We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service/location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Marrakech Hotel on Broadway to your Saves list
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025 (Upper West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #347 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic service/location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

An amazing day here with 27 students on a school trip! I highly recommend this hotel for anyone coming to NYC. It's in a quiet location on the upper west side with a subway stop directly outside of the hotel, which is convenient and quick to get around.

The rooms are clean and nicely decorated simply! But when your in the city that doesn't sleep your bust all day so only need a place to rest your grad. Hot showers great air con and very helpful staff.

Breakfast places very close to hotel ste metro diner and broadway bagels of of excellent quality

A great find and will definitely use again if traveling solo or with my school group,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    403
    285
    130
    148
See reviews for
184
439
87
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Finding a convenient yet affordable place in NYC wasn't easy but we were delighted to stay at this one. Although rooms aren't large, ours was large enough for two with a private bath, hot-hot water shower, and comfy beds. On the 4th floor, we didn't hear much road noise through the night and slept well. Would have appreciated a small coffee maker in the room. Helpful staff. Comfortable lounge with Wi-Fi. Clean and affordable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was very pleased with this value hotel. It is small, but it is perfect for crashing at night. I stayed with my husband and child and had a room with two double beds. It was not as small as I expected, yet the employee said he gave me 'the bigger room' so I must have had more space than some. I showered at night and there was always hot water then. There was shampoo/soap provided. The room was comfy/clean. Nice beds/modeern artwork/paint. It did not feel like a dive to me at all. Housekeeping was awesome - always came while we were out. The employees were very courteous answering my emails before arrival, accommodating requests and always saying hello/good night when we entered the building each day. The way other guests complained about the stairs, I thought it would be a nightmare, but not at all. There are just two flights to get into the building. Any healthy individual should be able to go up two flights of steps for sure. If your room is higher, you will have more steps but no biggie after you pause in the lobby if needed. They do not have any coffee in the rooms so I ducked into Starbucks downstairs. We went to the subway station right outside numerous times (to Times Square/Battery Park/etc) and walked to Central Park down the street(about 1/2 mile if I had to guess). We took a cab to this hotel from LGA (LaGuardia Airport) and it was about $40 one way. I would definitely recommend the hotel. It would not be a good place if you were just planning to 'stay in' all week but who does that in NYC? Thank you Hotel Marrakech!

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs, ask for a low floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have just returned from a 6 night stay at this hotel and have no complaints. No it wasn't the best hotel I've ever stayed in but it's also not the worst. The room was small but cosy and adequate for the amount of time I spent in it. The location was good with the subway situated right outside the hotel it was really easy to get around. I had fresh towels every day, staff were very friendly and helpful - what more could you want. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamlash, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Marakech was a lovely wee Hotel. Situated on the upper west side of Central Park on Broadway. It's not close to the hub bub of downtown Manhattan BUT we knew that before we went. Cost wise it was brilliant & was bought as a package flying with American Airlines who were also brilliant. The Marakech was clean & tidy if a little tired. Our room was ample for the stay, a twin bedded room with queen beds & ensuite bathroom. The room was cleaned every day & clean towels left. Plenty of good sized bath towels. The Staff (all staff) were amazing, they made the Hotel what it is. Very helpful, polite, nothing was too much trouble, they were interested in our days out, what we had done or had planned. My friend is learning Spanish & a couple of the staff spoke in Spanish to her at her request so that she could practice. The Hotel has a lot of Stairs with no lifts but our luggage was carried to & from our rooms, pleasantly & quickly. Highly recommend this little Hotel if you don't mind staying just outside the vacinity of downtown Manhattan. The train station is very close by, we bought Metro tickets for the week & buzzed about on the underground & busses with no trouble at all. An ideal way to get about, the underground is really easy to understand too. Central Park is just a couple of blocks away from the Hotel & took us about an hour at a slow pace to walk to St Columbus Cirle 59th Street. A big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable & memorable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lailo1 @ Utopia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here June 2013. Service was great, the staff were helpful as long as you don't ask them to call you a cab to the airport, get the airport shuttle. Staff was friendly and always happy to help, rooms and bathroom were well cleaned daily, free bathroom bath soaps, lofty towels.
Stairs were ok, as the staff assited in getting your bags up and down the stairs. Wi-Fi in reception area by the bar only. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

For our 1st trip to New York, my partner and I scanned reviews to find a suitably priced (yet recommended) hotel within walking distance of Central Park and Manhattan. We came across the Marrakech Hotel on Broadway and read several reviews - many of them described the hotel as basic but friendly. The photographs of the room, along with the facilities described on their website, swayed the decision so we booked our 6 night get-away and had an exciting 4 months wait before we flew.

After a pleasant flight and a not-so-bad taxi ride to the hotel ($70 including tolls and tips) we were both looking forward to an hour or so chill in the Deluxe room whilst we freshened up. We had already been forewarned about the flight of narrow stairs upto the reception (there are no lifts in this hotel) and we were greeted by very friendly and welcoming reception staff and presented with our room keys. (This is where you enter the Bates Motel !!! - We opened the door to our room (a Deluxe room I hasten to add) only to find it was sooooo dark I had to feel for the lightswitch (bare in mind it was 2pm and sunny outside). On switching on the light we were disheartened to find a dishevelled room with torn curtains, a stained carpet, rickety wardrobe and ... wait for it... a brickwall no more than 2feet away from the window (this would explain why there was no daylight in the room!). The photo on the website resembled nothing to the room we had been given apart from the Picture hanging on the wall. I have stayed in better flea-pits in London - I felt we had made a big mistake booking the Marrakesh! On a positive not, the bedding was clean - My partner and I agreed to give it till the following morning before making any rash decisions.

So, in the morning was shower time! A nice warm, refreshing shower perhaps! Nope. Not a chance. There was a shower (and a clean bathroom) but hot water wasn't on the menu and once the shower was on there was no way to shut the water off again... added to that the noise of pneumatic drill/digger where the plumbing was so bad this was becoming a hotel from Hell.

A polite request to be moved to a room which resembled the one we had booked (and preferably one with windows that let light in) was made and by the end of the day we had a marginally better room. Yes, the room had windows which overlooked the Street and no the shower didnt make a horrible noise but we still only had warm water at best (although the basin managed to get hot) and the toilet cistern was broken so the lid had to be removed everytime it was flushed so it could re-fill.

Ipod docking stations and HDTVs are all in the imagination. The rooms do NOT have either of these - We did have a TV but it was definitely not HD and the remote control in our new room didn't work. (not that the TV was on much but it was background noise in the morning whilst getting ready to evacuate the hotel)

Location-wise, it is Upper West-Side and roughly 40-50 minutes walk to the bottom of Central Park - Plenty to see whilst your walking so the distance wasn't really an issue and there is a lovely diner just 5 minutes walk from the Hotel (Metro Diner). Turn right as you leave the hotel and there is a Starbucks next door... 20meters up the road is the Subway which will take you to Times Square in 20 minutes.

Oh... there aren't any safes in the rooms so you have to pay a premium rate for the Hotel to look after your valuables

...and one final recommendation... if you stay here, TAKE EARPLUGS !

All in all this is a very basic hotel (and i use the word 'hotel' very loosely)- if you can find a few extra pennies and avoid staying here it will be well worth it.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay at the Marrakesh Hotel - Avoid room 213 - this was our 1st room and was awful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Marrakech Hotel on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel on Broadway 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City,all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Budget Places, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Marrakech Hotel on Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Hotel on Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.