We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place To Stay In NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casablanca Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE!
Ranked #3 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best Place To Stay In NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is an awesome boutique hotel just 50m off Times Square, yet remaining an oasis of relaxation. This location is a great jump off point for all the Manhattan sites. The room we had was great & quiet. The "club room" for breakfast & evening drinks & canapes was fantastic. We will we gong back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,462
    539
    86
    33
    23
See reviews for
807
2,201
142
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We started our honeymoon in New york at the Casablanca hotel. Very Nice hotel. Especially the Staff is very friendly and helpfull. The location is right on times square, but we had no problems with noise, very quiet in our room.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014


Good:
Fantastic location just off Time Square.
Staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly.

So So:
Rooms/bathrooms are on the small side but this is NYC.
No desk if you need to work (not really a business hotel. I stood out like a sore thumb).

Poor:
Air conditioning sounded like being under a 747 on final approach. I had to switch it off to get any sleep. Fine when the weather is not baking, would have been intolerable in high summer.



Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnTaboadaNYC, Manager at Casablanca Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Hgrieves,

We are so glad you enjoyed our wonderful Times Square location and our kind staff, but we are saddened to hear your comment about the air conditioning noise. We actually just installed a new a/c unit in that room prior to your arrival. We did not have any note that you were having a problem with the A/C; had you mentioned it to anyone when you were here? We did go into the room as soon as we read the review and it seems to have corrected itself, as we did not hear any noise. We are watching it closely. I am so sorry if this disturbed you even for a short time. Just FYI to the other readers here, we do also have a ceiling fan in every room for your comfort in addition to our new air conditioning units.

It is true, we have mostly leisure guests, but our sister hotels have a mix of business and leisure travelers and you can enjoy the same free amenities such as continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary wine and cheese in the evenings, and of course the kind caring staff we are known for, plus, the other hotels do have desks in each room. At this hotel, only our suites have desks but we do have a breakfast table in every room, which can be used as a desk.

I hope you will be so kind to give us another try or allow us to welcome you at one of sister properties in New York. If I may be of service in any way, or if there is anything else you can share with me please feel free to contact me at John@CasablancaHotel.com or 212-201-1150.

Sincerely,

John Taboada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had selected the Casablanca based upon the many positive reviews, and can only confirm the other opinions.
The hotel is truly an oasis in the heart of New York having a character that makes it stand out from the crowd..
We cannot praise the staff highly enough for their kindness and devotion.
We stayed in one of the mini suites which exceeded our expectations.
The original decoration, the wine and cheese in the afternoon and the excellent WIFI connection deserves a special mention.
Thanks again to all who made our stay memorable and we'll be back!

Room Tip: Try the mini suite if your budget affords it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Totally agree with the other reviewers - great boutique hotel. Location couldn't be better - Times Square just a few steps away - yet once in the hotel you wouldn't know it. Rooms are very small and dark, but that is the norm on Manhattan. Staff are very friendly. Simple, but totally adequate, breakfast included as is free wine and cheese in the evening. I wouldn't even consider staying somewhere else now we've discovered this gem!

Room Tip: We chose the mid range room and it was quite small compared with hotels in other cities - i wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Best and most accommodating service I have every experienced. The staff was great, The breakfast and cheese and wine offerings were great. Beds were very comfortable.Only small complaint is window air conditioners--not so easy to control to desired temperature.


  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford,Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel really is an oasis in the midst of madness. Literally outside the front door is Times Square & once inside the hotel you would not know Times square is just outside. Our room was an inside facing (courtyard) room. It was perfectly fine in size,clean & absolutely lovely.No noise to be heard,faint distant noises, but thats to be expected,It is a hotel in the middle of a BIG city. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the lovely friendly staff. The breakfast was great. Just what was needed to set us up for a days walking & exploring the city. The coffee available at any time of the day was a god send too, very much appreciated. And the wine & cheese very acceptable! Tonys next door is an absolute MUST do. I really cant think of anymore to say about this place apart from if you are choosing a hotel for a New York break then choose THIS hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#4 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 2,999 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#8 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#31 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,963 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#1 of 468 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#4 Family Hotel in New York City
#10 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Casablanca Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.