We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money and friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Save Saved
You added Marrakech Hotel on Broadway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #341 of 449 hotels in New York City
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Value for money and friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a budget hotel and provided us with clean accommodation and shower facilities, which is just what we wanted as we didn't plan on spending much time in the hotel. The only fault I found was the wardrobe space. We booked a double room and only had a single wardrobe to share. Other than this the staff were friendly and helpful esp the bell men and maids we were always greeted with a smile morning, noon or night! The reception provided a city map and were more than happy to help with directions and questions.The rooms were made and cleaned daily. There was free wifi in the lobby area and we luckily could access this in our room as well as it was close to the reception area. There is a small bar area where you could get drinks and food from a small menu. There was also a subway stop close by which was very handy indeed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    371
    293
    127
    139
See reviews for
142
341
76
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I stayed here with two friends over the thanksgiving period and found it to be a good hotel for a budget holiday.

Upon getting out of our taxi there was a hotel porter ready and waiting to take our bags up the stairs, the hotel staff were all very friendly and happy to help. The lobby was well decorated in the Marrakech theme and the hotel bar was warm and inviting and the Christmas tree looked lovely next to the fireplace.

Our room was on level 4, the lobby was on level 1 so it was only 3 flights up. Again, the staff offered to carry our bags up the stairs. The corridors leading to the rooms are very narrow and the hallways are a bit dated, but that wasn't a problem because it's not as though we planned to sleep in the corridor. The room was small and cosy with two double beds. The bathroom was quite small, but the shower was hot and powerful so again we were happy with our room.

The only issue we had while staying here, was that where the weather was so cold outside the hotel had the heating on constantly. While this was nice to come back to at first, it became so hot at night that we slept on top of the beds instead of in them and had to have the noisy air conditioning on from time to time, or open the door of the room on the latch for an hour or so during the night. I rang down to the front desk to ask for it to be turned down/off and they said unfortunately it was centrally controlled and they couldn't change it. It was quite frustrating at the beginning of the night, but we had spent so much time walking during the day and sight-seeing when we did get to sleep we were out like a light.

Other reviewers mention that they needed earplugs because the hotel was noisy, we didn't find this to be the case at all and from the amount of people we saw leaving the hotel the day before us it was pretty full. I think that this depends on the people in the rooms surrounding you though and if you are put on a room at the front or back of the hotel. We were on the back facing a block of apartments, but we chose the hotel for the price not the view so that didn't bother us.

The hotel is very close to a Subway and we found it very easy to get around. If you are planning to be out and about all day I would definitely recommend it. However if you are planning on doing a lot of shopping and may want to pop back to drop off bags and are likely to be to and fro-ing from the hotel you might want something a little closer to downtown so you can walk to the hotel, but again you can expect to pay extra for that.

On our last day the hotel kept our bags for us after check in and arranged a shuttle to the airport which was $21 each, and as we left they wished us Happy Holidays and again were all very friendly.

I think that what it comes down to is that you get what you pay for. If I was returning to New York on a budget I would stay here again, however, I would prefer to spend a bit more and stay closer to Times Square so that we could just walk most places. The only issue I could imagine with the hotel in itself is that the central heating is too hot and the air conditioning too loud. Aside from this we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed with a friend on a four-day trip to New York. If it's not your first time in the city, you'll appreciate the Upper West Side location of this hotel. The subway is a stone's throw from the hotel and it takes less than 30 minutes to get to Soho.

Pros
- Cheap ($150/night during high season)
- All the basics (toiletries, decent room service, ironing board on request)
- Close to good, cheap eats in a non-touristy part of town
- Subway station less than 2 minutes away

Cons
- Very small rooms
- Loud at night; the lobby appeared to transform into a night club after 9 p.m.
- Wifi was spotty in the room (much better in the lobby)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Wow!
Steer AWAY! We couldn't believe our eyes.
This place was not as was advertised on their website! Going up to our room was as if we were walking in my grandmothers very old house. halls were narrow and dark,so narrow that my husband and I could not walk side by side. Finally reached our room and opened the door and yep, just like a room in my grandmothers home. room extremely small, dresser drawers missing its fronts. the room had an unbearable smell of the old portable heater that they had on before we walked in. I called the front desk to at least give us a different room. They sent the bellboy up to show us another room, he took us to the next flight of stairs up, then another, then attempted to take us up another until we said No, that will be enough. (it felt like we were going to the attic. very scary) we tried to get our money back for the 4 days that we had reserved, the manager Angie was so rude and was reluctant that she only decided to give us 2 days back of costs.(I used to manage hotels and I know she has the authority to refund every penny back especially for someone that only spent 5min in the room)
To bad, for the location of this hotel, I expected so much more. The only good thing about this hotel were the Bell Boys. Nice, courteous and personable.
Will I ever come back to this hotel? Never!!!
What a disappointment.

Room Tip: Don't dismiss bad reviews and take chances. Stay Away
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Fantastic hotel, really friendly excellent location. Metro station two mins away, lots of restaurants nearby. Extremely clean room, with good bathroom. Staff can't do enough for you also has a nice bar area. Only slight downside is that there is no lift but you need the excercise after all the food you eat! Less then 10 mins from Central Park and within walking distance to down town if you fancy it

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews on here I was a little nervous about going to this hotel,but you can't believe everything you read. The welcome we received was excellent. Room was basic but fulfilled our needs for the stay and was clean. We had fresh sheets and towels everyday. Location was perfect right by a subway stop. Staff were always helpful and very prompt with fulfilling requests. I will definitely be staying here again and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

this hotel is great value for money near enough to the centre for easy access to the centre but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. rooms are basic but comfortable. if you have mobility problems its probably not for you because of the stairs but otherwise its really great subway into the centre just outside $2.50 each. got a taxi back yesterday from central newyork for $20 so that was good. theres starbucks next door broadway bagels in the next block and henrys bar and resturant a few blocks up all really nice. 5 minute walk from central park. staff are friendly and cant do enough to help.rooms are clean. well worth considering this one

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marrakech Hotel on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 449 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel on Broadway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City,all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Marrakech Hotel on Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Hotel on Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.