We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Upper West Side Location to See NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Marrakech Hotel on Broadway to your Saves list
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #341 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Whitby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Upper West Side Location to See NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the Marrakech Hotel from July 21st - 25th, and enjoyed or stay there.

The hotel itself has an nice updated look (reception/lounge/lobby),
and rooms were equally appointed. We had a room (with a queen bed),
was compact in size, but the important things (cleanliness, air conditioning etc)
were very good.

For those considering renting: only real negative is the walk up required from
to lobby from street level (no elevators). Main positives are location (quieter UWS),
#1 Line subway location almost right outside the hotel entrance and the friendly staff.

For those on a budget, the M60 Bus route from LaGuardia to the UWS
ends 3 blocks north (106th Street) of the Marrakech, per person fare is $2.25.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    364
    258
    120
    135
See reviews for
168
388
81
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Marrakech Hotel from August 23 - 26 and had a great experience! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the price can't be beat. The location is a little more uptown than most people like to stay, but there's a subway station right outside the door for the 1 train, which is incredibly convenient. Yes, there are a lot of stairs, but the staff are more than happy to carry bags for you.

Our room was small, but clean. We didn't show up expecting a huge, luxurious room. We wanted somewhere clean to sleep, which is what we got. If you want to spent lots of time lounging around at your hotel, this might not be the place for you, but if you want a homebase to keep your stuff while you're out exploring the city, and then somewhere to come back to crash, than this place is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was alot nicer than we expected- but in all fairness, its definately not handy that they dont have a lift for trailling luggage up and down. The staff were very helpful though and were more than enthusiastic to take bags up and down. The room was a bit cosy, once your luggage is in its a bit tight, but we were definately happy with it. Overall i would stay at this hotel again, aslong as your ok with not too much space, this hotel would be ideal.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We spent 6 nights in NYC at the Marrakech Hotel. There are so many positives about this hotel, the location being a big one for us as we weren't that fussed on being in Midtown amongst the hectic tourist traffic but needed to still be close by. Staying on the Upper West Side worked well as it's a bit more quieter in terms of foot traffic and road traffic. We felt totally safe walking around even in the early hours of the morning and there is always somewhere open for you to get a bite to eat as the hotel doesn't have a restaurant.
The Marrakech is very conveniently located right beside the 103 stop on line 1 Metro. It will take you about 10-15 mins max to get to 42nd street (Times Square) from this stop once on the train.
The cost of the hotel was another big factor as to why we booked the Marrakech. We got what we paid for in the size of the room, it was a bit of a shock after our previous hotel in another city but hotels in NYC are expensive so this was an excellent option for us trying to keep the cost down. There is way to much to do in NYC so we won't be in your room all that much anyway.
There are a fair few stairs (no lift) when you enter the hotel but the staff are happy to help you take your luggage up. The hot water didn't work the first morning but after talking to staff there were no more problems with this again. The aircon unit was so noisy we had to lean things against it to stop it from rattling. The hotel offers free wifi but Starbuck's is next door and their wifi is much better.
The staff truly are extremely helpful and friendly, they make the experience so much more enjoyable. We were not disappointed staying here.

Location info:
There is a 24 hour grocery store called Gristedes (blue awning) on the same side of the road as the Marrakech on the next block up (about 2-3 stores up from the corner).
Just a few blocks back from Central Park if you want to walk there from the hotel or take metro to 59th.
A Laundromat is located on 104th, around the corner from Riteaide, only takes quarters and costs $2.50 per wash and same for dryer. 75 cents for washing powder.
If you like jazz, visit Smoke Jazz Club approx 2 blocks up on left side (during the week nights Mon-Wed will not have a cover charge but ask for a minimum spend as the venue is small). We had an excellent night at this Jazz bar!!
Five Lamps Tavern, approx 2 blocks on right side, is a great pub with good food.
If you like craft beer, visit the dive bar on the same side of the road as the Marrakech about 2-3 blocks down. Super cheap to buy beers to go but a cute little bar to stay for a drink.

Room Tip: If you want a bit more space, book the Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at the Marrakech August 24-29th. We were happy to be greeted by VERY FRIENDLY staff. Yes, the rooms are small but suit your needs perfectly as all you need in New York City is a place to rest your head. The location is great, on the upper east side and the subway is just right outside your door and you can get anywhere very quickly.Clean rooms, comfy bed, air conditioned rooms,friendly staff. It was a great stay and we will be staying here again on our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Having read some less than complimentary reviews of the hotel, I was really surprised (and relieved) to find a welcoming and clean environment. Yes, the corridors are narrow - adds to the charm, you only have to walk along them! Yes, the room was small - a queen sized (very comfortable) bed with about 2ft either side but this is New York and what do you expect for less than $100 a night? The TV was massive and full of channels. The bathroom was clean and the shower enormous (with an amusingly erratic control!) The ceiling fan was sufficient to cool the room - the air conditioning unit was rather noisy so we only blasted it for a few minutes when first into the room. The staff were friendly and helpful (and, I think, rather amused by us as we were having such fun!). The location is great - right at the top of the subway stairs - and the Starbucks below the hotel stays open until 11pm. Would definitely go back :) Note to those with stair climbing issues - the stairs are steep, narrow and there is no lift. I'm not at all fit but I managed!

Room Tip: Room at the back had absolutely no street noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week on our honeymoon. The location is perfect right near the subway and in a lovely part of NYC near restaurants, bars, and several grocery stores. The place is not the fanciest but it is clean and trendy. Our room seamed to be recently renovated and was very nice and clean. The room service was suspect at times but nothing too bad. It was cooled with a window unit that worked very well. Also, the stairs are NOT a big deal as other reviewers would have you believe. It was like having a house with a second story. Geeze, quit your whining.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marrakech Hotel on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Hotel on Broadway

Address: 2688 Broadway, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marrakech Hotel on Broadway 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the pageantry, color, and welcoming allure of Morocco hotels - in one of New York Manhattan's trendiest emerging neighborhoods. Situated on the Upper West Side, the Marrakech Hotel boasts a chic design, NYC hotel accommodations, and a fantastic location in beautiful New York City,all at an attractive price. Walk up one flight into our vibrant NYC hotel lobby, filled with ceramic tiling, authentic Moroccan lamps, and colorful ottomans and tables - ideal for relaxing by yourself or hanging out with friends. Spread out in comfortable, exotically designed guest rooms. And once you've unpacked, explore the wonders of the Big Apple. The NYC subway is directly outside the hotel, just a short ride to New York downtown attractions such as New York City Times Square and NYC Fifth Avenue. Our hotel accommodations feature upscale amenities such as flat-screen TVs, plush, European bed linens, and CD clock radios. You can also enjoy high-speed Internet access, daily maid service, and a laundry valet service. You'll feel so pampered in our hotel that you'll forget you're traveling on a budget! Looking to refresh yourself after a day of sightseeing? Perhaps you're getting ready for a night on the town? Your hotel room bathroom is equipped with fine Ecco bath products, as well as a shower with a soothing massage head - creating a truly rejuvenating experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marrakech Hotel on Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Hotel New York City
Hotel Marrakech New York
Marrakech New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Hotel on Broadway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.