We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel in midtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgans New York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Morgans New York Hotel to your Saves list
Morgans New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #102 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Paris, France
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Fantastic boutique hotel in midtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I'm a New Yorker currently living abroad. My husband and I were back to NYC for a visit and stayed at the Morgans. We couldn't be more pleased. Charming staff, clean modern rooms in good taste, and a lovely breakfast in the penthouse with a view of the Empire State Building included in the price.

Well located just a few blocks from Grand Central and Herald Square, the hotel is convenient to transportation but not annoying in the craziness of Times Square. More personal than a big chain with free wifi, free fruit, coffee, tea etc.

I highly recommend it. Ask for a room in the back which are super quiet away from the street. The superior rooms are more spacious than the standard room and worth the extra price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much! Well, a bit of good news is that we have invested a lot of money in windows for the front of the property and boy do they make a difference. I was up on the fifth floor in a room with the sample windows in the middle of the day and in spite of the buses, trucks and traffic going by, I could not hear a thing! Naturally, Madison Avenue is quieter than most at night and that combined with the new windows will ensure a quiet night's sleep!

Please come back soon!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    392
    100
    26
    14
See reviews for
167
632
105
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Having lost power in CT, I arrived in NY way ahead of schedule for the opening night of an art show. The staff welcomed me and arranged for me to wait in the Penthouse while they found me an available room. Within the hour I was in my room. During the stay the staff was extremely helpful with dinner suggestions. I was always addressed by name each time I entered the lobby and was made to feel like a valued client. Always a treat to get a reservation at this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I am so sorry that you lost power. I am happy that we were able to help out.

Thank you for your kind review. Next time, I hope you stay with us for a different reason than losing electricity!

We would love to see you again!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We booked Morgan's for a trip to New York for site seeing and shopping and boy were we glad we did!
From the moment we checked in it was a great experience. The room was modern and clean with a lovely view of Madison/ the Empire State. It also had thoughtful touches such as a worldwide travel adaptor and an iPod docking station. The room was only standard, but was quiet spacious for New York standards.
The living room was also open to all guests and had complementary wifi. Breakfast was also complementary and was served in the penthouse with stunning views of the Empire State Building and downtown manhattan.
The staff were very friendly and we were always greeted with a warm welcome when we returned and the door was also opened for us. We were also allowed to keep our suitcases in the hotel for the day after we checked out. We were also told we could make use of the bathroom in the living room to freshen up should we need to. Something we both felt was a lovely touch.
If we could give Morgan's more than 5 stars we would!
We Will definitely be back :-)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, however rooms at the front have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Okay, I must admit that most of the time it is a piece of heaven for me too, but not always! Thank you so much for your kind review. You are very kind and your review made us all feel as though we accomplished what our mission is - to make our guests happy.

The Empire State Building was completed in 1931 and I know that Morgans guests back then were able to see it go up from the Penthouse! It must have been an amazing time in New York.

I hope you will return some day to fenjoy our new facilities. The Lounge will be fabulous!

Kindest regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmdel, NJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I live close to NYC (1 h drive) but time to time I stay overnight or 2 nights or... 3 nights in the city.
This time we needed midtown location hotel. Picked Morgans.

Hotel has very good midtown location, close to shopping area around Empire State building,
Grand Central / Port Authority Bus term / Penn Station / a few subway stations.
On a weekend you can find free parking (yep, commodity in NYC) and not to pay $50(fifty)/24h valet parking offered by hotel.
Clean, tiny but cute bathrooms, good linens, nice sitting area by the windows, silent heating/cooling system/fridge with mini bar, PLENTY of storage (remember, we are in NYC!).
Free pass for the next door New York Sport Club.
Awesome roof top breakfast area with the view Emp.State Building, more than plenty of food for "continental" breakfast. BTW, you can help yourself with FREE tea from 7am till 11pm.

Minus (for me)
- the mattress was way too hard for me
- no king size beds are available.

