We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC Boutique; pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgans New York Hotel

Save Saved
You added Morgans New York Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Morgans New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
PLAN AHEAD
Ranked #87 of 451 hotels in New York City
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“NYC Boutique; pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

NYC can meet, exceed or fail miserably in your hotel expectations. Morgans is at the upper end for business travel. NYC rooms are usually small, this is no exception... but its not uncomfortably cozy. Plenty of space, no waste. Creative compartments and usual amenities exist. For the price, almost went main stream (brand name hotels) but wanted to try something closer to my meetings. And avoid Grand Central, glad I did.

It is not easily found from the street, not immediately recognizable as a hotel. Lobby is quaint, under construction... everyone shuttled up to penthouse for checkin. Staff are very friendly, doorman, frontdesk, maids and breakfast attendants. Bfast is standard continental fair in the penthouse... with a great view! Go up 1 floor to the balconies, Empire state building views. Casual dining in vicinity, easy walk to bryant park, even Times Square and Theatre District (15 - 20 min walk I think).

Typical NYC layout, many floors, only 8 rooms per floor. Darker hallways.. didn't hear my neighbors or elevators. Room AC / ventilation worked great. Showers were strong and hot. Odd decor... the black & white checkerboard patterns an interesting touch. Clean bedding and towels, clean room. Furniture a bit fatigued. WiFi worked great first day, second day was out (Hurricane Sandy Telco outage). Safe neighborhood for evening walks. 5 blocks to Grand Central and trains/subways.

I usually stay at mainstream hotels (Hyatt, Westin), this was a nice change of pace... would stay here again..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I agree, sometimes it is nice to try something new. The chain hotels have their benefits as do the smaller boutiques. The good news is that there is something for everyone.

More good news - we are moving the Front Desk back to the Lobby this week, and we are getting closer to opening our new Lounge, Guest Living Room and Fitness Center! I certainly hope you return to try our new venues.

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    719
    363
    89
    29
    11
See reviews for
151
578
103
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We arrived very late at night in the middle of storm Athena a week after Sandy. It was a last moment change so for that price there weren't many options. It was nice that unlike other hotels in the area they didn't raise the price after the storms. We loved the modern design. It's not a traditional kind of hotel, yet it has everything and more. some examples, light over mirror in the closet, magnifying mirror that pops up of the desk, Great shower head... The size of the room was really decent comparing to hotels in NY. The price included breakfast, which was really nice and the view from the breakfast room was the stunning NY skyline with the Empire State Building in the middle, The internet was pretty fast (again a big advantage comparing to other hotels), and most of all - I love Murray Hill neighborhood. Location is really great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much!

Something I absolutely cannot tolerate is price gouging after a crisis. I think it is unethical and immoral. Strong words, but I have strong feelings about this. It is simply not right to take advantage of guests because they are desperate for a room.

I too love Murray Hill. It reminds me of 'old New York' and is so central to everything.

Please come back soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We booked a night here after Hurricane Sandy because our power was out in lower Manhattan and it was a mixed bag. Firstly, the hotel is under renovation which I was not aware of before booking. The restaurant (Asia de Cuba) which used to be a draw, was entirely closed. The check-in was moved to the "penthouse" on the top floor, a tiny space in a small hotel with 2 persons sitting at a desk in a little room. Nothing elegant here let me tell ya. OK, the room was fairly comfortable, the bed was good and the toiletries nice but again there was nothing special here, it all seemed very 1980s and dated somehow. Seriously, aren't we all over Philippe Starck "starkness"? There's no room service either, adding to the feeling of neglect. Breakfast, continental only, was included but if you wanted eggs you'd better go to the diner. Bottom line: until it's fully renovated, better options clearly exist elsewhere unless you get a STEAL on the price (and I'm talking not a penny more than $200). ps - the room was a bit noisy at night as well, not sure if it was coming for outside or not but there was an undertone of "techno" that I didn't really need at 3am.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review.

It is not actually the hotel which is under renovation, but the restaurant which is located on the side of the building.

I am sorry about the check in process but the good news is that we are moving the Front Desk back to the Lobby this very week!

Actually, the hotel was not designed by Philippe Starck but by the ever elegant Andree Putman. Anyone who has studied design understands and appreciates her work; although it is not liked by everyone. After all, we all have our personal tastes to which we are entitled!

We do offer Room Service, although it is a modified menu.

Thankfully, we will be opening our Lounge, Living Room and Fitness Center in early 2013!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The staff are delightful, esp in Reception but the hotel is silly. It's over-designed, you need a degree to work the shower, the lift is so dark I couldn't see the floor buttons, the corridors are narrow & prison-like, the towels are minute, there is no cooked breakfast & the rooms are dark-even the superior suites. No sign outside to anounce the name, it's trying so hard to be 'cool', it falls over backwards. It's not comfy, it's achingly 'up itself' & because of the renovations, the phones didn't work. Free Wi-fi throughout did mollify me a little& it was very quiet with comfy beds. But the executive desk had not thought about the siting of plugs for computers, etc, Best thing; it's very close to the wonderful Morgan Library.

