We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, Quality, Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casablanca Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE!
Ranked #2 of 457 Hotels in New York City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant, Quality, Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at the Casablanca 9th-12th July 2014 on a short break from the UK. The service we received was excellent at all times, including arranging champagne for birthday celebrations. No fuss, just quick and efficient handling of requests.
Our two rooms on 5th and 6th floors were in excellent condition and of a good size for a central hotel in Manhattan.
The hotel is in a street directly off Times Square but is quiet and peaceful.
Best - complimentary breakfast pastries, bagels, cereals, coffee, juice etc and coffee/tea and drinks/nibbles in the evening.
Least - nothing.
Recommended - excellent value for the location and price point.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,002
    486
    81
    32
    23
See reviews for
687
1,921
127
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Whenever I bring family or friends to New York for their first time, this is where we stay. This hotel is simply fabulous and located right in Times Square. From the hospitality to the freebies, this hotel is perfect. The rooms are immaculate with comfort and style. The staff is wonderful, everyone very knowledgeable of the area. The free breakfast, bottled water, and wi-fi make the stay so much more enjoyable.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Staff made us feel very welcome. Cheese and wine was a lovely way to start the evening. The continental breakfast was substantial and had a very good selection which really set us up for the day. If you want a more substantial breakfast for a change, try Good Enough to Eat on the west side of Central Park.

Stepping out of mayhem that is Time Square in to the lobby was like turning the volume off. We have rarely had such a good sleep in a hotel, although we were towards the back of the hotel. We went to four shows and were always five minutes walk away from the theatre. TKTS same day discount tickets is literally round the corner (https://www.tdf.org/nyc/7/TKTS-ticket-booths). We were queuing at 9.30am for the 11.00am opening and were at the front of the queue (you can take it in turns to queue and go back to the hotel in between) - got 50% discount on tickets for the Kinky Boots matinee on Sunday. Had we realised it was so easy we might have used it more. Also great location for shopping.

If leaving the hotel in rush hour, consider booking a private hire. Staff at the hotel are great at getting a yellow taxi, but took more than 10 minutes to flag down during rush hour.

Room Tip: We had a room towards the back of the hotel - couldn't believe it was so quiet so close to Time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The location of Casablanca Hotel was perfect. Close to Times Square - which was fun (for a few nights) but central and close to everywhere we wanted to go in New York. The hotel itself is very boutique, quite quirky but like staying in an old fashioned B & B. We hadn't realised that breakfast is free every morning, as are pre-dinner drinks and nibbles, but this made a big difference to value of the stay. On the downside, the room was quite small - but because the breakfast and drinks are served in 'the library' and there's so much else to do in NYC - we didn't spend much time there at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We loved the Casablanca and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one considering the proximity of Times Square. Casablanca staff do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel, bang in the middle of New York, is small yet in depth. The rooms are spacious and clean. Beautifully decorated and every necessity coveredStaff kindness ever and a 24/7 bar with a range of snacks. Free bottles of water everyday and a bottle of complimentary wine also! Just walk out the front door and you're in Times Square. A brilliantly popular restaurant is easily accessible from a door leading to it. The machines and air conditioning outside were a little noisy but it's simple enough to ignore. Excellent and greatly recommended!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from machines, A/C and cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I travel more than my fair share via business so on my own time I prefer to stay in boutigue properties for some separation. In a word, the Casablanca sets the 'gold' standard. Clean, quiet, attention to detail, and a professional staff, my wife and I would have hard time to find any detail to improve upon. Without any question, this will be our return hotel when we revisit NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We did not know the hotel was just a few doors from Times Square, another bonus. The staff at the Casablanca are so friendly and helpful it made our journey to skyscraper city much easier. Anything you need, they had it. The breakfast and appetizers were excellent, the decor beautiful and the rooms very cozy! This is a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Casablanca Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.