We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for 4 nights!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Garment District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #190 of 451 hotels in New York City
1 review
“Ideal for 4 nights!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here from 03/12-7/12 my wife booked this as a surprise 30th. The hotel knew of this, and kindly upgraded is to a city view (recommended)

On our arrival, we were kindly greater, on our first view of the room, obviously we had read the previous reviews, about this being in the small side.....but really, how long do you intend to stay in your room. Don't let your summer holiday hotels cloud your judgement! This hotel is ideal! The only small issue, is I wish they would have made more of an effort known it was my 30th.

I've got to mention the lifts..... Font bd stupid... We got down for breakfast between 6-7.... No problem. Lifts through your the day.... No problem!

Breakfast is reasonable and the quality is adequate. Free tea and coffee 24/7.... Result!

Can I mention Jaime was a polite young man, who couldn't have been more helpful. Times Square is 10 mins walk.

I think the hotel could give a few more minutes to their guests to make them aware of their where about's

All in all I give this hotel 7/10

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear James K,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you had a great time in NYC and thank you for choosing our location for your accommodation needs! We sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations during your stay. Our entire staff works around the clock to ensure our guests’ satisfaction and falling short of that standard is simply unacceptable on our part. We do appreciate your kind remarks about our staff but are disappointed in ourselves for allowing you to leave unsatisfied. 7/10 is definitely not an acceptable rating for us. We strive to give consistent 10/10 service for all of our guests. We hope that someday we get the opportunity to serve you again and do everything we can to earn that 10/10 review. Until then, we wish you the absolute best in your travels. Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    426
    577
    179
    45
    32
See reviews for
370
315
62
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable room. Ok breakfast. Close enough to times square but without the hazzle. Stayed over the weekend. Room was on the 31st floor but could still hear very load music from a local establishment. Other wise happy with choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear hibbaj1,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs and for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy to see you enjoyed your stay and that our location was convenient for your needs. We apologize for the noise you experienced during your stay and for not meeting you expectations with our complimentary breakfast, but we truly appreciate your understanding. We hope to be your hotel of choice the next time you visit New York. Thanks again and Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Among many things, what struck me first about this hotel is how tall and narrow it is! They definitely maximize their space :-) But most importantly, the location was fantastic (walking distance from Times Square), the breakfast was of a wide, and filling variety (waffles, yogurt, fruit, English muffins, and the most delicious Spanish omelets!), and the service of the dining staff, and the front-desk staff, was superb! The staff constantly checked on us during breakfast, making sure we liked what we were eating, and cleared our tables for us. The front desk staff was so friendly, asked about our stay at check-out, and offered to hold our luggage while we explored the city before we left. They really accommodated travelers well, with a professionalism and consideration. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Cynthia J,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your recent accommodation needs! We really enjoyed reading your review and thank you for your kind feedback. We’re happy that you found our location to be convenient for your activities and that you enjoyed our amenities. Based off of this experience, we hope to be your hotel of choice for future visits to NYC. Thanks again for the great review and we wish you safe travels and Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My first trip in NYC; I went for the Macy's Parade.Great hotel location, very friendly staff, and awesome free hot breakfast! Room wasn't huge, but hey, it's New York! Not far from Macy's, Time's Square, and the Subway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear stegersd,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We appreciate you staying with us and hope you had a great time during your visit. We’re happy that you were able to attend the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade and we hope you were able to take home some happy memories. If this was your first time staying with us, we hope you were encouraged to stay with us again. Thanks again and Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Having just spent 6 days with 3 girlfriends at your hotel, i must say what a fantastic time we all had, your hotel is clean, well run and the staff we so very friendly and helpful. The lady on the concierge desk went out of her way to help and direct us, and everyone on the front desk always spoke and wished us a good day with a cheery smile, (and its little things like that that make your holiday even more enjoyable) the saff at breakfast time were always happy and welcoming (great start to the day). All in all your hotel made our holiday that so much more enjoyable thank you so much, and when we return again or if anyone asks i will deffinatley be advising a stay with you. thanks again
Kath, England

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Kath J,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are absolutely delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and time here in NYC. We are excited to have been a part of your memorable experience. We are truly humbled by your recommendation and hope that other travelers will benefit from your feedback. Thanks again for choosing our hotel for your accommodation needs and we look forward to your return. Safe travels and Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

While staying in NYC on business I chose this hotel based on the price within the location I needed. Upon arrival the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They even called my room after check in to see how the accommodations were. I haven't had that happen in years. While the room was very small, it had everything I needed and most importantly was clean. I would most definitely recommend this location and would most definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Moskie22,

We really appreciate you sharing your kind feedback about your stay! We hope you were able to relax and be yourself during this business trip and that we were able to exceed your expectations. It would be an honor to be your hotel of choice for future visits to NYC and we look forward to your return. Thank you so much for your generous recommendation and we hope other travelers will benefit from your comments. We wish you safe travels and Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I paid $550 for this hotel in Hotels.com and thought it would be at least a reasonable hotel at that price. It is a complete dump. The rooms are worth around $100. I don't care if the location is reasonably good, this place is a pit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Lunauk,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay. Although we greatly appreciate you staying with us, we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations. As you can see from our other Trip Advisor reviews, we strive to offer the best service and value for all of our guests. We are truly disappointed in ourselves for allowing you to leave unsatisfied and hope that one day we’ll be able to make it up to you. Until then, we wish you the absolute best in your travels. Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#159 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#175 Business Hotel in New York City
#196 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.