Room Tip: Ask to be far from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Honestly, we are not trying to be 'too cool'. Morgans opened 28 years ago and 'cool' is long past us. We are simply who we are and some folks love it and others do not. I will say however, we are not ashamed of who we are. Our DNA may not be suitable for all but that is okay! There is a hotel out there for everyone; not that we would not love for everyone to at least try us!

Also, if a towel can cover me, believe me, unless you are a giant, it can cover you. A bath towel is different from a bath sheet. We have bath towels.

I am not sure exactly when you were here, but our phones were not out due to renovations but due to Hurricane Sandy, and there were letters in each room stating this. Everything is finally back in working order.

Finally, there is indeed an area in the desk that has plenty of outlets for plugs.

Readers, pardon me for stating this again but it is worth giving a tip to a Bellman in order to have a room orientation if nothing else. It is not about carrying luggage but about learning the features of your room. There is a dimmer in the bathroom which you may not notice, there is an area in the desk with outlets, there is a full length mirror in the closet, there is a hair dryer, there is an adapter. So many of you avoid using a Bellman and then get upset when you look for something!

But I digress -

We are indeed working on the elevator floor buttons and the lighting in the hallways. You do have a point.

Also I am delighted that you like our location and our staff.

It is the first time I've heard 'silly' as a description of Morgans. I have to think about that.

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a hotel!! It is just achingly cool - right from the moment you walk in. Staff are exceptionally helpful. The hotel has no signage and is tucked away (taxis dont always know where it is) but location is perfect. Hotel is on 37th street with rooms overlooking Empire State Building (we had one of these). It was good value for New York as well. Went for partners birthday and her first time in New York. Staff recommended Porterhouse Steak House in Time Warner Centre, which was exceptional.

Hotel was everything you could want - perfect location, good value and stunning. Would stay again in a heartbeat. Cant recommend enough.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am delighted that you were here for a special occasion and enjoyed it.

New York has so many great steakhouses, I sometimes think about going back to eating meat just to take a bite of a nice juicy steak; but then again a nice piece of salmon is pretty good too!

Hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Vermont
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My wife and I visited for a weekend and had an excellent visit. We were able to book a room at a very fair price, and our expectations were appropriately modified (i.e., we weren't paying $500 a night for the room, so we expected modest digs). Actually, put that way, our expectations were exceeded.

A few specific points: (1) we were in one of the smaller rooms and the room is, in fact, pretty small, but it was fine and we had an amazing view of the Empire State Building; (2) the room's style is a bit power 80s-90s and so feels a bit dated now, but functionally everything worked (and, yes, there were two robes), and the room design was quite efficient for maximizing the use of the area of the room; (3) the staff was very friendly and attentive; (4) one of the best aspects of the stay was the free breakfast on the penthouse floor: the food was great (excellent OJ and coffee, good pastries, yoghurt, cereal etc.--- not a full hot breakfast but certainly ample) and the penthouse area is really excellent, great view and well laid out; (5) because the hotel is small, there is some noise in the corridors and the elevators are older, smaller and slower, but really not a problem.

So, if you go expecting this to be the Four Seasons and looking for things to complain about, you will be unhappy. If you go expecting good service in a somewhat older building and can manage to get along with your roommate for the weekend (my wife and i did fine, thanks), you will have a great time in midtown NYC.

Room Tip: Upper floors are better-- we were on 18.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much! Sorry for the issue in your room! It was due to the breaker which was fixed the next day. Thankfully you got out before the big blackout hit New York City!!! It was quite incredible, I must say. Never saw anything like it.

Well, we are happy that you will return to see us again!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a week (12-18 oct), the location is great, the continental breakfast was a nice surprise (the view from the penthouse is wonderful!).
On the first night we had a mini blackout in our room. The staff was really helpful and nice, but in the end we had to change rooms (we got a bigger room with a view).
On our next visit, the Morgans Hotel will be our first choice!

Greetings from Brazil.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your review.

Sorry about the black out; this was certainly not caused by Hurricane Sandy but by a problem with the breaker which has been attended to.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morgans New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans New York Hotel

Address: 237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#58 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
#75 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans New York Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment it opened its doors on Madison Avenue in New York City, Morgans startled the world with a convention-shattering attitude and distinctive design sensibility, concocted by legendary designer Andree Putman. Again in 2008, Morgans unveiled Andree Putman's powerful reinterpretation of the first "boutique hotel" that propels Morgans' spirit forward without changing its unique character. Other features include a state of the art fitness center. Conveniently located in midtown Manhattan, Morgans is just steps to Grand Central Station, Macy's Herald Square, and The Morgan Library Museum. Morgans offers complimentary Continental breakfast and wireless internet access to every hotel guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Morgans New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel New York City
Morgans New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgans New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.