We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel, Top location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casablanca Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE!
Ranked #2 of 459 Hotels in New York City
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel, Top location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. We spent 2 nights at this hotel and found it to be deserving of its number 1 trip advisor rating. The staff are friendly and approachable and the service was exceptional. The room was clean & modern, with it having the best bathroom out of all the hotels we stayed at during our 4 week trip through the US. The amenities on offer are definitely a cut above the rest. I will certainly be staying here again on my next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,032
    486
    81
    32
    23
See reviews for
695
1,935
128
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

My stay at Casablanca was nothing short of AMAZING!
I came solo from Australia, and felt very comfortable at the Casablanca Hotel, and the close proximity to Times Square!
Everyone...and I mean everyone at Casablanca made my trip a dream......the room was clean, modern and quiet.
Hats off to the lovely staff on the second floor, breakfast and wine and cheese......special mention to the absolutely lovely lady having a baby shorty......you were an absolute delight, I wish you the best xxx
NO WONDER YOU GUYS ARE NUMBER ONE..............YOU DESERVE TO BE!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: south side are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We spent one night at this small boutique hotel, which is every bit as nice as all have said in their reviews. The hotel's decor is unpretentious,clean and cheerful.
Yes, rooms may seem a bit small, but realistically, they are not all that small compared to the rooms at brand name chain hotels at four or even five star category. Yes, they do not have a restaurant, however there are hundreds in walking distance. The hotel has a friendly but subdued,quiet welcoming lounge. Included in your tariff is a good breakfast served in that lounge; and whats more, there is early evening wine ,snacks, tea, and biscuits that can be a pre dinner treat.
Staff is exceptionally pleasant. (this is a chance occurrence in Gotham city) All else is as it should be.
There is no doubt in my mind, that my next stay in New York will be at this hotel.

Room Tip: For quiet, choose a room facing the narrow courtyard. Do not expect any views. All one needs is a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnTaboadaNYC, General Manager at Casablanca Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Laymya,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to NYC. I appreciate all of your kind words on the hotel accommodations and the staff. We only hire the kindest people who are delighted to treat our guests like their most cherished family. They will be thrilled to know they made you feel at home and we all look forward to seeing you back soon.

Since you only stayed one night, you seem to have missed one terrific amenity of the hotel. I do want to take a moment to point out that we do have a wonderful restaurant in the hotel called Tony's Di Napoli! It is located one floor below our clubroom, Rick's Café which you mentioned and it takes up most of the ground floor of the building. Tony's gets great reviews on TripAdvisor so please be sure to check it out. You can enter from the side door in our lobby or order through room service. You can sign the bill to your room account right from the table as well. Tony's is open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner and is even open on Thanksgiving and Christmas as well as New Years Eve when all the hotel guests enjoy a spectacular party including a 5 course meal at Tony's.

Laymya, We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Casablanca. If I may ever be of service, please feel free to contact me directly at 212 869 1212 or by return email at John@CasablancaHotel.com.

Sincerely,

John Taboada
General Manager
Casablanca Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

First, the location. This is the closest you can get to the center of Times Square. The main billboards can be seen from the hotel entrance and a one minute walk has you directly under them. Most of the Broadway musicals are very near, there is a variety of famous restaurants nearby, and this area is the main start point for bus tours of New York. Central Park is about 15-20 minutes walk away. Just walking around the locale is a great sightseeing experience.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are not very large, but are well laid out and clean. As a small hotel, there are no restaurants or bars in the hotel, but Tony's restaurant is next door (there is a door through to the bar), and the Brooklyn Diner is the other side of the hotel. We didn't eat at Tony's (portions rather large for just two people), but did eat at the Diner which was good (separately reviewed). Food from both of these can be ordered on room service.

There is a lounge/cafe area on the second floor, which provides a range of continental breakfast foods in the morning, coffee and biscuits/cakes during the day, and cheese and wine in the early evening - all for free. At first sight the hotel may look a little expensive for its size, but given these amenities, not to mention the location, we thought the hotel was excellent value for money.

One small point, given that several views of the interior show the (very nice) staircase, we wondered whether there would be a lift. In case anyone else is wondering, there is a lift.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Superb hotel primely positioned near Times Square. On arrival, I paid the balance of my bill using a pre-loaded credit card. Fransisco at the check in desk had explained that there would be be a $50 per day incidentals charge that would be returned if no additional charges occurred. I hadn't listened properly and made the payment with my pre-loaded card. I then realised that I would have $350 less to spend while in New York and would only get the money back onto the card when I had returned to England (what a blunder). Francisco and his Manager went out of their way to expedite the return of the sum of money to my card. Which duly happened within 2 days. Each time we left or returned to the hotel the staff were extremely pleasant and courteous and were always willing to help with directions or any other advice. There is a large choice for the inclusive breakfast including many cereals, eggs, pastries and fruit as well as juice. Tea, coffee and chilled water are available throughout the day. Cheese and wine are offered in the evening all at no extra cost. The rooms are left spotless by the staff who even return to the room in the evening when you have gone out and re-tidy the bed and leave fresh towels (that's twice a day) I very much doubt you would get this kind of service at any other hotel. The free WiFi is first class with no hiccups. The whole experience was superb, very friendly and attentive staff, my wife and I bought a large cheese cake from Juniors to share with the staff as a way of saying thank you for the fantastic service for which they were very grateful. I would very highly recommend this hotel, you will not find a better experience.Davidp@ohamackay.com.au
Thank you to all at Casablanca.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hotel is in a prime location. It is only steps away from times square, but we couldn't hear any noise. I have stayed in other hotels in NYC where I was up all night listening to sirens and blaring horns. The rooms are small, but the beds are very comfortable and there are nice amenties. There is a terrific breakfast that is included with the room and a happy hour with wine, cheese, crackers, etc. The hotel staff are very attentive and polite. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights on our first trip to New York. It was fantastic - the service was friendly, the breakfast and evening/wine cheese were excellent, and the rooms were small but well kept and nicely appointed. We didn't have a noise issue (our room faced the back rather than toward the street). Location wise it was great as it was near the subway and very central. This would be my first choice on a return trip to New York.

Room Tip: WE requested a room at the back and had no noise issue. The manager had emailed me to say this wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Casablanca Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.