We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casablanca Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE!
Ranked #4 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Bexhill-on-sea, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellant Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We went to New York to celebrate our 40th Wedding Aniversary and having stayed in New York hotels on numerous business trips in past years we were looking for a friendly smaller hotel in a midtown central location. We had read on trip advisor some positive reviews of this hotel and having seen it's location in Times Square we decided to book for three nights.
When we arrived we could see why people love this hotel,
All of the staff are helpful, polite and nothing is of too much trouble. We were delighted to spend our special anniversary at the Casablanca Hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,218
    514
    82
    32
    23
See reviews for
743
2,050
131
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We arrived at the 4th of August, got married on the 2nd of August so it was our honeymoon, found the hotel on Tripadvisor and booked months before we left.

We arrived the hotel and were welcomed by Asim in the reception. the staff was very polite, including, helpfuel and professional staff, everything you would expect from a hotel staff.

The decor and style of the hotel is very cosy and warming, if you looking for a minimalistic hotel in black and white this hotel is deffo not for you :)

The deluxe queen bedroom was large consider the small hotell, and a large wardrobe, the bathroom was suprisingly large aswell.
As we arrived the room there where a bottle of redwine and a note that said "welcome honeymooners" a nice gesture.

The breakfast was good, they had different pasterys, bagels, toastbread, cereals, fruit and berries, yoghurt and different juices.
And they also had a coffemachine with latte, espresso and so on.

Every day at 5pm there is complementary cheese and wine for the hotel guests, a very nice and cosy atmosphere, and a great starter before you go out for dinner.
On fridays they even have a guy playing the piano.

The location is in the middle of times square basically, walk out the door and you see the huge sign with commercial on.

Only drawback from booking this hotel is thats its somewhat noisy because its practically on top of Times Square.

But me and my wife got used to the noisy surroundings very quick so it was never a problem, you could ask for a room in the back of the hotel, might help.

But all in all a perfect experience for me and my wife at our honeymoon, and first timers in NYC, we deffo going back someday and we certainly book the Casablanca again.

Pål (Paul)
Norway

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back or middel of hotel if you are sensitive to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We particularly appreciated the central location of this oasis next to busy times square. The staff was very friendly and helpful in all regards. Moreover, we enjoyed the apero offered after 5 pm in a cosy atmosphere and also breakfast was definitely above average compared to what we experienced during our journey through the US in 4 weeks from San Francisco to Denver CO..

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in, the location is perfect as well as all amenities and attentiveness of staff.
Located within steps of Times Square, there can not be a better location for vacation and broadway shows.
The continental breakfast is more than adequate and the 24 h coffee and snacks in Ricks cafe is a nice little touch.
Room was clean and spacious.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed at the Casablanca hotel for the first time based solely on the recommendations of trip advisor and have to say we were not disappointed in anyway. The service was first rate with all staff willing to go that extra mile. The room was perfect (once you got used to the noise of the very effective aircon) with all essentials provided or available for free on request. The breakfast was very good and the afternoon cheese and wine even better. Add to this access to a great free coffee machine through out the day and free wifi and you really cannot fault the hotel. Finally the location is great with all of the attractions close by. As are the theatres and the underground. Should you come - absolutely it is worth every penny!!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My wife and I celebrated our 40th anniversary in New York. We spent 5 nights at the Casablanca. It is a wonderful place to stay. The staff is terrific. Everyone is friendly and helpful. We had a fairly big problem with theater tickets and the folks at the front desk went far above and beyond the call of duty to resolve the issue.

Our room was very clean and comfortable. We found the hotel to be amazingly quiet. Given that we were a few hundred yards from Times Square, we were delighted to find that we did not hear a single noise at night. Speaking of location, it is hard to imagine a more ideally situated hotel. We were steps from Times Square and most of the theaters. We were a block from 6th Avenue and closer than that to Broadway. The subway station at 42nd St./Times Square is a 2-minute walk. Bryant Park and New York Library are also very close.

We enjoyed the breakfasts and the available treats during the day. The adjacent restaurant (Tony's) is also excellent.

We have been to New York a number of times, and the Casablanca is by far the best hotel we have experienced. We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The service and amenities were amazing! My daughter and I had a long weekend "girls' trip" in NYC and completely enjoyed the Casablanca Hotel. Everyone from the bellman, to the reception desk, to the cleaning staff, to the turn-down service, to the staff in Rick's Cafe was friendly, polite and so very helpful. Thank you for a memorable experience!

Room Tip: Room and bathroom were not large but completely sufficient. Rick's Cafe was a nice space to str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casablanca Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.