We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Marrakech Hotel on Broadway to your Saves list
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #341 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Devon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just returned from NY this morning after staying at the Marrakech. Have to admit to being a bit worried at all the negative reviews but needn't have been concerned. Yes the rooms are smallish and there is no elevator but in New York you don't really stay in the room. Bed was comfortable, room was clean as was bathroom, room was made up every day, staff were super friendly and location was great. Near the 1 train, great diners nearby, couldn't ask for better, particularly at the price. Would recommend and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the next level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    364
    258
    120
    135
See reviews for
168
388
81
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My Husband and I stayed her for 4 nights in October. We had looked at the photos and were looking forward to staying there. Unfortunately the rooms were dirty (there was dust visible on the carpet), and the sheets did not look or smell clean. The rooms are small, dark and cold, and there isn't much space to store your clothes. (We were given a portable heater to put in our room). There isn't any wifi in the rooms or a lift. The bathroom is small and very dated, and to top it off we had a cold shower for 3 out of the four days we stayed there.

We had complained to the Manager about the lack of hot water for showers and it was obvious this was during peak usage times in the hotel. Initially the Manager accused us of lying about the lack of hot water, and eventually accepted that we would not be making this up!! We had asked for some compensation from the hotel for this and the Manager told us that he would email the agency we booked through as we did not book directly with the hotel. The Manager promised he would get back to us with some measure of compensation, however he never got back to us. On our return to the UK I emailed the hotel again and to this date I have not had a response or any compensation. The customer service for this hotel is very poor and I would highly recommend that other travellers consider other hotels rather than wasting their money on staying here if they are looking for a good hotel for a holiday.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I'm not sure what people are expecting when they pay budget rates in New York. It is not Malmaison, it does not have room service, a bar or restaurant but it does exactly what is says on the label. We ended up staying here for 9 nights as we got caught in Hurricane Sandy. The staff were great. Friendly,helpful and worked really hard sorting people out who had either had flights back cancelled like us or who were looking for a hotel when the power went out in lower Manhattan. Our room (44 I think) was fine, large enough and yes small bathroom but we are not in NYC to waste money on a hotel! Great area. Two blocks over to the West and you are in the parks running alongside the Hudson. 10 minutes to the East and you are in Central Park. Walk North and you get to Columbia Uni and further over Harlem. Quick tip - don't go shopping in Fifth Avenue - go up to 124th street In Harlem. Loads of great shops at much lower prices. As many have said it is right next to the subway - Starbucks downstairs for morning coffee - down Broadway try the Metro Diner for Breakfast. "Smoke" nearby is a great Jazz bar and the "Dive bar on Broadway was a personal favourite. Don't miss the Hungarian Coffee Shop - I think it was on Amsterdam but the guide books will tell you. Some lovely shops, bars, restaurants around (Check out Prohibition). If you want room service, are planning on spending a long time in your hotel or want all that large hotels or up market boutique hotels offer then this is not for you. If you just want somewhere to lay your head for the night that's clean (and has the rooms cleaned every day) because you are going to spend every waking hour out in the city then the Marrakesh is a good budget option.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading Uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My friend and I recently stayed at this "hotel" for six nights . The location of the place is the only good thing about it. On arrival as soon as I saw the entrance my heart sank, it looked so bad....but after I climbed up the endless stairs and saw our "deluxe" room, I almost cried, it looked like one of those hostels you see in films where you will be lucky to survive a whole night. The noise of the pipes and water system its so loud that I thought my friend sharing the room with me had decided to have a shower at 3 am, but no, she wasn't, everytime anyone in their rooms flush the toilet or wash their hands or had a shower it was like it was happening in the middle of our room!.
There were chunks of the wall, stains on the carpet and a roaches in the bathroom!
The staff were quite inmature, chatting to each other all the time instead of helping customers. I loved the time we had in New York, and if I am completely honest it was quite amusing to come back every night to that dive and find more things wrong with it, the only thing I didn't find funny was the price.....it should be priced as a very low quality hostel.....

Ana

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Double caution - I booked two rooms through get-a-room.com (where I had previously had a good experience) and told them that I needed one room with a walk out shower for my 85 year old mother who was traveling with us. She is not handicapped or in a wheel chair, just can't maneuver in and out of a bath tub. They do have rooms with a walk out shower, but you would think that either Marrakech or get-a-room could have told me that not only does the hotel not have an elevator, but you need to climb two long flight of stairs just to get to the lobby to check in! And, the day we checked in, one of those rooms wasn't available on the lobby level so it would have meant even more stairs! Rather than just trying to sell rooms, one or the other should have cared enough to actually listen to the client's needs. Not acceptable.

I agree with the traveler who characterized this as an upgraded hostel - small rooms (some REALLY small and dark/cave-like), noisy halls, no amenities, etc. A couple of positive notes: I found the rooms clean enough, but the highest marks go to the staff - professional, polite - bell staff in particular could not have been more helpful. Too bad whoever took the call from get-a-room originally couldn't have mentioned that an 85 year old woman may have some issues with their many flights of steps.

I made the mistake of not reading Tripadvisor in advance - that won't happen again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you are looking for a real hotel then this is not the place, But if you agree to settle upgraded hostel then you will find it here. The rooms are small, one person is fine but for two persons the room has not enough space. I do not understand the part of the hotel with dim lighting, why you can not put a strong lamp? The bathroom looked used too much (bring slippers), And hear everything that happens in the hallway (bring earplugs). Like I said it's closer to a hostel than a hotel. For a relatively cheap price and location it's reasonable price I was willing to pay. Have to commend the staff that functions well and are polite and helpful in every direction and orientation in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voecklabruck, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a nice hotel for 2-5 days in NYC!

We had a stay in NYC for sightseeing before to go to our University in Potsdam, NY and it was really a good place to stay.

+ Good location, clean, good service, cheap

-No elevator, AC very loud and slow WiFi

All in all it is a nice hotel for a reasonable price!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marrakech Hotel on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel on Broadway 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City,all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marrakech Hotel on Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Hotel on Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.