We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay in NY City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Garment District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #190 of 451 hotels in New York City
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great Place to stay in NY City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful 3 night stay. All the staff were very friendly specially Juicy she was very helpful keeping her smile all the time. We enjoyed the breakfast, teas and coffees throughout the day. This meant we could use the Holiday inn express as a base for shopping or sightseeing and return for refreshments or relaxation at any point in the day. We had a 26 floor room which was quite. Complimentary wifi was a bonus.
my only concern was the concierge she was very RUDE and have some personal issues (Frd, Sat, Sud am 6/6/2014)
I thoroughly recommend the Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square.
A. Wali

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Ahmed W,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to NYC. I am delighted to hear that Juicy made a great impression and was friendly with you folks. I do lament to hear that our concierge might not have been the same. I will speak to her, so she knows how her behavior can leave a negative impact on our guests stay. However, it is good to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and refreshments. Thank you for your valued feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Frank Cortese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    426
    577
    179
    45
    32
See reviews for
370
315
62
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here for one night last week and was extremely pleased with the visit. Please understand that this is a) a NYC hotel so the rooms are small, b) a NYC hotel so is very busy and c) a NYC hotel so is a bit noisy. It should also be understood that this is a "Express" property so expectations are a bit lower than other places.

Rooms: Very comfortable beds with both firm and soft pillows. Bathrooms were stocked with the usual amenities and are very functional. TV, small desk and coffee/tea maker as well. All in all nothing remarkable but nothing left out.

Location: 10 minute walk to Times Square, 8 minute walk to subway. Numerous restaurants nearby as well. Cabs a bit difficult to catch out front on 39th street but easy to get on 8th or 9th avenues which is a 2 minute walk.

Check in/check out: Very helpful and polite. We arrived late morning and room would not be ready until after 3pm but they gladly stored our luggage. Everyone at the front desk was attentive and eager to help. Judy, the concierge, deserves special recognition because she was the one who really made our stay and the reason this rating went from VG to E. She overheard us talking in the lobby that it was my wife and my anniversary so she came up and congratulated us and when we got to our room there were extra goodies and a card. I stay in IHG properties around the world from Intercontinental level and on down and have yet to see any concierge top Judy.

Breakfast: gets very crowded but it is offered and included in the room. Pretty basic but considering what a breakfast would cost you in a restaurant it adds a whole lot of value to the room.

I would return to this hotel as it offers a great value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Air Traffic Man,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Times Square as accommodations for your visit to NYC. Our hotel appreciates your understanding and knowledge with our room’s size and amenities. I am glad to hear that our staff was friendly and polite, especially Judy. Our priority is our guests satisfaction and I am happy to know we did just that. We hope to have you stay with us in the future.

Best regards,

Frank Cortese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Location is excellent.
5min walk to Times Square
One min to subway
Staff always courteous and friendly.
Ashanty at main deal was exceptional. Friendly helpful and made you want to stay.
The chef or breakfast guy always saying "good morning " every morning to everyone.
Complimentary breakfast is good.
No complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Ritzzyy,

Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn Express Times Square and thank you so much for your wonderful review while staying with us. I am glad to hear that our staff, especially Ashanty, made a positive impact during your stay. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Frank Cortese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

As with most New York hotels. rooms are a lot smaller than British ones but they do have everything that you need. Book the higher rooms if you don't want any traffic noise.If you arrive early the reception staff will arrange for your luggage to be kept safe till your room is ready. As expected from Holiday Inn, a clean, comfortable room in the centre of one of the worlds busiest cities at a very reasonable price

Room Tip: higher floors for better views and less road noise
See more room tips
Green Features: didn't notice any and even if I did I don't care about them
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Henry s,

Thank you so much staying with the Holiday Inn Express Times Square. We are glad to hear that our rooms met your expectations and that our staff was able to fulfill your needs. We hope to have you stay with us during your next visit to NYC.


Kind regards,

Frank Cortese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed a few nights on a business trip. This is a nice hotel, with really small, but clean rooms and a decent sized bathroom. The staff were really accommodating and so willing to please the entire team from Warren and Oksana and the entire front desk to housekeeping crew made our stay pleasurable. The price was he icing on the cake. Will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: there are only two elevators and over 30 floors prepare for a wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Don C,

Thank you so much for staying with us. Who says you can’t mix pleasure with business. I am glad to hear you folks enjoyed your stay with us. Our main goal is, our guest’s satisfaction, and we are delighted to know we did just that. It’ll be our pleasure welcoming you back to our hotel.


Warm regards,

Frank Cortese
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here for business several times. Clean. Staff is very helpful. Location is good for restaurants and not so bad for walking to Penn Station for the trains (about a 15 minute walk). WiFi wasn't too slow either!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear South_Park_Aard,

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Holiday Inn Express Times Square. I am happy to hear that our rooms and Wi-Fi signal met your expectations. I am glad to know that our staff was able to provide you with courteous service. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Frank Cortese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I've stayed in this hotel on my once-a-year visit in NYC for the last 4 years. I keep coming back for a reason! The prices are GREAT for NYC, especially considering the location: walking distance to the Javits & Broadway & Times Square. Breakfast every morning on site, with cheerful staff replenishing all the food BEFORE it runs out. The front desk staff is unfailingly kind & helpful and I know that it's a stressful job from experience, but you'd never know it from their faces, behavior and language. I've never even seen them make a face at less-than-charming guests. The only thing I've ever disliked is the time it takes to get an elevator. This time even that wasn't a problem. I think they put in new ones, it was really fast.

Room Tip: If you're over the 19th floor on the 39th street side, you can see the river! Also, any problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Heather P,

Thank you so much for staying with us, as we really do appreciate your business after all these years. I am glad to know that our staff is doing an amazing job in which it has impacted you to keep returning to us. I will share this kind review with our staff as motivation for continuing to provide each and every one of our guest with the same exceptional service as they did for you. See you next year!

Kind regards,

Frank Cortese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Quiet, Charming...
Show More
Manhattan
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#280 of 451 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Manhattan
Holiday Inn Express NYC - Madison Square Garden
Holiday Inn Express NYC - Madiso...
#182 of 451 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
Quiet, Best Val...
Show More
Manhattan
Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald Square 36th St
Holiday Inn Express NYC -Herald ...
#93 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Manhattan
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#123 of 451 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,163 reviews
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
Hell's Kitchen
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
#328 of 451 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 2,416 reviews
Holiday Inn, Mi...
Show More
Hell's Kitchen
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#209 of 451 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#175 Business Hotel in New York City
#196 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.