We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many thanks!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgans New York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Morgans New York Hotel to your Saves list
Morgans New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #103 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Many thanks!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I would like to thank the personnel of this hotel for the hospitality/ Special thanks for Nubia Quintela - the best rooms manager! And sorry for the delay , but after almost year i am keeping the warmest feelings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments - better late than never! I must say, I do resent it sometimes when reviewers give us a not so good review a year later but I do not mind if it is a good review! Okay, so I am only human and sometimes not very logical!

I do hope you return some day soon.

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    390
    100
    26
    14
See reviews for
167
631
105
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Just come back from staying in the Morgans Hotel. It's got to be one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Beautiful room with super comfy bed, the most welcoming and friendliest staff I've met and a lovely breakfast with plenty to choose from. I thought the Morgans Hotel was perfect location with it only being a couple blocks away from Fifth Avenue and Times Square. Would highly recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay here again when I go back to New York. Big thanks to everyone at Morgans Hotel from Kate & Mark :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. I think we scored for you on all points - good service, location, breakfast - GOAL!

This makes me very happy indeed and I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Morgans is a fantastic stylish hotel in Midtown and was the perfect hotel for us. It's not far from Grand Central Station and within walking distance of 5th Ave. They gave us an awesome room with a view of the Empire State and surprised us with a bottle of champagne to celebrate our marriage! We loved the style of our room, great bed and the en suite was superb. It also had an iPod dock which was fantastic. The Reserve bar was also very stylish and did a nice little breakfast before we headed out into the city. All staff were very helpful and friendly making us feel very welcome for the duration of our stay. Will definitely come back when we get the chance! (or have paid the bills for the amount of shopping we did). Can't recommend enough, Thank You Morgans :D

Room Tip: Rooms facing Madison have a great view but naturally are noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much! I hope your life together is as perfect as your Honeymoon and we expect to see you back here for an Anniversary!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Recommended by close relatives, we selected this hotel to celebrate our anniversary. We had a pleasant stay in this cozy boutique hotel. Excellent service, very quite, clean rooms, modern decor and comfortable beds assured us a perfect vacation. Just four blocks away from Grand Central Station where you can catch the subway to any part of the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
What a testimony! How wonderful that we were able to be part of your perfect vacation! I hope we created some lasting memories for you and that you will return to see us again.

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed at the Morgan while in New York for business in October 2013. Luckily this included a weekend which enabled some free time to enjoy New York again.
Firstly the Morgan's exterior is unassuming with no obvious signage. Once inside this boutique establishment all the front desk staff and bellboys were very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is in an excellent location allowing easy access to much of mid-town's many attractions and dining options.
The rooms themselves are modern, well appointed, comfortable and importantly, quiet!
Breakfast was served in the pleasant dining area and is worthwhile.
The whole stay was enjoyable.
I had a problem with the AC in my original room and the hotel staff were very accommodating trying to fix the problem and then eventually changing my room the next day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Yes, the entrance is rather discreet and has a residential feel. That was the original intention of Morgans - that you feel a bit like a 'local' rather than a visitor. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will select us again for your next business trip to New York!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Sorry for the belated review, busy times.
We stayed here November 23 to 27 (checking out on 28th, Thanksgiving Day), booked through Booking.com with what we felt were great prices (others of similar grade were a lot more expensive, or same price and one/two grades lower).
Checking in after a long flight, we were delighted to be upgraded to a suite with an eighth floor view of the Empire State Building. What a perfect start to NYC life! And then the prosecco came... Could this hotel be any better?
The bedroom alone would have been a good size for a city break base, but with the added living room it was so spacious. Our bed was so comfy, just what was needed after long, tiring days sightseeing. Loved the toiletries (the shampoo and conditioner even worked on my curly hair!) and powerful shower.
We had a busy itinerary, with early starts but we were able to get breakfast every morning from the delicious selection on offer. And the takeaway hot drinks were so welcome when it was rather chilly outside - especially getting our spot on 6th for the Macy's parade on the last morning. (One tiny thing, although we understand it's a busy time, it would have been nice to have been allowed to extend our check out by an hour to see the end of the parade... My husband dashed back to get us out of the room. We did ask but no go).
It's in a great location, not the most central, but it suited us. We enjoyed the walk to and from central midtown (15mins), via Bryant Park's winter village - with lots of yummy snacks.
And a special mention for #morgansconcierge on Twitter, answering a couple of questions before we came and getting us even more excited about our trip.
Thank you for helping to make our NYC debut so memorable and comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. First of all, I admire you for going to the Parade. It was not a warm day! I remember going as a kid but have not been for many years.

The best part of your review is to know that we were able to create a great memory for you - that makes me so happy.

By the way, I too have curly hair and it is rare that anything works for me - glad to hear that our shampoo and conditioner lived up to your expectations!

Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ongar, Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We did a lot of research on Tripadvisor before choosing our NY hotel (this was our 1st visit to the city), it was worth the effort as we were very pleased with our choice, Morgans is a small boutique style hotel & on arrival we were greeted by a very friendly bellman who helped us with our luggage from the taxi, the receptionist was also welcoming.
The rooms were not large but not tiny either, they were as expected, beds were a little on the soft side, the bathroom was tiny but perfectly formed with a lovely large & powerful shower & most importantly clean, the only comment I would make is that the tile grout needs re-doing. The room had adequate space for clothes for 2 people for a short stay, it also has a safe, an iron/ironing board & a stocked fridge (although pricey) next door is a supermarket for drinks much cheaper. As said before in other reviews, we found the A/C fairly noisy, although road noise was not an issue (10th floor at the back of the hotel). The one big thing missing in the room for me was tea/coffee facilities (especially when you have a very early flight to catch & the breakfast room is not open yet), there is plenty of room for this above the fridge so maybe this is something the management could consider.
Buffet continental breakfast was included in our price which was great, good choice, plenty of it & served in a lovely modern, newly fitted lounge area.
As we had a very early start on departure day we wanted to be sure of transport to the airport so we spoke to the manager & Johny the bell boy arranged a fantastic modern cadillac to pick us up at 5.30am, the cost to Newark was $100 which was not much more than a regular dirty yellow cab, soooooo worth it!! Luxury.
Location was very central & perfect for everything! we would definately recommend this hotel & stay again when visiting NY, great value.
P.S The hotel name is not displayed outside so you have to go by the road & number when telling the taxi driver (237 Madison Ave).

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel may be noisy, due to being roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! I agree that it is often worth getting a private car to the airport - especially at rush hour!

I wish we could put coffee / tea making facilities in our rooms but it is so much more difficult than it sounds although I cannot explain the reasons online - suffice it to say that this is New York and things are complicated!

We do offer coffee and tea all day in our Lounge as an alternative.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgans New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans New York Hotel

Address: 237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#79 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Family Hotel in New York City
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment it opened its doors on Madison Avenue in New York City, Morgans startled the world with a convention-shattering attitude and distinctive design sensibility, concocted by legendary designer Andree Putman. Again in 2008, Morgans unveiled Andree Putman's powerful reinterpretation of the first "boutique hotel" that propels Morgans' spirit forward without changing its unique character. Other features include a state of the art fitness center. Conveniently located in midtown Manhattan, Morgans is just steps to Grand Central Station, Macy's Herald Square, and The Morgan Library Museum. Morgans offers complimentary Continental breakfast and wireless internet access to every hotel guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Morgans New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel New York City
Morgans New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgans New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.