We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good but isn't” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard, East Village

Save Saved
You added The Standard, East Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Standard, East Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 449 hotels in New York City
montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Looks good but isn't”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

GOOD:
1. The Location is near everything which is good.
2. The garden is refreshing but the very anonying because waiter and waitress keeps looking after us for a drink.


BAD:
1. The service at the restaurant: one waitress was very unhappy with her job and she turned to be unkinded to us. So we decided to go out to have breakfast outside of the hotel!

2. The bed was uncomfortable even it does look very comfortable! The matress was too soft so we failed into the crack and that hurts the back after a night.

3. The overall maintenance of the room: the shower gets full of water after 1 minute because the drain didn't work properly. The hair dryer was disfunctional and they had changed twice and it was still not work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    167
    55
    33
    24
See reviews for
57
219
55
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Very NYC like hotel. Very friendly and stylish.
The room is very unique and the view is speechless.
I was there for biz trip and totally dissapointed that I could not hang around the bar till the night matured. I will def come back here for fun!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Not only are the rooms spacious and the beds extremely comfortable, the staff is friendly, helpful and accommodating in every way!
The location was very convenient. I enjoyed the theaters restaurants and shopping nearby. It was also convenient for when I needed to jump on a train to head uptown for business.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Several reviews have talked about the great staff. Add me to the list as the staff was fantastic. From check-in, to recommending nearby bars and restaurants, to bringing an iron and ironing board to my room in what seemed like 10 seconds after calling the front desk, the staff was great. The room was great as well and had fantastic views. The bed was very soft, the shower/bathtub was unique, everything was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've stayed here last weekend. The staff was friendly and helpful and the location was superb. You're a short walk from two subway stations and you're in walking distance from Union Square and Soho. The couple of times we needed a taxi, there was always one outside the hotel. The hotel bar on the first floor is a great place to either catch a late afternoon drink or start the night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I had an easy stay at this East Village hotel. The friendly staff were helpful, particularly Caroline, who upgraded me at check-in.

Unlike previous commenters, I didn’t think the beds were that great. The mattresses were too soft for my taste.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had booked into a Corner King room costing $350 per night and requested a room with a room for our 10-day stay at this trendy hotel so were rather disappointed when they sent us up to Room 504 on the fifth floor which has no view. It looked directly onto the side of the glass building next door.

More than a tad disgruntled, we went back to Reception and they moved us one floor up to the sixth floor to Room 605 which had a view that skimmed over the building below. We were to check back the day after to see availability up higher.

However after waiting all these years to come to NYC, we decided to pay another $50 more to get a bigger room on the ninth floor or above – which is where the Deluxe Corner King rooms are located. Note the pictures of the great view on the Standard website are all taken at the top floors 16 to 22..

To our surprise, the Assistant Front Desk Manager Nick upgraded us for the 8 days of our stay at no extra charge – which was wonderful.

Room 1602 looked south-east towards Brooklyn Bridge with a panoramic sweep of NY rooftops and brownstones. The room was smallish with a King bed, blockout curtains which were a must at night plus a tiny desk alcove behind the bed which was perfect for me to write on my laptop.

The plusses – free wi-fi in the room, the friendliest front desk staff we’ve ever had, a relaxing garden courtyard for sipping a drink or eating breakfast, (it was hot in August) and a chic but welcoming front bar which was not too big nor too small. The staff looked up walking tours for us, lent us umbrellas when it looked like rain and befriended my 22-year old daughter for late night drinks. They couldn’t have been nicer. By the time we left, we felt like locals.

The Standard is the cheaper cousin to the fancy-shmancy Standard Hotel in the Meatpacking District. It’s only been recently taken over by The Standard so our taxi driver didn’t know it (formerly it was the Cooper Square Hotel). It’s all glass in a tapering shape that contrasts against the East Village streets and 1920s office blocks nearby.

We used to walk to 2nd Ave in East Village between 7th and 9th Streets to find cafes, eating places and tiny boutiques from new emerging fashionistas. It felt like the real NYC. It was not far to Soho or Chelsea either walking or on the subway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Standard, East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, East Village

Address: 25 Cooper Square, New York City, NY 10003 (Formerly Cooper Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoHo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Family Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, East Village 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooper Square Hotel has recently been acquired by hotelier Andre Balazs to become the 5th addition to The Standard group of hotels in New York, Los Angeles and Miami. Located on the corner of East 5th Street and Bowery, the 21 story building offers 145 spacious rooms and suites with sweeping views of Manhattan, thoughtful comforts and stellar service in one of New York’s most exciting neighborhoods. The Standard, East Village provides a more intimate, residential alternative to The Standard on the High Line, on the West Side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your The Standard, East Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard, East Village Hotel New York City
Hotel Cooper Square

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard, East Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.