Will I recommend this place?
Yep!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Yes, parking is very expensive in New York City I'm afraid. I took Mom to a fancy breakfast recently and paid $50 for a couple of hours!

We do have King beds in all of our Suites but not in our Superior or Standard Rooms.

Thank you for mentioning the complimentary tea and coffee. It is a nice way to end a busy afternoon of doing business or sight seeing!

Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Staff are the best and most friendliest I have ever come across at a hotel, from the desk staff, doormen and penthouse breakfast room staff everyone was helpful, informative and genuinely nice.
The hotel had a quirky black/ white/gray designer feel to it, and I was told that it was interior designed by the designer of concorde, with the same space saving metal sinks in the bathrooms!!! The views of the empire state building from the roof top penthouse were incredible and there are lots of sights within close proximity (Times Sq.; Intrepid aircrafr carrier; Chrysler Building; Grand Central Station and Macys to name a few)
The rooms were spacious well equipped and warm (Very important in -7 F)
Overall a wonderful trip enhanced by staying at Morgans.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for mentioning the Design. It is especially apropo since our dear Designer, Andree Putman recently passed away. She was truly Iconic and I would encourage everyone to read a bit about her life and her talent.

New York has been a bit colder than last year but not terrible! It is important however that our guests feel cozy once they leave the streets of Manhattan and come into a warm environment!

I do hope you will visit again!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed with my fiance at the Morgans and we really enjoyed our stay. Its location is very central and the hotel has a very relaxing atmosphere. The restaurant and the bar of the hotel are definitely worth visiting. The rooms were spacious by NY standards and the service was great. Overall a good choice !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. Yes, we have indeed moved a somewhat modified Food and Beverage operation to the Penthouse while our Lounge is being renovated. It is beautiful up there but wait until you see the new space! We will soon be debuting the space and I think our guests will love it.

Please come back and see it for yourself!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have returned from 4 days in NYC and a great stay at this hotel. I was worried when I booked this hotel that it would be out of the way but having stayed on Times square on a previous visit it was worth the 15min walk to experience the lower half of the city. On arrival you are met with a small area housing the reception and staff. I had a problem with the room I had booked but the wonderful staff-Todd and I'm sorry I can't remember the lady's name were brilliant in moving us to another room which meant we didn't need to move hotels. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have stayed in I have never slept straight away but here we did helped by the Egyptian cotton bed linen. The Superior Queen room was a perfect size. I really don't understand what some people expect when they complain about the breakfast. NEWS PEOPLE!! NYC doesn't normally provide this so don't book this hotel then complain that it isn't a full English. It states quite clearly that it is bagles/toast/yoghurt/juice/pastries. If you don't want this go somewhere else we loved early mornings having breakfast looking at the Empire State building-plus free wi-fi for booking seats and printing boarding cards.The only reason this hasn't had 5 stars is down to renovations going on and the tired looking carpet in the halls. Congrats to all the staff who made our stay so special nothing was too much trouble and a BIG THANKS TO TODD for making my husbands birthday such a memorable one. Well done everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Well, I think you have made it clear to all as to what to expect from our breakfast. Thank you! I have been trying to explain this for a long time.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your husband had a good birthday. It is so nice to remember a special occasion years from now and look at photos from your trip! Hopefully you will not stay away too long and will return to visit us again soon!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgans New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans New York Hotel

Address: 237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#79 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Family Hotel in New York City
#106 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment it opened its doors on Madison Avenue in New York City, Morgans startled the world with a convention-shattering attitude and distinctive design sensibility, concocted by legendary designer Andree Putman. Again in 2008, Morgans unveiled Andree Putman's powerful reinterpretation of the first "boutique hotel" that propels Morgans' spirit forward without changing its unique character. Other features include a state of the art fitness center. Conveniently located in midtown Manhattan, Morgans is just steps to Grand Central Station, Macy's Herald Square, and The Morgan Library Museum. Morgans offers complimentary Continental breakfast and wireless internet access to every hotel guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Morgans New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel New York City
Morgans New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgans New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.