We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff and great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgans New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Morgans New York Hotel to your Saves list
Morgans New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #107 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
“Amazing staff and great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I came for one night with two young children (7 and 9) and we stayed only one night. The hotel is very nice even if there is no lobby. The location is great and the street is not too noisy. In addition, you have the breakfast included. The staff was extremely nice and welcoming. For our family the queen size bed was a little small, but as it was for only one night, we manage, no problem. I will come back.

Room Tip: The rooms on Madison street are closer to the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    441
    105
    29
    14
See reviews for
187
676
111
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel is nicely situated in between Central Park and downtown. Our room had a great view of the Empire state building and breakfast in the lobby is very nice. The staff are all friendly and very helpful and helped arrange a host of events for us such as transport/helicopter trips etc. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try get a room on the top floors for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Morgans is not flashy- but it goes out of its way to please. We had a three-person suite, and it was extremely roomy for NYC. The room had a lot of storage and was designed with a traveler in mind. The service was especially attentive and my kids loved the breakfast. Chocolate croissants will always win the day. Free Wi-Fi was also popular with the teens. The hotel has all day coffee and tea available to guests gratis, which was a bonus on the windy spring days we visited. The hotel is situated next to the Morgan Library for east visited. I used this location to travel up and down the east side, touring the Met, Guggenheim and Frick.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We chose to stay at Morgans as we wanted somewhere that was central with easy access across Manhattan. What a lovely hotel in such a nice upmarket neighbourhood away from the madding crowds. We had a lovely light filled room on the 14th floor that was both spacious and practical with a shower - no great views but then we would not really expect any in this part of town. The breakfast was excellent with a decent range of fresh juice, fresh bakery, cereals and yogurts. We could pick up a hot drink whenever we wanted at no extra charge to take to our room. Free wifi throughout the hotel including in our rooms was a bonus. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful for local restaurant knowledge and bookings as required. The place was spotless, both in the public areas and in the rooms. A real boutique hotel experience. We would be happy to stay there again; indeed we doubt that we would stay anywhere else when in Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Morgans was the quietest, most discreet of the original Shrager boutique hotels. It's still quiet and discreet, but it has lost its lustre and been overtaken by newer boutique hotels.

Sure, it's still very convenient and the staff are still remarkably friendly, but it's looking worn at the edges: rusty shower doors which don't close and so flood the bathroom, raggedy carpet, scuffed elevators, references to iPod docks which don't exist. There's neither room service nor kettles in the room, so you have to go through the hotel to get coffee. That said, breakfast is good.

I used to love it, but I won't stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back (not on Madison Avenue) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Excellent location, the people are dedicated on your happiness and fulfill all your needs
Regular Rooms are a little tight
Make sure to ask for an upgrade, some of the rooms on the upper are awesome !

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Meeting expectations. Breakfast included in the price.Not too noisy - even on lower floors. Bus stop right in front of the door and very near to Grand Central. All locations are reasonably close by foot.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgans New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans New York Hotel

Address: 237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#79 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#97 Business Hotel in New York City
#108 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment it opened its doors on Madison Avenue in New York City, Morgans startled the world with a convention-shattering attitude and distinctive design sensibility, concocted by legendary designer Andree Putman. Again in 2008, Morgans unveiled Andree Putman's powerful reinterpretation of the first "boutique hotel" that propels Morgans' spirit forward without changing its unique character. Other features include a state of the art fitness center. Conveniently located in midtown Manhattan, Morgans is just steps to Grand Central Station, Macy's Herald Square, and The Morgan Library Museum. Morgans offers complimentary Continental breakfast and wireless internet access to every hotel guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Morgans New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel New York City
Morgans New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgans New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.