We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little hotel not far from grand central station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgans New York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Morgans New York Hotel to your Saves list
Morgans New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #94 of 454 Hotels in New York City
connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“great little hotel not far from grand central station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

we booked a night at the morgans when we needed a location near grand central to attend a wedding nearby. the staff was very pleasant and welcoming, more so than at other nyc hotels of similar size we've stayed at. we needed a very early departure the next morning to catch a flight, and they arranged to our valleted car waiting for us when we came down at 3:45am. [i said it was very early.] unfortunately, that meant we didn't get to try their free breakfast or see their penthouse lounge.

the room was small but not cramped, well decorated and maintained, and quite comfortable. we noticed no street noise, nor any noise from other hotel occupants.

we got a good price via an internet booking site, so that it provided a good value as well.

on the whole, we were so pleased with the value and the experience that we are likely to stay there again even when we have no need to be in that particular neighborhood. highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
3:45 a.m.!!! Wow, that is early. I am sorry you did not get the full experience, but perhaps next time! We appreciate your review and hope to see you again.

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    378
    94
    25
    13
See reviews for
162
611
104
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Although we live in NJ, our family wanted to spend a night in the Ctiy during the holidays. After searching for many boutique hotels on various sites, we landed on Morgans through Gilt's Jetsetter flash sale. Overall experience was awesome. We had asked for a king-size bed and concierge made every effort to accomodate and we were rewarded. The room we had was very spaicous and comfortable for a family of 3, including by 5-year old daughter. The continetal breakfast included with rooms on the 19th floor was a very nice touch to the overall experience. We would definitely stay again here.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a king-size bed to accommodate a family with a small child, and the room we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
How wonderful for your family to spend a night in the City during the Holidays! It is something your little girl will remember for years to come!

Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again in 2013! Make it a tradition!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I've stayed at Morgans twice now and have really loved my time there. It's a beautiful hotel in a perfect location, within walking distance of many major attractions, subway stations, and Grand Central itself. This time, I could see the Empire State Building from my room and it was such a lovely sight to behold whenever I spent time in my room. The staff are amazing - everyone I encountered was friendly and generally very helpful, and they generally brightened my day whenever we crossed paths. They also made some great recommendations for services and restaurants in the area, which I'm very grateful for.

A big plus is the complimentary breakfast, which is just terrific. There's lots to choose from and it's all high-quality, delicious food. The wi-fi is also complimentary and very efficient. The rooms are very comfortable with excellent beds and lovely showers. The toiletries are of a really good quality as well.

There were a few minor issues I ran into, all involving how well the staff communicate with each other. I called one evening to request my shoes be picked up for the complimentary shoe-shine and was told someone would be at my room straight away; an hour passed and nobody turned up, so I called again and asked if someone could come by soon as I had an appointment for dinner. Another staff member assured me somebody would come by 'soon', but almost another hour passed and nobody arrived. The following morning I was in a rush and asked reception to relay a message to housekeeping, but the message obviously never got through to them as my request went unfulfilled. This was the one and only 'blip' when I stayed at Morgans and it wouldn't deter me from staying with them in future; it's just something that could have been better on this occasion.

Overall, I really enjoyed my time at Morgans and was glad I chose to return to their hotel. I'll definitely choose to stay with them again in future and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Although I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, I am so sorry we missed a beat and your shoes did not get shined. Actually, when you mentioned this on our Guest Survey, we discussed it and yes, there was a breakdown of communication. We have resolved this.

Thank you for taking the time to describe Morgans and we hope to see you soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here over Christmas period. We arrived very early hours and had a quick and easy check in. Room was a decent size (for Manhattan) with a very comfortable bed, flat screen TV (would have liked a HDMI port), plenty of storage space, safe, mini bar. Bathroom had shower only but with large spray head and good quality soap, shampoo, shower gel. Hairdryer and umbrella in the closet if needed and ipod dock by the bed.
Our room was on the 18th floor with a view of the Empire State Building (looked great lit up for Christmas). Floor above (penthouse floor) was where breakfast was served (included in rate). Great selection of pastries, couple of cereal choices, bread and bagels for toasting, yoghurts, tea, coffee and juice. Upper level is where the food is, great view of city especially Empire State Building and 2 small outside terraces. Lower level has seating too and internet faclities. Tea/coffee free (alchohol/light snacks chargeable) here in the evenings.
Location is great, on Madison Avenue about 20 minutes stroll to Times Square. Loads of restaurants all over the place, Grand Central Station a few blocks north. A grocery store is next door.
Taxi from airport was flat fare of $52 + toll and tip, we booked a private car back which was $90 all inc. but this may have included a mark up for holiday time.
Morgans is excellent hotel and all staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: High floor facing Madison Avenue or 37th Street for good view of Empire State Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Your review is so detailed! I love that because future travelers can read not only about the hotel but other tips as well!

Isn't New York magical during the Holidays! Even I, a jaded New Yorker loved my one stroll up Fifth Avenue this year! It was amazing.

I hope you return for another visit to the Big Apple!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights and had a wonderful time. Everyone was friendly, the rooms were really well designed and they have free coffee on offer during the whole day. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Ah... peace and coffee, what a great combination! Thank you so much for your kind review. I wish you a Happy and Healthy New Year!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

What a wonderful hotel. From the start the whole experience was one to savour, from the wonderful breakfast to the amazing stylish rooms not to mention the INCREDIBLE view from the penthouse at breakfast time. Take my advice and say here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the loft room... Simply Wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Your title made my New Year's Eve extra special! I so look forward to opening our fabulous new Lounge in 2013! It was quite a year with Hurricane Sandy and all. It is reviews like yours that makes it all worthwile. Happy New Year everyone!!!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very good located hotel in a simple style. Breakfast room on top of the hotel is fantastique with view to the Empire State Building. Breakfast is too simple, choice could be better. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Superior Room is ok and the room size is compared with other New York Hotels comfortable. Standard R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. To all our wonderful Europeans out there - American Continental Breakfast is different to a European Continental. We do not serve cheese and cold cuts. We do however have great New York bagels, pastry, cereal, Greek yogurt etc. Breakfast in New York can set you back about $25 so it is pretty good to get something complimentary. I do appreciate everyone's input regarding this but as they say 'when in Rome...'

Kindest regards and Happy New Year!

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgans New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans New York Hotel

Address: 237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#107 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment it opened its doors on Madison Avenue in New York City, Morgans startled the world with a convention-shattering attitude and distinctive design sensibility, concocted by legendary designer Andree Putman. Again in 2008, Morgans unveiled Andree Putman's powerful reinterpretation of the first "boutique hotel" that propels Morgans' spirit forward without changing its unique character. Other features include a state of the art fitness center. Conveniently located in midtown Manhattan, Morgans is just steps to Grand Central Station, Macy's Herald Square, and The Morgan Library Museum. Morgans offers complimentary Continental breakfast and wireless internet access to every hotel guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Morgans New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel New York City
Morgans New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgans New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.