We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balcony suite rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgans New York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Morgans New York Hotel to your Saves list
Morgans New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% off, Book Today
Ranked #103 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Providence, RI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Balcony suite rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I just wanted to express how grateful we are that Morgans hotel upgraded us from a regular 1 bedroom suite to a balcony suite for free. To start, the normal suite was not very expensive, I assume, because the hotel is going through minor lobby renovation.

But then we found out that we were upgraded to a balcony suite: We ended up in this beautiful one-bedroom apartment with spectacular views of Manhattan on every side and access to two private balconies, with the most amazing view of the Empire State building. It was right there, in front of us. If you have the option of booking this suite, I strongly recommend it. Although we had a lot to do in town, it pained us to have to leave the suite and not spend the entire weekend on our balcony.

The other main feature of the hotel is that it is walking distance from both train stations. Grand Central is 4 blocks and Penn is about 15 minutes away. Provided you have small luggage, then getting to and from is no problem at all.

As regards the hotel itself: I won't rehash everything stated by everyone else. The suite was very comfortable, clean and well-appointed. The decor is really awesome with a black, grey and white motif, plush carpet, fridge, nice bathroom. AC worked great. Our shower was very nice and we have a whirlpool tub.

Breakfast was great, service was perfect. Everyone was uber-professional, polite and helpful.

We had one of our best weekends in the City, thanks in large part to our stay here.

Room Tip: Get the balcony suite if you can afford it. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
And you 'rock' for describing our Balcony Suite so perfectly. It is a one of a kind Suite and in high demand so if anyone out there wants to reserve it, it is best to make arrangements ahead of time.

Thank you for your kind review. It gives me great personal satisfaction that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    390
    100
    26
    14
See reviews for
167
631
105
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in Morgans original this time last year. Wow, what a treat. The location is brilliant, really handy for exploring manhattan, about ten minutes walk from times square and just around the corner from empire state. When sat in our window seat you could see the empire state, amazing. We had a transfer included in our holiday package and found the hotel no problem, it's not well marked but with the numbered blocks in manhattan very hard to miss. Looks sleek and classic from outside. On check in everyone was so friendly and this was the case for the whole of the stay. The room was really big and beds soft and comfy. The carpet was so soft and lush, nice to walk on after a day exploring. Me and my fiancé love edgy design so we loved the detail in our rooms. Breakfast was delicious. Fruit, pastries bagels fruit juices. The breakfast room was in the edgy restaurant attached to hotel. It's the sleekest room I have ever had breakfast in, cool design, relaxing and funky. it had a lovely chilled out vibe, nice environment to sit and plan your day. On check out the lovely receptionist flagged us a yellow taxi back to the airport, this was fabuolous as I did not fancy our chances in manhattan at rush hour. In a nutshell, loved it and can't wait to go back one day! Thanks so much to the staf at the Morgan's for making our stay fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so very much for writing! While our restaurant is being re-designed, we have moved breakfast to the Penthouse. You should see the view from there! And our guests are enjoying sitting on the terraces as well.

For me as a General Manager however, it is your comments regarding our staff that make it all worthwile. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to see our new restaurant!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My best friend and I arrived at the Morgans Hotel on 8/31 and stayed one night. The name of the hotel is not displayed on the outside of the building, but is beautifully constructed. The doorman was greeted us and was extremely eager. The front desk staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. They provided us with maps and recommendations for things to do in our surround area. Everything was in walking distance and the subway was in walking distance < 1 mile. The continental breakfast was average, but the view on the terrace of the penthouse made breakfast heavenly. The room was very modern but didn't blow me away. The bathroom was the best part of the room...beautifully designed. Bring shower shoes because it's a stand up shower on concrete. Overall, I had a great experience and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review!

Pity that you only got to stay one night with us! Perhaps you can stay longer next time.

The shower floor is actually a poured epoxy - it was the first floor of its' kind in the city back when Ian Schrager and Steve Rubell opened Morgans but has been redone several times since.

We hope you will return and spend more time with us!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Morgans Hotel for one night in August. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations which meant a few minor inconveniences such as no access to the gym (we were however offered a voucher to use the NYSC gym a few blocks down but be aware that it can only be used during certain hours). The room was nicely designed and quite spacious, but had a stale smell to it and faced a brick wall which made it a bit dark. The bathroom amenities were great.
I found the breakfast quite disappointing. There was no fresh fruit, no eggs nor any other hot items or cereal, only a mountain of bagels, white bread and pastries.
Staff were very friendly but I have to admit I expected more from a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your review!

I have always been very 'up front' about what we offer in our complimentary breakfast. First off, we are one of the only properties to offer a complimentary Continental Breakfast and this what is included - coffee, tea, fruit juices, croissant, pastry, toast, bagels, whole fruit, cereals, yogurt. I think this is a good spread for a New York hotel. I do know that Europeans also expect cheese, cold cuts and other items but we simply do not offer these.

The new Fitness Center, our Lounge and Living Room will be open very soon and we hope you will return to experience these additions!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our New York experience started with a smiling, quick and easy check-in and a complimentary upgrade to a superior room, on the 16th floor. The view from the windows was amazing as was the overall service. The continental breakfast was served at the penthouse, either inside or at the terrace -closer to the city’s pulse, and almost touching the Empire State Building. The hotel is centrally located,allowing us to easily walk uptown or downtown. Summing up, our weekly stay at the hotel was spotless and perfect. Should we come back to NY we would choose it again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! Sometimes even as a New Yorker I look out over the city and am stunned by the view. To imagine that 100 years ago, most of the buildings did not exist!

I am delighted that you had a good time with us and look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Enjoy everything about this hotel. From doorman to desk staff, the team at Morgans makes the stay very comfortable. Great location and surprisingly quiet even with Madison facing room. While larger hotels may have more "energy" in vast lobby/lounge area, this is a nice place to "come home to" at the end of a long day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review.

In one paragraph, you managed to capture the essence of Morgans. Yes, you are right about our Lobby. We try to create a 'zen like' environment for our guests to return to!

There is a lot of energy in New York City and I agree it is nice to come back to a relaxing environment.

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

room and bathroom were small but perfect - built in window seat, comfortable bed, great shower, large glass shelf in bathroom for all of your stuff (and good lighting), closet stocked with bathrobes, umbrella, iron, safe, etc., A/C worked well (and was not nearly as loud as the one I had at the Strand a few weeks ago). breakfast was a highlight though - up in the penthouse, in the sunshine, looking over manhattan. and I would be remiss if I did not mention the friendly staff. I am in NYC about once a month for business, and this was a very comfortable hotel to come back to after a long day, particularly in this price range.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigas, General Manager at Morgans New York Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! Nothing like having breakfast overlooking the skyline! Even though this is a temporary situation (up until we complete our new restaurant), our guests are truly enjoying it.

I do hope you will return in the near future!

Kind regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgans New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgans New York Hotel

Address: 237 Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#79 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Family Hotel in New York City
#105 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Morgans New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment it opened its doors on Madison Avenue in New York City, Morgans startled the world with a convention-shattering attitude and distinctive design sensibility, concocted by legendary designer Andree Putman. Again in 2008, Morgans unveiled Andree Putman's powerful reinterpretation of the first "boutique hotel" that propels Morgans' spirit forward without changing its unique character. Other features include a state of the art fitness center. Conveniently located in midtown Manhattan, Morgans is just steps to Grand Central Station, Macy's Herald Square, and The Morgan Library Museum. Morgans offers complimentary Continental breakfast and wireless internet access to every hotel guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Morgans New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgans Hotel New York City
Morgans New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgans New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.