We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimalist and Fresh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morgans New York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Morgans New York Hotel to your Saves list
Morgans New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #102 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Minimalist and Fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Found this hotel on a discounted website and scored an excellent price for a superior room. This is a very unusual and interesting hotel. No name or canopy in front; no reception desk either. Once we got used to the vibe, we fell in with it. The hotel aims to please and the people who work there reflect this excellent customer service. The breakfast in the penthouse is substantial and good. The location is perfect- a little off the tourist track but close to public transportation and major sites. My only major complaint is the airconditioning which was loud and intermittently went on and off all night, blowing cold air on me. My minor complaint that in the breakfast rooms, CNN is blaring. When we asked the staffmember if we could turn it off, he turned it down but not off. It would seem that a hotel with such a high consciousness might have classical music playing or jazz instead of the news. If thosewere fixed, my score would be a perfect 5. I'm sure with all the attention that is paid to the decor, customer treatment, and freshness, these issues are not deal breakers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. I think your feedback is very useful. To be quite frank, I was not thrilled with having a TV on in the Breakfast Room. I think it takes away from the overall experience of being in a spectacular Penthouse. This is the note I sent to my staff today:

I've had reservations about having any TV on in the Breakfast Room. Personally, I do not think it is 'us'. Music is better than watching all the unpleasantness in the world. This was also recently reflected in a guest complaint.

Please turn off the TV's and let's just offer a relaxing breakfast to music.

Thank you for your feedback - I encourage all of you out there to give us useful tips. There is nothing more important than the 'voice of our guests'.

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    392
    100
    26
    14
See reviews for
167
632
105
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I hadn't stayed at Morgans for a couple of years but had the chance to revisit in July. The wonderful experience then put it at the top of the list for a return trip to NYC in early September when I had another excellent stay. Yes - lobby was undergoing renovation, but that didn't affect the experience at all. Kudos especially to Robert at front desk who handled reservation and who had a welcoming word each time I was on my way in or out. Room was lovely and location can't be beat. Trip was a mix of business and personal and hotel hits bulls-eye for both types of travel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. The fact that you had selected Morgans for a second stay this year makes me feel that we are doing the right things!

Actually, it is not the Lobby that is under renovation but our restaurant. In order to make things more comfortable for our guests, we have created a separation between the Lobby and the Restaurant. We have moved our Breakfast Room into the Penthouse and are offering a limited menu in there in the evenings. Actually, as fall descends upon us and it gets darker, the views from the Penthouse are even more spectacular!

I do hope you return to try our new Lounge!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I recently booked a 3 night stay for my daughters at the Morgans in New York. I found a promotion on Travelzoo which included an upgrade to a suite. My daughters cannot stop talking about what a wonderful time they had and how much they appreciated the thoughtfulness of the hotel staff. Most of the staff were quite young and could relate to my daughters who are 18 and 22. The hotel stay included breakfast which was a nice touch for a New York hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I am absolutely delighted that this was a special trip for your daughter. I wish I was as young as some of our team!

Hopefully you can come again and see our new Lounge, Living Room and Fitness Room which are going to be wonderful. These will soon open but as you know we are currently using the Penthouse which is equally lovely.

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Given the choice of hotels in NYC I am not even sure why I booked this hotel but I believe it was a combination of price, location and the reviews I saw on Tripadvisor and boy were we lucky! We traveled to New York by bus and arrived at the hotel in the morning relatively knackered at about 10am.
The plan was just to drop off our bags and find a breakfast place but to our pleasant surprise not only were we already given a room, the friendly receptionist even mentioned that breakfast was still available (even though we just arrived and had the room booked for the night and the breakfast for the following morning). So we quickly dropped of our bags and had a great breakfast which gave us a fantastic start to the day.
The rest of the stay (ie the night and the following morning incl breakfast) were also highly enjoyable but what really blew my socks of was the nice gesture when we arrived to have breakfast even though we had the room booked only for the night to come.
It is this combined with a genuinely friendliness of the staff that makes me highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I guess the general rule of thumb is the higher up the better since you don't hear the street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Well naturally we would not leave you hungry for the day! You are a guest of the hotel no matter what time you arrive! If that was not the case, it would be like expecting a certain house guest and not feeding them just because they arrive early!

Thank you so much for your kind review. I hope we get to see you again.

