We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casablanca Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE!
Ranked #2 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

my mother and I have just returned from our second visit and it was as wonderful as the first stay. All the hotel staff are friendly and welcoming and can't do enough. the breakfast and wine and cheese reception were perfect. rooms are homely and location couldn't be better. can't wait for next year to return!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,032
    486
    81
    32
    23
See reviews for
695
1,935
128
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby in the UK
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We spent two nights at the Casablanca, we chose it based on the customer reviews and boy we were not disappointed. The hotel is in a great location close to Times Square. The rooms are a nice size, spotlessly clean, nice comfortable bed and a huge bathroom.
Ricks café is the focal point as it is where breakfast is served a traditional continental type breakfast fare. Its is open 24 hours offering complimentary coffee, cookies and cakes through the day and evening, also what sold it for me was the complimentary wine and cheese evenings circa 5:00 and 8:00 in the evening which is a great plus to come back to or start the evening with.
The staff are some of the best I have been privileged to meet, so polite and professional, an example was Robert who worked at reception not only did he go and stop a cab for me he sat in the cab until I got in. As I say the staff are great from Victor on the door to the ladies in Ricks Café who work so hard.
Thank you for making my New York visit such an enjoyable stay and a great end to our vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This boutique hotel has great immenities and is unbelievably close to Times Square. (a quarter of a block maybe?) It reminded me of stays in Europe. Loved the experience!! Would do it again!! I would call it "quaint and homey".

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We have had 3 nights is the Casablanca. It's as close to Times Square as you could get. We paid a bomb for our room and at first was disappointed with the size and the lack of view. My disappointment lasted about 5 minutes when I gave myself a reality check. We have stayed in NYC a few times now and paid more for worse location. All hotel rooms in this city are hideously expensive and small. Its NYC after all. The highlights of this hotel? The staff who seem intent on making sure guests are content. the breakfast is really good and there is more than enough choice. 5pm to 8 pm wine and cheese Buffett is the biggest hit and very popular. I loved the seating arrangements with some dinning tables and some more casual options. The cafe is a nice place to chill out with a coffee (free) and snack (free) anytime of the day. I fell in love with this hotel and will definately choose to stay here again next time we stay in NYC.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, england
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

If you are looking for a centrally placed hotel in New York, with friendly, helpful staff, spotlessly clean, with thoughtful complimentary extra's then look no further - this is THE place to come! We've just returned from a 5 night break and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Casablanca! Upon arrival we were shown to our spotless room and there was a complimentary bottle of wine awaiting us! We really appreciated the complimentary cheese and wine served every evening, a nice touch - and a lovely way of meeting other guests. Breakfast was also lovely, fresh juices, coffee/tea with pastries, and tasty bread/jams. This hotel is just a few steps from Times Square, very centrally placed and a true peaceful oasis of calm and quiet in comparison to the hubbub outside! You can return all day long and find refreshments ready to be enjoyed! Come, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We really loved this hotel. The location is perfect. It is 20 meters from Time Square. Perfect for subway transportation across town. The staff is very very helpful. I visited a lot of hotels, but there service is one of the best I had. A lot is complementary! Only thing missing was a minibar, but you can order everything you want.
Definitely coming back to this hotel when I visit New York.

Voor alle Nederlanders die dit lezen. Dit hotel kan ik echt aanraden!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We weren't sure what to expect from the Casablanca. It was our first trip to NY and knew the Casablanca was pretty near Times Square so we weren't sure how noisy it would be. It's situated on a little side street and you find yourself stepping from the chaos outside into this calm, welcoming place. They greet you like old friends, are friendly without being over the top and are incredibly helpful. We booked a deluxe Queen room which was perfect for our needs. Good size, comfy and spotlessly clean. You would not believe you were just off Times Square, sometimes you might here sirens in the distance but it Breakfast every morning was delicious and perfect for setting you up for the day. The cheese, crackers and wine in the evening was a lovely time to relax before heading out again. Being able to help ourselves to tea, coffee and snacks all day was a massive bonus! We had a wonderful stay, we absolutely can't fault the Casablanca. We can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Casablanca Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.