We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Marrakech Hotel on Broadway to your Saves list
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #341 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Horrible, horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Here are the facts:
No Elevator
Steep Climb up to the lobby... and no one to help with the bags... ladys stay away.
Air Conditioned by window units - The AC in my room was not cooling.
Advertised as a boutique hotel. The lobby looks like a boutique hotel BUT the room was a lower grade than a Motel 8. Motel 8 would be a step up.
I could hear everything in the next room... I mean everything.
The floors are squeaky.
I could hear everyone walking by at 3 AM... people getting back to the hotel...in the morning I could hear the cleaning people complaining about the room they were cleaning and running back and forth. If you are looking to relax and maybe sleep in... this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: No elevators Sqeuaky floors... no chance of sleeping in. Rude women at the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel on Broadway, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello nwtx1503,

Thank you for posting your review. I apologize if our staff was not accommodating to you, we offer bellman service 24/hrs a day and strive to be as friendly and helpful as possible to our guests. I will bring this up to them so that they can make sure to be 100% helpful to everyone at all times! We hope you enjoy the upcoming holidays.

Best,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    364
    258
    120
    135
See reviews for
168
388
81
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently during my first trip to New York. I'm from California and used to buildings being ADA compliant. This hotel is not. There are no elevators at all or ramps. Most of the rooms are upstairs from the lobby, which is also upstairs. The room that was originally booked for my stay was cozy, borderline claustrophobic and there wasn't an option for early check-in which is inconvenient if you arrive in the morning. However, the staff is amazing. Let me say that again. The staff is AMAZING! Especially Marie and Adam. These two helped to accommodate me every day of the visit. I was moved to a bigger room with no charge and Marie just makes everyone fee at home. The bell boys are top of the line. They work so hard lugging luggage up and down all the stairs all day and night. And if you are new to the area, these are the guys to talk to. For the most part, i enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarrakechHotel, Manager at Marrakech Hotel on Broadway, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hello suchadiva1,

Thank you so much for your review! I will make sure to show it to Adam and Marie as well as our bellmen who will be more than pleased to know that they made your stay so comfortable. I am happy that Marie was able to change you to a more spacious room, most of our rooms are the same size but different set ups which works differently with different guests. We do hope to see you again in the future.

Happy holidays,

Angely P.
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Awful, awful, awful...
Find a better place for your money...dirty, old, no elevator and no help with luggage up 5 floors ... No wifi in rooms and wifi very slow in the lobby...
Paid way too much for what I got.

And if you are getting your feet dirty on the carpet in your room- you know you are in the wrong place:(.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Convenient to a recent wedding in the area, and for access to the city . Need to be "healthy" to navigate to the lobby and rooms with slender stairwells and small spaces. Gracious staff was very helpful to help us coordinate with family events as well as recommend best navigation around city to interesting spots to tour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bat Yam, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The first impression is a terrible one. A steep slope stair case just to reach the lobby. Very hard to do w/ 3 suitcases.
The receptionists are ranged from helpful to rude... Not fully focused on service.
However, for a budget place, one cannot argue too much.
The rooms are very old and the building looks like it's going to fall apart very soon. Squeaky floors and staircases. Some rooms have an unbearable noisy A/C.
It's located near a subway station so everything is nearby. Including a 10 minute walk to Central Park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 6 days at the Marrakech Hotel. Very handy location to the trains, area safe to walk around late at night with children. Small rooms but we stayed as a family of four and still had room for all the shopping we do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Marrakech Hotel is located near the 103rd street, very convenient for travellers like me who take the subway around NYC. Marrakech Hotel has free wifi and it gives people great Internet access even from rooms. Access to lobby is a little difficult though. No elevators so stairs only. You will have to carry your baggage up to the lobby and the second level. There are helpful bellboys to help you do so. There are supermarkets and fastfood restaurants nearby so basic amenities can be purchased in the vicinity.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marrakech Hotel on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel on Broadway 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City,all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marrakech Hotel on Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Hotel on Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.