We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Save Saved
You added Marrakech Hotel on Broadway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #339 of 451 hotels in New York City
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“NYC 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, which was not the norm in many outlets in NYC. Close to subway. Amenities basic but good value for money. Shower not always very hot. Some cheap restaurants close by with tasty food. Five minute walk from Central Park. Steep steps with no lift so not suitable for those with mobility issues. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel on Broadway, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hey there Miles65uk,

I'm very glad you enjoyed your time with us. All of our staff members strive to make our guests feel like they are a part of our company, and we will always treat you with friendliness and respect. One of the best aspects of our location is the short walk to central park and the small and intimate restaurants in the area! Im glad you got to enjoy those things during your visit. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future if you ever need any help with reservations please feel free to contact me at a.perez@marrakechhotelnyc.com and I will gladly assist you.

Thanks again for your review!

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    315
    233
    109
    132
See reviews for
147
347
77
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The rooms are very small, but this is NYC! Really enjoyed the lounging area and overall ambience. There is no lift, but who doesn't need a bit of excercise! We thought the price quite reasonable for NY, and there is a subway stop right out the door. Everything you need is nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel on Broadway, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello Trinity03,

Thank you for your response! I agree that Kazbar is a nice way to unwind in the evenings after a long day touring the city. I'm very happy that you enjoyed your time with us! Enjoy the upcoming holidays and we hope to see you again.

Best wishes,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

First, the bad things: as other reviews have pointed out there is no lift/elevator so it's a potential 5 floor walk to your room. Rooms are on the small side with maybe very little view and it can get noisy as walls are not very thick.

However!

NYC accommodation is generally v. expensive. Marrakech is pretty good value in this context. Location is very good - nice neighbourhood, very close to No 1. subway 103rd st station, not far from Central Park. Staff are polite and friendly. We did have WiFi reception in our room which was on the 3rd floor.

Bottom line: a great "budget" option for those looking for a hotel in a good area. Would definitely stay again. Those looking for a 4 star experience may be disappointed but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel on Broadway, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hey internal_error,

Thank you for your response. Unfortunately due to our property being located in a historic building (Our building dates back to 1912!) we were not able to include elevators. We do offer 24/hr bellmen service and they will see to it that you do not have to carry even a shopping bag up the stairs! We hope you enjoyed your time in residence with us nonetheless.

Best,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel for one week from 19-26th August 2013. After reading reviews on here, i was a little apprehensive turning up to the hotel. For the price you pay, i really don't know what some people expect.
Staff were extremely friendly,rooms were clean, no noise throughout the night, spacious rooms and hot running water in the bathroom...what more do you need! Our rooms were made up everyday!
Yes corridors are a little bit dark and the air-con is slightly noisy, but it definitely wouldn't put me off staying their again.
Although their are no lifts, all stairs have handrails and their are people to help you before you even ask.
Overall, a fantastic hotel and would definitely stay their again.

Make sure you buy a subway pass, only $31 for a week. 1 subway away from times square!

Brilliant hotel location. Lovely neighbourhood with plenty to do.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel on Broadway, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hey Sami_wolkowski!

We are really happy you enjoyed your time with us. What makes our location so special to me is that you are away from the tourist areas while still being able to access the subway so easily and reach most NYC sites in just minutes! Im very happy you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating we strive to make all of our guests feel like they are part of our family. We hope to see you again and that you enjoy the upcoming holidays.

Best wishes,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Here are the facts:
No Elevator
Steep Climb up to the lobby... and no one to help with the bags... ladys stay away.
Air Conditioned by window units - The AC in my room was not cooling.
Advertised as a boutique hotel. The lobby looks like a boutique hotel BUT the room was a lower grade than a Motel 8. Motel 8 would be a step up.
I could hear everything in the next room... I mean everything.
The floors are squeaky.
I could hear everyone walking by at 3 AM... people getting back to the hotel...in the morning I could hear the cleaning people complaining about the room they were cleaning and running back and forth. If you are looking to relax and maybe sleep in... this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: No elevators Sqeuaky floors... no chance of sleeping in. Rude women at the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel on Broadway, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello nwtx1503,

Thank you for posting your review. I apologize if our staff was not accommodating to you, we offer bellman service 24/hrs a day and strive to be as friendly and helpful as possible to our guests. I will bring this up to them so that they can make sure to be 100% helpful to everyone at all times! We hope you enjoy the upcoming holidays.

Best,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently during my first trip to New York. I'm from California and used to buildings being ADA compliant. This hotel is not. There are no elevators at all or ramps. Most of the rooms are upstairs from the lobby, which is also upstairs. The room that was originally booked for my stay was cozy, borderline claustrophobic and there wasn't an option for early check-in which is inconvenient if you arrive in the morning. However, the staff is amazing. Let me say that again. The staff is AMAZING! Especially Marie and Adam. These two helped to accommodate me every day of the visit. I was moved to a bigger room with no charge and Marie just makes everyone fee at home. The bell boys are top of the line. They work so hard lugging luggage up and down all the stairs all day and night. And if you are new to the area, these are the guys to talk to. For the most part, i enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel on Broadway, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello suchadiva1,

Thank you so much for your review! I will make sure to show it to Adam and Marie as well as our bellmen who will be more than pleased to know that they made your stay so comfortable. I am happy that Marie was able to change you to a more spacious room, most of our rooms are the same size but different set ups which works differently with different guests. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Happy holidays,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Awful, awful, awful...
Find a better place for your money...dirty, old, no elevator and no help with luggage up 5 floors ... No wifi in rooms and wifi very slow in the lobby...
Paid way too much for what I got.

And if you are getting your feet dirty on the carpet in your room- you know you are in the wrong place:(.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marrakech Hotel on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel on Broadway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City,all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelBookers, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Marrakech Hotel on Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Hotel on Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.