We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, handy location, great value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Marrakech Hotel on Broadway to your Saves list
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #340 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Faversham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, handy location, great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

For our firs time to NYC we needed somewhere as a base that wasn't extortionate.. The room was clean, good sized (superior) and on the 5th floor. It was loud outside but we expected as in a city however nothing eat plugs couldn't solve.

I was a bit nervous after reading some of the reviews but I think many are unfounded, having no lift is no issue as the staff were happy to help with bags. The ensuite wasn't massive but it served its purpose, was clean and modern. The bed was comfy enough and the staff changed the sheets every day.

The only dodgy thing was a bent light socket and the door lock for the bathroom didn't lock but we were a couple so was fine.

You have a subway literally outside the door as well as a grocers and a Starbucks plus the number one line takes you all the way downtown.

The staff were the best part, attentive, friendly and keen to help, especially when we needed a cab to get to the airport.

It is a basic hotel a don't have high expectations BUT for the price (only £100) more for five days than the hostel for two people it's really worth it.

Room Tip: 503 is a good room and make use of the offer to move bags and call a cab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    355
    254
    118
    135
See reviews for
164
381
80
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bielsko-Biala, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had a week in New York and stayed at the Marrakech....couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Beds were super comfy and staff were always there to lend a helping hand. Yes, you have to walk up some stairs- get over it. After a week in New York, you're legs will be aching anyway. The location is great cos you're further up broadway and it gets you out of the hustle and bustle a bit. Try the Metro Diner across the road- it's divine. Would highly recommend the hotel to anyone, a big thanks to the staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

A reasonable hotel in Manhattan. It's quite far from midtown, but the hotel is very close to the metro station on 103rd. Lots of restaurants and cafes in the area. There is a handy laundromat on 104th and Broadway across the road from the post office. There are no lifts so you will have to walk at least one flight of stairs. However, the bell staff are very good and will gladly help you with your bags. What let this place down for us is that the room was very dark as our room has very little natural light. Unfortunately, our trip was marred by the loss of a sentimental valuable item which went missing during our stay. We stayed here for 7 nights in October 2013. A good hotel if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

An amazing day here with 27 students on a school trip! I highly recommend this hotel for anyone coming to NYC. It's in a quiet location on the upper west side with a subway stop directly outside of the hotel, which is convenient and quick to get around.

The rooms are clean and nicely decorated simply! But when your in the city that doesn't sleep your bust all day so only need a place to rest your grad. Hot showers great air con and very helpful staff.

Breakfast places very close to hotel ste metro diner and broadway bagels of of excellent quality

A great find and will definitely use again if traveling solo or with my school group,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Finding a convenient yet affordable place in NYC wasn't easy but we were delighted to stay at this one. Although rooms aren't large, ours was large enough for two with a private bath, hot-hot water shower, and comfy beds. On the 4th floor, we didn't hear much road noise through the night and slept well. Would have appreciated a small coffee maker in the room. Helpful staff. Comfortable lounge with Wi-Fi. Clean and affordable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was very pleased with this value hotel. It is small, but it is perfect for crashing at night. I stayed with my husband and child and had a room with two double beds. It was not as small as I expected, yet the employee said he gave me 'the bigger room' so I must have had more space than some. I showered at night and there was always hot water then. There was shampoo/soap provided. The room was comfy/clean. Nice beds/modeern artwork/paint. It did not feel like a dive to me at all. Housekeeping was awesome - always came while we were out. The employees were very courteous answering my emails before arrival, accommodating requests and always saying hello/good night when we entered the building each day. The way other guests complained about the stairs, I thought it would be a nightmare, but not at all. There are just two flights to get into the building. Any healthy individual should be able to go up two flights of steps for sure. If your room is higher, you will have more steps but no biggie after you pause in the lobby if needed. They do not have any coffee in the rooms so I ducked into Starbucks downstairs. We went to the subway station right outside numerous times (to Times Square/Battery Park/etc) and walked to Central Park down the street(about 1/2 mile if I had to guess). We took a cab to this hotel from LGA (LaGuardia Airport) and it was about $40 one way. I would definitely recommend the hotel. It would not be a good place if you were just planning to 'stay in' all week but who does that in NYC? Thank you Hotel Marrakech!

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs, ask for a low floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a 6 night stay at this hotel and have no complaints. No it wasn't the best hotel I've ever stayed in but it's also not the worst. The room was small but cosy and adequate for the amount of time I spent in it. The location was good with the subway situated right outside the hotel it was really easy to get around. I had fresh towels every day, staff were very friendly and helpful - what more could you want. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marrakech Hotel on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 454 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel on Broadway 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City,all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Marrakech Hotel on Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Hotel on Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.