We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Garment District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #208 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good value for the money, in the middle of everything and only a short walk to tje conference centre. Only 6 rooms per floor and many floors, this in combination with only two lifts means you could wait quite long to get down breakfast. The breakfast doesn't meet Swedish standard but is ok for US

Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hello Andy_of_Sweden,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your experience with us! We hope you enjoyed your stay and time here in NYC. We’re happy to see that you appreciated our location and value. Please accept our apologies for any delays you may have experience with our elevators and know that we really appreciate your understanding. We hope to be your hotel of choice for the next time you visit NYC. Until then, we wish you safe travels and Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    602
    200
    46
    32
See reviews for
421
354
68
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The staff was very accommodating. It is a very busy property. The lobby is too small and there are only 2 people at the front desk, but they somehow manage with the high volume. This property is next to a Candlewood Suites, Element and a Hampton Inn. Their lobbies are larger and more inviting. The room is well appointed and the bed very comfortable. For the price this is a NYC bargain. You can walk to Jacob Javitz Center if you are going to a convention and you are very close to Times Square and Broadway. Free WIFI is nice.

Room Tip: top floors have pretty nice views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Ken K,

We truly appreciate you staying with us and for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community! We are excited to see you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be a good value for your needs. Our hotel is definitely compact and can get quite congested when at full capacity, but we appreciate your patience with this and for acknowledging our efforts to overcome. We hope to have you back again soon and wish you safe travels. Thanks and Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed in this hotel for 5 nights (8-12 November) and I cannot fault it at all. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The room was perfect for two people (the bed was enormous), we had a complimentary buffet breakfast every morning which came in so handy as we were on a budget and there was free wifi. The location of the hotel was perfect as it was close to Empire State Building, Times Square an $8 taxi ride to Rockafella Centre. All in all we will definitely be using this hotel again when we visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Sandra G,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience! We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay and time here in NYC. It’s great to hear that our location was convenient for your activities and that you enjoyed our breakfast and wifi. We would be honored to have you as our guest again and look forward to your return. Thanks again and we wish you Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed in the Holiday Inn Express last week and was nicely surprised.. It is exactly what it is supposed to be..clean,no frills, good location, and nicely furnished with a decent bed. I was impressed that they didn't gauge people like other places in the area did due to Hurricane Sandy. Extra bonus points for that..Plus they had complimentary computers and printer in the lobby which was nice. Did I mention how nice the staff at the front desk was,... Very good value in NYC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hi LadyLux123!

We really appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We hope you had a great time and that we were able to exceed your expectations. If this was your first time staying with us, we hope this experience encouraged you to choose our location in the future. We would love to have you as our guest again soon. Thanks again for the kind words and we wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales, uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Me and three friends stayed at ths hotel for our stay in NYC. It is in a perfect location for shopping and sight seeing, and the service provided by ALL members of staff was fabulous.

The rooms were cleaned daily (towels changed daily too), we were given the use of a safe for FREE, the internet (and printing) was FREE (both Wi fi and the use of the hotels computers), late check out was FREE and breakfast was FREE!!!!!
There was a great selection for breakfast, e.g. fresh pancakes, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, bagels, muffins, crossiants, omlettes, sausage, bacon, fruit juices and tea/coffee (tea and coffee was available for free 24 hours a day!).
Breakfast time can get busy, and there is limited seating so make sure you go down early and you wont have any problem however, hotel staff are very relaxed and allow you to take your breakfast to your room if you prefer (mmm....breakfast in bed- what more can you ask for).

As I mentioned previously all members of staff are exceptionally helpful but I just wanted to mention Walter- he arranged our transfer back to the airport and looked after our luggage for us until the taxi arrived- Walter was very proactive and reliable : )

I would recommend this hotel to friends and family, and if I go back to NYC I would definately go back to this hotel. The rooms are small but this was not an issue- who spends lots of time in their hotel room when in NYC?!?!?!

Thank you to all the staff at the Holiday Inn Express, Times Square, NYC : )

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hello rebecca o!

Thank you so much for staying with us! We enjoyed reading your review and really appreciate you sharing your experience with us and other travelers. We are so thrilled that you found our location to be convenient for your activities and that you enjoyed our amenities. We are honored by your recommendation and hope to have you stay with us again during your next trip to NYC. Thanks again and we wish you happy travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights and for what we needed, this hotel was ideal.

Close enough to a subway, bus terminal and Times Square yet far enough away so that it wasnt noisy. Plenty of information available from the hotel, free internet use which we used to book a few things whilst there and staff very accomodating.

Rooms were a decent size and spotlessly clean with room service in daily (all but one day I think) and good working air-conditioning which was needed for our stay! Had heard the lifts and a busy breakfast time were a problem but armed with that knowledge before arriving we were pleasantly surprised.

The lifts weren't an issue except one day when one was out of service but there was a maintenance guy looking into the problem straight away and fixed quite quickly, staff were very apologetic.

Breakfast time was fine for us between 7-8am but 8.30am onwards was busy. Only one day we arrived at 8.45am when it was crazy busy so we ate out which was fine for us as it broke up the week. If able to find a table for breakfast, we found the choice excellent and plentiful.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone getting out and about in New York who needs a clean comfortable room to rest their weary bones!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hi EmmaBeasley,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing such a kind review of our hotel! We really enjoyed reading your comments and we’re happy to see you enjoyed our amenities and found our location convenient for your activities. We truly enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to have you stay with us again in the future. Thanks again and we wish you happy travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Good quality hotel, clean and efficient. Stranded here for an extra 4 nights due to Sandy. Staff very helpful. Rooms are on the small side but fully equipped. Breakfast is complimentary - limited and all on plastic plates with plastic knives and forks but food is OK

Good location and a good base for sightseeing

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIXTSFOM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi Thomas209942,

Thanks for the kind review of your stay with us! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. We’re sorry you had to put up with Hurricane Sandy, but appreciate you sticking it out with us! Hopefully next time you visit we’ll be Hurricane-Free! We look forward to serving you again and wish you safe travels!

Sincerely,

Team Holiday Inn Express Times Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square

Address: 343 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Garment District , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#170 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
#213 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City hotel offers location close to Times Square. Located in the middle of Manhattan, the Holiday Inn Express New York Times Square offers comfortable accommodations near New York s biggest attractions. With LaGuardia (LGA) and JFK International (JFK) both less than 15 minutes away, you'll find it easy getting to and from your destinations. Within walking distance of our Manhattan hotel, you can find a wealth of attractions. Just a block from our New York City hotel is Times Square and Broadway theatres. Other well known New York attractions such as the Empire State Building, Broadway and Central Park are within a few blocks of our hotel in Manhattan. Located near 42nd Street, our hotel is close to the main subway lines so you can get around the city easily. For the business traveler, there are many major New York business attractions located near our hotel in New York City. Major headquarters including Merrill Lynch, Legg Mason and Ernst & Young are all within walking distance of our New York City accommodations. With our convenient Manhattan location, you can make it on time to all your New York City meetings. Consider starting your day with one of our famous cinnamon rolls from the hot breakfast bar. Additionally, you can stay connected throughout your entire stay at our New York City hotel with free high-speed Internet access. Book your New York City room reservations now at our Manhattan hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Groupon, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.