacked proper tables (there was maybe three tables altogether), so people had to make do with whatever level surfaces there were to place their plates on. alltogether the breakfast experience was quite uncomfortable, with too many people crammed into what felt like a rooftop greenhouse. the room was OK, wifi worked well, hot water was hot, and there was a steam-generating apparatus in the shower cubicle, which was a nice touch. location was very nice, in the middle of east village diversions. all in all, ok, but as it was not exactly inexpensive, i would've liked the staff to be at least normal-nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice, once when it was the 'Cooper Square' and then recently when it was 'The Standard'. They were remodeling the restaurant and bar so I can't comment on those (I'm sure they'll be very nice when complete) but the hotel itself is very good. The location couldn't be any better. The rooms are very nice, bed was very comfortable, and because it's about the tallest building around the views are pretty amazing. The staff was very helpful with recommendations for restaurants and travel plans. They serve a continental breakfast on the top floor and the views from up there are even better. I have to agree with some other reviews that that coffee was pretty weak. Aside from that I would definitely recommend 'The Standard - East Village'.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We didn't actually realise that there are two Standard hotels within a couple of miles of each other - East Village and West Village. This one (East Village) is currently under refurbishment and the West Village one has the boom boom room and the good restaurant but from the reviews seems to be a bit more pretentious. We actually thought we had booked the West Village Standard and were a little disappointed by the temporary restaurant which is okay but not worth visiting when you have so much choice around. They laid on a temporary breakfast in the Penthouse (spectacular views) which although a bit shambolic was a nice touch. We thought the hotel was good but we paid extra to have a room on the 6th-20th floor to guarantee good views of 'unobstructed manhattan sky line' and on the 9th foor (room 901) we had a view of a tower block. Rooms were a good size, bathrooms nice, both very clean and an enormous bed which was without doubt the most comfy i've ever stayed in. Only slight problem was very noisy air con unit right next to the bed and opening the window is even louder so we were very hot. On the whole the staff were nice and helpful. We felt at over $400 dollars a night (+ all the tipping!) we just couldn't justify the price as there was nothing extra that made it special. The hotel is a good location and we'd recommend shopping on Spring Street/Broadway, bruch at Balthazar, dinner at Craft & The Fat Radish and a fun place to eat at is The Meatball shop

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great well designed hotel in (what I think) the best area in NYC!

Pros - Room and bathroom = super clean. The bed was really really comfy! Hotel staff was helpful and friendly. Great but simple breakfast (we would have preferred stronger coffee though) is served at the top floor that has stunning views of manhattan.

Cons - the air conditioner is a bit noisy and placed to close to the bed = you'll get cold blowing air
in your face.

I would recommend this hotel and would stay again when back in NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square
Address: 25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoHo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooper Square Hotel has recently been acquired by hotelier Andre Balazs to become the 5th addition to The Standard group of hotels in New York, Los Angeles and Miami. Located on the corner of East 5th Street and Bowery, the 21 story building offers 145 spacious rooms and suites with sweeping views of Manhattan, thoughtful comforts and stellar service in one of New York’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Standard, East Village provides a more intimate, residential alternative to The Standard on the High Line, on the West Side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Splendia, MrandMrsSmith, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, East Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.