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I loved my recent stay at Morgans-- it felt unique, charming, and wonderfully kept up, with a distinctly modern touch (the entire place is filled with wonderful black-and-white decor). To me, it felt more like a small boutique hotel in Europe than anything else-- and that's a good thing.
As far as service is concerned, it's been a while since I've had such a positive experience with all manner of staff-- those at the check-in desk, maid service, and the doormen were all so kind, talkative, and completely helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to come back for another good experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
I know this sounds corny, but I got a chill reading your review. How wonderfully you've captured the essence of Morgans! Your comments regarding our staff made me so happy. You've made my day!

Please come back!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I just wanted to express how grateful we are that Morgans hotel upgraded us from a regular 1 bedroom suite to a balcony suite for free. To start, the normal suite was not very expensive, I assume, because the hotel is going through minor lobby renovation.

But then we found out that we were upgraded to a balcony suite: We ended up in this beautiful one-bedroom apartment with spectacular views of Manhattan on every side and access to two private balconies, with the most amazing view of the Empire State building. It was right there, in front of us. If you have the option of booking this suite, I strongly recommend it. Although we had a lot to do in town, it pained us to have to leave the suite and not spend the entire weekend on our balcony.

The other main feature of the hotel is that it is walking distance from both train stations. Grand Central is 4 blocks and Penn is about 15 minutes away. Provided you have small luggage, then getting to and from is no problem at all.

As regards the hotel itself: I won't rehash everything stated by everyone else. The suite was very comfortable, clean and well-appointed. The decor is really awesome with a black, grey and white motif, plush carpet, fridge, nice bathroom. AC worked great. Our shower was very nice and we have a whirlpool tub.

Breakfast was great, service was perfect. Everyone was uber-professional, polite and helpful.

We had one of our best weekends in the City, thanks in large part to our stay here.

Room Tip: Get the balcony suite if you can afford it. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
And you 'rock' for describing our Balcony Suite so perfectly. It is a one of a kind Suite and in high demand so if anyone out there wants to reserve it, it is best to make arrangements ahead of time.

Thank you for your kind review. It gives me great personal satisfaction that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in Morgans original this time last year. Wow, what a treat. The location is brilliant, really handy for exploring manhattan, about ten minutes walk from times square and just around the corner from empire state. When sat in our window seat you could see the empire state, amazing. We had a transfer included in our holiday package and found the hotel no problem, it's not well marked but with the numbered blocks in manhattan very hard to miss. Looks sleek and classic from outside. On check in everyone was so friendly and this was the case for the whole of the stay. The room was really big and beds soft and comfy. The carpet was so soft and lush, nice to walk on after a day exploring. Me and my fiancé love edgy design so we loved the detail in our rooms. Breakfast was delicious. Fruit, pastries bagels fruit juices. The breakfast room was in the edgy restaurant attached to hotel. It's the sleekest room I have ever had breakfast in, cool design, relaxing and funky. it had a lovely chilled out vibe, nice environment to sit and plan your day. On check out the lovely receptionist flagged us a yellow taxi back to the airport, this was fabuolous as I did not fancy our chances in manhattan at rush hour. In a nutshell, loved it and can't wait to go back one day! Thanks so much to the staf at the Morgan's for making our stay fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so very much for writing! While our restaurant is being re-designed, we have moved breakfast to the Penthouse. You should see the view from there! And our guests are enjoying sitting on the terraces as well.

For me as a General Manager however, it is your comments regarding our staff that make it all worthwile. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to see our new restaurant!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgans New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans New York Hotel

Address: 237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#80 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#96 Family Hotel in New York City
#102 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment it opened its doors on Madison Avenue in New York City, Morgans startled the world with a convention-shattering attitude and distinctive design sensibility, concocted by legendary designer Andree Putman. Again in 2008, Morgans unveiled Andree Putman's powerful reinterpretation of the first "boutique hotel" that propels Morgans' spirit forward without changing its unique character. Other features include a state of the art fitness center. Conveniently located in midtown Manhattan, Morgans is just steps to Grand Central Station, Macy's Herald Square, and The Morgan Library Museum. Morgans offers complimentary Continental breakfast and wireless internet access to every hotel guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Morgans New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel New York City
Morgans New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgans New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.