We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You shouldn't stay anywhere else!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakwood at 6th Avenue

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oakwood at 6th Avenue
Save
You added Oakwood at 6th Avenue to your Saves list
888 6TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You shouldn't stay anywhere else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed in Penthouse 1 which is a two bed two bath apartment. There was plenty of room for our family of five. The apartment was very clean and modern and we had a fantastic view of the Empire State Building from the master bedroom. The reception staff were lovely - very helpful and friendly. The location was perfect - near to the subway and to Penn Station. Easy walking distance to Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, Macys, Times Square etc Plenty of taxis on 6th Avenue. Round the corner is Speedy's Diner - great for breakfast - and also the only public toilet we found which, incidentally was very clean and had fresh flowers in it! If we ever go back to New York we will definitely stay here again. Top tip: Jacks 99 Cent Store (just over the other side of 6th Ave) is good for groceries (not everything is 99 cents - think Home & Bargain) and much cheaper than Duane Reade. We wish we had found it before our last day in NYC!!

Room Tip: Our penthouse faced both sides of the building, and 6th Ave is noisy, but you soon get used to it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakwood2014, Social Media Marketing Team at Oakwood at 6th Avenue, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and that the location, staff and facilities were so perfect! Glad to know tht you will definately be staying with us again if you come back to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very good place to stay, good location. Just a few steps from subway. 5 minutes from Penn station. Clean and a lot of space!!! There is a nice gym and a washing room for your clothes.
There is a friendly staff.
A bit noisy with single glass and the heater is noisy to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We booked these apartments for a birthday treat and couldn't have picked a more fantastic property. We had the 2 bedroom apartment ( penthouse 1) on the top floor which had 1 double bedroom, 1 twin bedroom and a large double sofa bed in the lounge. The great thing was it had 2 bathrooms which was ideal as we were a party of 5 girls. it also had a well equipped kitchen, dining area, washing machine and dryer, iron, ironing board and a vacuum cleaner. The location was fantastic, close to Macys, Empire state and a short walk to Times Square. If I was to go to New York again I wouldn't hesitate to stay at these apartments again?

Room Tip: This would depend on your party size, but the 2 bedroom penthouse apartment is definitely worth book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked this through Thomas Cook for our first stay in New York. So glad we went for an apartment instead of a hotel - the apartment was spacious (one bedroom, separate walk-in wardrobe, bathroom and lounge/dining/kitchenette area), really close to Empire State Building and shops like Macy's and almost right next to the subway for longer trips, and close to lots of places to eat - we used Speedys for breakfast, and also visited Tick Tock Diner, Skylight Diner, and Penelope's Diner and there is also a Duane Reade on 34th if you want to buy basic groceries. Based on previous recommendations, we asked for a room at the back and were glad we did this as there was much less street noise - the front of the building is on 6th Avenue which has constant traffic whatever time of the day it is!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were pleasently surprised by the quality of these apartments.There was 24hour security ,washing machines and dryers on each floor and a good quality gym.The apartments were spotless and had everything you needed to make your stay comfortable,they are in the middle of Manhattan near Macy's and Times Square.The one bedroomed apartment was large for New York standards with a walk-in wardrobe.The living room was also large with a sofa that converted into a double comfortable bed that enabled you to close it with bedding in situ.The kitchen was well equipted with a large fridge freezer.I would definitely stay here again if I came back to New York.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the apartments are very quiet.We stayed in 708
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The brilliant location of the apartment is between Times Square & Macys and round the corner from the Empire State Building. The one bed apartment has been thoughtfully furnished & has everything you may need, it was clean, spacious & was an extremely pleasant place to stay. Our sleep was not disturbed by street noise, we were on the 7th floor in 702. There is a door concierge, lift, laundry facility & garbage disposal on every floor. I definitely recommend this accommodation, when NY hotels rooms are reputedly small, you will have plenty of room, TVs in lounge/diner/kitchen area & in the bedroom, ample en-suite with towels & toiletries & walk in closet, it is perfect.
Speedys, literally round the corner for a filling and speedy breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Me my sister and nephew stayed here for my 40th birthday and it was a fantastic find. It is well located and close to a number of subway stations. It is situated between Madison square garden and the empire state building and a short walk from times square

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Oakwood at 6th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood at 6th Avenue

Address: 888 6TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Sixth Avenue is located in famous Herald Square near the Empire State Building and Madison Square Garden. Our amenities include controlled access and a 24-hour doorman. After a long day at work come home and enjoy the property's club room complete with kitchen and flat screen TV. We offer studio, one, and two bedroom floor plans. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oakwood At 6th Avenue Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakwood at 6th Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.